We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a one night stopover”
Review of Elms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elms Motel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for a one night stopover”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for one night before travelling to Yosemite and booked last minute so was quite pricey. Room was good with cable tv. Bad point was the shower; the water dribbled onto me. Great car parking facilities which were directly outside the room. A freezer and ice are available.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
12
61
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I used to come to Bishop 40 years ago as a child and I've been visiting ever since. The Elms Motel is a delightful visit into a bygone traveling experience. The rooms are extremely quiet, clean, cozy, and delightful. The bed was very comfortable with good-quality linens. The setting is right next to a park and the motel has an actual lawn with lawn chairs and playground equipment. The managers are friendly and helpful, and you can't beat the price (literally) anywhere in town. Highly recommended if you appreciate a personalized lodging experience and enjoy helping local businesses instead of national chains.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and I assume similar in decor and facilities. Parking is at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed 3 days. Off the main street so it was pretty quiet. Continental breakfast. Parking right at your door made it convenient for off loading and loading. Very reasonably priced. Clean. Will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACK s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level 6 Contributor
733 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Since our cabin is snowed-in this time of the year, we stayed here for the weekend. The hotel was about the best price I could find and for two nights (Fri/Sat) it was only $123 total. We had room #8 which was right off the street, but was still quiet. The beds were comfortable and the continental breakfast must have improved as they had muffins, crumb cake, cereal, milk, coffee, orange juice and toast. For fishermen, they have a fish cleaning station as well as a large freezer that you can use to store your fish in. Motel has free-wifi as well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was finally something else than all the other motel style rooms we stayed in during our road trip. Rooms are in a block of 2 and the whole area looks nice. It's a little off the main street, so nice and quiet. At least we thought... The walls are very thin, so you hear everything that happens next door...

Room is 'a little' outdated, but pretty clean. There is a coffeemaker but no fridge. Bed is comfortable and shower worked well. Wifi worked in the room. Breakfast was pathetic. Better don't serve breakfast than this...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Convienient location for visiting Death Valley and Yosemite National Park.
Off the busy main road so quieter than some others in Bishop. Rooms are arranged in blocks of two with ample parking.
Standard motel room with free coffee and wi;fi, although toiletries were sparse.
Good selection of shops and restaurants nearby
Check in was fine although we did feel we were disturbing her (especially when I went back to get the Wi;fi code)
Breakfast was usual motel continental, a few pastries and coffee..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

To start off with the best part; the bed was comfortable. The price was also OK.
The negatives were that our room was next to some sort of boiler (which kept it going all trough the night and made sleeping very difficult). Our room was equipped with a large TV set, which was nice, if it only had been working. All we succeeded in getting was a message that the service was temporarily (?) out of order.
Our room came with a (allegedly) continental breakfast included. This was the sorriest excuse for a breakfast I have ever witnessed. A loaf of dry bread, 1 type of (something that proclaimed to be) jam, a pot of bad coffee and a few cereals leaves a bit to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audun643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#10 of 20 in Bishop
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#9 of 20 in Bishop
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 20 in Bishop
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elms Motel

Property: Elms Motel
Address: 233 E Elm St, Bishop, CA 93514-2415
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Bishop, California, the Elms Motel is 2.5 miles from Bishop Eastern Sierra Regional Airport. Featuring an American continental breakfast, this motel has rooms with private bathrooms and free Wi-Fi. Cable TV is included in each simply furnished room at Bishop Elms Motel. All of the rooms have tea and coffee-making facilities. A hairdryer is provided. Fresh coffee, orange juice, milk, pastries, toast with jam and cold cereals are the main continental breakfast items offered daily. A 24-hour front desk is available at Bishop Elms Motel California. Guests can enjoy the sunshine on the large private picnic area, which has a covered table and chairs. BBQ facilities are also available. Paiute Palace Casino is 2.5 miles from this motel. Featuring all-day dining, Whiskey Creek At Bishop serves American cuisine just a 5-minute walk away from the motel. Its menu includes steak, seafood and a variety of cocktails. Couples in particular like the location – they rated it 8 for a two-person trip. This property is also rated for the best value in Bishop! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language and welcome climbers, fisherman and families! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing