We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good for a one night stopover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elms Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elms Motel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for a one night stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for one night before travelling to Yosemite and booked last minute so was quite pricey. Room was good with cable tv. Bad point was the shower; the water dribbled onto me. Great car parking facilities which were directly outside the room. A freezer and ice are available.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
12
56
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I used to come to Bishop 40 years ago as a child and I've been visiting ever since. The Elms Motel is a delightful visit into a bygone traveling experience. The rooms are extremely quiet, clean, cozy, and delightful. The bed was very comfortable with good-quality linens. The setting is right next to a park and the motel has an actual lawn with lawn chairs and playground equipment. The managers are friendly and helpful, and you can't beat the price (literally) anywhere in town. Highly recommended if you appreciate a personalized lodging experience and enjoy helping local businesses instead of national chains.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and I assume similar in decor and facilities. Parking is at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed 3 days. Off the main street so it was pretty quiet. Continental breakfast. Parking right at your door made it convenient for off loading and loading. Very reasonably priced. Clean. Will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACK s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
695 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Since our cabin is snowed-in this time of the year, we stayed here for the weekend. The hotel was about the best price I could find and for two nights (Fri/Sat) it was only $123 total. We had room #8 which was right off the street, but was still quiet. The beds were comfortable and the continental breakfast must have improved as they had muffins, crumb cake, cereal, milk, coffee, orange juice and toast. For fishermen, they have a fish cleaning station as well as a large freezer that you can use to store your fish in. Motel has free-wifi as well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockNCreekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was finally something else than all the other motel style rooms we stayed in during our road trip. Rooms are in a block of 2 and the whole area looks nice. It's a little off the main street, so nice and quiet. At least we thought... The walls are very thin, so you hear everything that happens next door...

Room is 'a little' outdated, but pretty clean. There is a coffeemaker but no fridge. Bed is comfortable and shower worked well. Wifi worked in the room. Breakfast was pathetic. Better don't serve breakfast than this...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Convienient location for visiting Death Valley and Yosemite National Park.
Off the busy main road so quieter than some others in Bishop. Rooms are arranged in blocks of two with ample parking.
Standard motel room with free coffee and wi;fi, although toiletries were sparse.
Good selection of shops and restaurants nearby
Check in was fine although we did feel we were disturbing her (especially when I went back to get the Wi;fi code)
Breakfast was usual motel continental, a few pastries and coffee..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

To start off with the best part; the bed was comfortable. The price was also OK.
The negatives were that our room was next to some sort of boiler (which kept it going all trough the night and made sleeping very difficult). Our room was equipped with a large TV set, which was nice, if it only had been working. All we succeeded in getting was a message that the service was temporarily (?) out of order.
Our room came with a (allegedly) continental breakfast included. This was the sorriest excuse for a breakfast I have ever witnessed. A loaf of dry bread, 1 type of (something that proclaimed to be) jam, a pot of bad coffee and a few cereals leaves a bit to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audun643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Bishop
Econo Lodge Bishop
#10 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trees Motel
The Trees Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elms Motel

Property: Elms Motel
Address: 233 E Elm St, Bishop, CA 93514-2415
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Elms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing