We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Back Alley Bowl and Grill

The Back Alley Bowl and Grill
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pub, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb food in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I went to this locals' favorite last Saturday after having it recommended to us by a bartender at Rusty's. I agree with other reviewers that you can't go wrong if you get a recommendation from a local bartender who has lived in the area for 30 years. We are glad we took her advice. Indeed, I wouldn't have believed it possible that a bowling alley could have, what turned out to be, the best halibut i have ever eaten in my life. The manager, a wonderful and gracious young lady, told us the fish had been brought up from Long Beach that morning. I had it grilled. The portion was generous, and it flavor was out of this world. It came with rice pilaf, which was also excellent. If you are ever in Bishop, you have to visit this one of a kind fine dining bowling alley. The relaxed atmosphere, families bowling, locals enjoying an exceptionally tasty meal. It just doesn't get better than this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Surfcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    138
    40
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
208 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Steaks prepared by a real chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our motel receptionist recommended this place, that had already been on our list before we went out for dinner. A place where the locals celebrate their birthdays cannot be bad. We liked the relaxed American atmosphere and the creative decoration when we entered the family friendly restaurant. The service team was very friendly and quick and the food was excellent. Even the smallest steak was big enough for European adults, crispy wedges, really fresh salad and nice baked potatoes with tasty dressing at really reasonable prices. We found out later that the chef had worked in upmarket haute cuisine before he settled down in this easier going place to serve the common customer's needs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PankowBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarisbrick, Southport, England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Top notch food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stumbled upon this place whilst travelling through the USA. It doesn't look much from the outside, but don't let looks put you off, the food is really good. Hubby had captain's platter, I had chicken breast with a properly baked potato. We also had a game of bowls for $10 to complete our evening entertainment.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineSoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a great steak dinner at this bowling alley while staying at the Creekside Inn. It is was an experience which you would not expect: very good! The service was friendly and fast, atmosphere good. The bowling alley is in a separated space, so you do not get the feeling that you are sitting between the rolling pins.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marietgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
277 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“You would never believe such good food in a bowling alley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had been told that the food at the Bishop Bowling alley was great but did not believe it. On this trip I just took, my wife and I decided to give it a try. While driving up 395 she starting reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and that really sold us on giving it a go. We walked in the place on a Thursday evening at 6:30 pm and could hardly find a seat...it was that busy. We sat at the bar and had dinner there, which was fine with us. I had the Rib Eye steak and it was huge and outstanding. My wife had the Prime Rib and it was very good also, including all the other items that came with it. The bar knows how to mix a great drink with top shelf liquor. The other bonus is the price....very, very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back Alley Bowl and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Back Alley Bowl and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing