We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for overnight”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Bishop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Bishop
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ok for overnight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

It's ok for a motel… The service was good. We reserved a non smoking room but they gave us a cigarette smelly one!
We complained and they moved us to a better room, they have a mini fridge and a microwave in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevis V, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Motel 6. All feedback helps us to improve on our service, and the accommodations, that we provide. We hope to see you again during future visits to Bishop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    99
    44
    18
    15
See reviews for
59
93
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

It has been 20+ years since I stayed in a Motel 6 and my recent experience brought back memories as to why I quit staying there.

While the motel was recently renovated they forgot to put some installation into the paper thin walls. The flat screen television on the wall was surround by a picture frame type molding, which was probably placed there to prevent someone from stealing the thing; however, the speaker was behind the frame forcing you to turn it up to a high level just to hear the thing. This became evident with the people in the room next door, whose TV was mounted on the wall where our headboard was. Not only could you hear their TV but the wall vibrated from how loud it was. They finally turned their TV off around 1:30; however, the noise did not stop.

The room was the type that had a door for people who wanted to share multiple rooms. Unfortunately, I didn't know the people in the room next door but after listening to them argue and talk loud for the next 6 hours, I felt like I should be invited to the next family reunion! They were so loud which was intensified after they cranked the TV up. I'm sure they thought it would drowned out their discussion - it didn't work! At one point, which was around 2:30 AM, my son suggested we go sleep in the car!

While the staff was friendly, the $89 stay for the one night was no deal. As the saying goes, "You get what you pay for" and I will never stay in a Motel 6 again!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else - the cheap price is not worth not getting any sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevis V, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide excellent value and service to all of our guests, which is why your input is so important to us. Please be assured that we are taking your comments very seriously, as we strive to ensure that all future visits will meet higher standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our 1 night stay at the Motel 6 had it's ups and downs- the price was relatively inexpensive and the front desk staff was very friendly! We checked into our room and could tell that they had remodeled the rooms to be more chic, but our room had a few things wrong with it- the TV was very bad and it was constantly freezing and blacking out (which wouldn't normally be a problem, but we had been on a long camping trip and were excited for the little extras, like watching the Olympics) We called the front desk and the lady gave us suggestions on how to fix it, but it was hopeless and we eventually moved rooms. The second room we moved to was very similar to the first, but with a working TV, however the shower did not provide any hot water (another extra we were in search for.) Also from the second room, we could hear our neighbors every word...which lasted until 1am and started at 6am...so our sleep was not the greatest. We mentioned these minor things to the desk and they were very nice and gave us a slight discount.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevis V, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our motel, and we sincerely apologize for the problems that you encountered during your visit. We take your feedback very seriously, and will use it to work toward improving our guest's experience with us during future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The motel 6 in Bishop has been update to the new Motel 6 configuration. Laminate flooring, new bed coverings, quieter air conditioners, and modern sink/ counter top. The price went up a bit but this upgrade makes it worth it. If you want to save some money and stay in a nice room in Bishop this may be your place.

Room Tip: upstairs is always quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevis V, General Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Ray S., We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and the newly renovated rooms! The response to the new 'Euro' look of the rooms has been overwhelmingly positive. The new wood laminated flooring is attractive, and also more sanitary. Thank you again for the positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Bishop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Friendly, efficient. Biscuits for our dogs. Spacious room and fridge. Best motel 6 I've been too, and as a dog owner I've been to a lot. Bonus: Starbucks next door. Best to ask for room in the back, it was relatively quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevis V, General Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are pleased to have you and your pet as guests at our Motel 6! As a pet friendly motel, we feel it is important to be just as welcoming to our four legged guests and offer dog cookies as rewards to your travel weary partners. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The room looks pretty. Price is fine. It is better than any other motel 6 that I lived. It has a place to wash fish and freezer to store. It also has washer and dryer, which cost $2 and $1. It has a small swimming pool. It does not provide breakfast. At daytime, there are some coffee and hot chocolate in lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevis V, General Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are happy that you enjoyed the set-up we have for fishing enthusiasts. For your next visit, please know that we offer a 10% discount at the Denny’s across the street – they have great breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday and we had way too many visitors this year so we got rooms at Motel 6. I was shocked at how spacious and nice the rooms were for such a great rate in bishop. We were greeted warmly by the employees at the desk and treated kindly at every encounter. I highly recommend this hotel if you care about your family's comfort.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jassthebast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevis V, General Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Jassthebast,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Motel 6! We really appreciate that you thought of us first when booking rooms for your family. We work hard to make sure each guest feels comfortable and has an enjoyable stay. With our central location, you can keep your guests close to home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#11 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bishop

Property: Motel 6 Bishop
Address: 1005 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2407
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Bishop Hotel Bishop
Motel Six Bishop
Bishop Motel Six
Bishop Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing