We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Served its purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Served its purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had to find a hotel last minute due to inclement weather while traveling on the road. At the time, the prices were very good compared to the prices this hotel offers now. The bed was small (For 2 people), and the shower was probably one of the smallest showers that I've been in. However we couldn't complain it served its purpose of sleeping and showering and we were on the road again.

The front desk folks at night should be a little more friendly.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imaok4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    11
    10
    19
See reviews for
10
13
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lots of bed bugs, my buddy from work and myself got a room with two queen beds and both of us woke up with 30+ bites each, so both mattresses must have lots of them. Avoid this place - unless you work for pest control!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syntheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I wish I had 4 more hands so I could give this place 6 thumbs up. Big clean room, quiet, awesome water heat & pressure. They are very friendly too. Great location, easy stroll to breakfast at Jack's (awesome waffles), great coffee @ Looney's, all the gear u could need at Mac's sporting goods then head to Whiskey Creek for a great dinner & drinks. Always friendly in Bishop & that's why we keep coming back.

*If more that two people staying in the same room be sure to ask for extra towels, maybe just ask for extras anyway - they are kinda on the small side. Or maybe we're just big

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

You book a room for 50 USD + Tax and when you arrive they charge additional 8.5 USD as a reservation fee. The room is a equiped with very old appliances and very noisy A/C. The only positive thing I can say is it was fairly clean. Breakfast not worthwhile mentioning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDyChris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We chose this motel because it was one of the cheapest in Bishop, CA so we didn't expect much. But it was just fine overall, the rooms were clean and came with A/C, small bathroom, TV and even a small fridge. The breakfast was "continental", which means coffee, cornflakes and milk plus these sweet, colorful rings you can add to your flakes. That is actually more than you will get in a Motel 6 (there was no pool, though) so we were happy with the motel. The staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
227 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We weren't planning to spend the night in Bishop so it was a huge relief to find the motel. They didn't require a two or three night stay over the holiday weekend and the price was very reasonable. They provide very basic accommodations with parking right in front. The first room we tried had been a smoking room and the odor was still very strong. We were able to move to no smoking room luckily. The room came with a small refrigerator and a TV. We had a great shower although the room had only one bath towel. The toiletries were very basic -- a very small soap and shampoo in a foil packet. The woman at the front desk was very cordial and did her best to accommodate us. We didn't try the complimentary breakfast but it is a short walk to a coffee place on the corner, Jack's diner across the street and other Bishop restaurants and amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuntressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Passing through and was able to get a room at a good price. Good for a one night stay!
Staff was good, seem to be a quiet area. Laundry mat close by. Parking light can get tight for a small vehicle. Older hotel but just right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HtownSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#14 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Property: Thunderbird Motel
Address: 190 W Pine St, Bishop, CA 93514-2642
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Thunderbird Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing