We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pool but not enough beds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keough's Hot Springs
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Bishop
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing pool but not enough beds”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Keough's Hot Springs is a lovely resort in the middle of nowhere just outside Bishop. The surrounding landscape is stunning, and it really felt great to be out of town. We went for a swim in the wonderful hot springs pool, which was a highlight of our trip- the pool closed at 9pm, so it was great to see the stars come out, and the mountains whilst swimming in the water.

Our trailer was very basic, but this didn’t really matter, and we had a lovely night sitting on the porch watching the starts. The problem came when although we booked for four people there was only one double-bed and one single bed. There were two pull-out sofa beds in the front room, but the mattresses on both were way too thin, with the springs easily able to feel, and unfortunately I had an awful night’s sleep which badly affected my back the next day.

Breakfast wasn’t offered, so we drove to Lone Pine the next morning. It’s a real shame there weren’t enough beds, or better sofa beds in our trailer, as that is the only thing stopping me giving a higher score.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Susanville, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night, I now wish we had stayed an extra day. The hot spring/pool is wonderful, and there is a 100+ degree soaking pool which is great after a day of travel. The 2 pools are showing there age and the building surrounding them is old, but it is clean and safe and very well cared for. The surrounding grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Lot's of picnic tables throughout the property, pets are welcomed and this park is family/kid friendly. There is a small snack bar pool side, and a cute gift shop with swimming suit's and lotion available. Also in the gift shop are a ton of family games and kid games, gifts and books. The staff is very friendly and they can give you all kinds of information about the history of this wonderful hot spring. We wil stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gizmografx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

After hiking up Mt Whitney, I really didn't want to sleep on the ground again. Keogh's was a nice alternative. Cheaper than a hotel in Lone Pine or Bishop but with the added bonus of soaking in Hot Springs. While the tent cabins were very comfy with a nice porch to hang out on with a fire pit, the bathrooms and showers were a bit of a walk. Admission to the hot springs was included for the day we checked in as well as the day we checked out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doglb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Keough's is a little oasis in the middle of the desert. The hot spring pool is a vintage attraction that shows it's age but still feels great on those trail-weary muscles after a day exploring the Eastern Sierras. There was a diverse group of locals, tourisit, backpackers and cowboys/girls swapping stories of the day's adventures. The brand new tent cabins are immaculate and flawlessly decorated. The energetic staff greeted us by name when we arrived. After we signed in we were given two long bbq forks and an antique lunch pail stuffed with smor' fixin's (graham crackers, marshmallows and chocolate bars). WOW! Not a detail was missed during our stay - from vintage wilderness reading material and electric "oil" lamp, to down comforter and pillows, to manhole ring firepit and bulldozer bucket filled with firewood, to beach towels and shower tokens. In the evenings we'd sit on the front porch of our little room with a view, in the warming glow of our fire, smile on our sticky chocolate smeared faces and watch the jack rabbits and ground fowl scurry by. We loved it! The temperatures in the summer may be a bit hot during the day to survive without A/C but the evenings are cool and great for sleeping. The bathrooms are communal, shared with the entire campground and need some work - but the tent cabins are first class.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sv_makai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
880 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#11 of 20 in Bishop
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#15 of 20 in Bishop
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keough's Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keough's Hot Springs

Property: Keough's Hot Springs
Address: US 395; 7.4 miles south of Bishop, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Bishop
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Keough`s Hot Springs Hotel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing