We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Low Price, Quiet Off Highway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Low Price, Quiet Off Highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Low prices. Clean. Slightly off US 395 for a little more peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Info F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    12
    12
    19
See reviews for
10
16
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

After booking the motel, we found out from some of the reviews about bed bugs, which made us worry. However, our two queen beds room was clean, and we didn’t have problem with bed bugs. The room has microwave, coffee maker, fridge, and the beds were comfortable. The location is a block off the main street, which is quiet and convenient. It’s a basic motel with a good value.

Things we don’t like:

We were charged $8 booking fee since we booked through Expedia. So if you want to book this motel, better call them directly to avoid the fee.

About the complimentary breakfast: We were told the breakfast will be served at 7 am, however, at 7:15 still no breakfast served. We had to leave without having the breakfast. So don’t count on the complimentary breakfast if you want to leave early.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xl656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phelan, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The Thunderbird was EXACTLY what we were looking for: an inexpensive hotel room, used just for a place to sleep on our mini-vacation to Bishop. We weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the hotel -- we needed a clean, decent place to rest and shower in between our hiking and biking adventures. The Thunderbird was PERFECT. It was tidy and clean, the bathroom amenities were nice to see, and there were enough towels for both of us to shower, twice. The office staff was very friendly and helpful, and they even had a small fireworks show in the parking lot on the 4th of July. We felt like family -- people smiled and greeted us, noticed when we took our bikes out and remarked when we arrived back safely. Really, best of all it was a clean place with very firm beds... gave us two GOOD night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for non-snoking for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Motels in the area are over-pricey. It was late at night (10 pm is late to these motel keepers), most places were twice the money, if they were even open or answering inquiries. The lady at the desk was kind and helpful, didn't charge me for my dog, and gave us an unsolicited discount for taking two rooms.

It was a nice, clean, quiet motel- on this trip of 3000 miles, it was exactly what we needed and one of the best motels of the entire trip. Not a grand hotel or great motel, just a very clean basic motel.

I took advantage of the large bathtub, which was a huge plus. Plus there was a nice, basic complimentary continental breakfast- juices, danishes, fruit, you know.

Room Tip: Upstairs, eastern part of the motel. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c28timeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosamond, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Booked through Expedia for the cheaper rate...the motel charged me $10 more per night to book through Expedia, then charged another $22 in fees. I asked why and was told that they needed to make up the difference for the fees they paid through Expedia!! If I had known that they charged more through expedia, I would have simply called them directly! People were not friendly, and left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing. I'll stay elsewhere next year!

Room Tip: Call before going through a travel site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJQ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I will keep my review brief because I am too busy disinfecting my clothing and luggage after acquiring bed bug bites and realizing this place is infested with bed bugs of all stages. All I can say is NEVER, EVER, I MEAN....EVER...NEVER, NEVER, NEVER... WOULD I EVEN CONSIDER GOING NEAR THIS DUMP.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank DillyDallyAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Ok, so it's our own fault, we hadn't booked anywhere and there was a film festival in town! This was about the 10th hotel we tried and the only one with a room for sale, so we took it as we thought the alternative may well be sleeping in the car. The room was grossly overpriced - clearly they knew they were the only hotel with rooms available. Not clean, curtains didn't close properly, noisy. The chances are I will never pass through Bishop again - but if I do, I'll make sure I book a room well in advance to ensure I never have to stay at the Thunderbird again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parkerbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Bishop
Econo Lodge Bishop
#11 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Trees Motel
The Trees Motel
#7 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Property: Thunderbird Motel
Address: 190 W Pine St, Bishop, CA 93514-2642
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Thunderbird Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing