We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Losing Faith in Tripadvisor”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Townhouse Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Townhouse Motel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Losing Faith in Tripadvisor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a bare-bones, dilapidated budget motel, probably good value for the price. But the high Tripadvisor ranking is absurd, buoyed by several very suspicious reviews. You get what you pay for.

A standard American hotel chain in a populated area provides amenities like hair dryers, room temperature control, a telephone, furniture in good repair, adequate bedside reading lights, and 2 pillows per person. The Townhouse provided none of these. Our room was dismal. We booked this motel based on the glowing Tripadvisor reviews. Our next Bishop motel--we are frequent visitors and there are more than a dozen to choose from--will cost a lot more, and it will be worth every penny.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in proximity to the barbecue area, as noise will be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JC-OMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen S, Manager at Townhouse Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We just took over management and have started remodeling rooms. Because we have only been here for 5 months having got 3 rooms remodeled and those rooms come with shaving mirror's, two pillows per person, hair dryers, new heating and cooling. We are working our hardest to make this place better and with money and a years time it will be the luxurious motel that you are seeking. Please make sure to check back as it only gets better one room at a time. and ask for a remodeled room and if available you will see why the great reviews.

Thanks
Tom and Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    15
    4
    14
See reviews for
14
19
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have been A patron at the Townhouse Motel for the past 6 months off and on. The motel is comfy clean with a classic hometown feeling Every employee is courteous and caring They go out of their way to meet all of my familys needs. I will continue to visit again and again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank masonjennifer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I have been coming up to bishop for 30 years and have stayed in almost every hotel/motel here. Usually staying wherever is cheapest , as to I'm a poor fisherman , ok just cheap. Anyway this year again we stayed at the townhouse and cheap it was but not your average cheap motel anymore . The new managers are cleaning up this little jewel smack dab in the center of town . Great new things are happening and we stayed in the newest remodeled room and once I closed the door the wife and I felt like we were in a 5 star resort! They have done an amazing job on this place . A definite stay if your in the Bishop area!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomaine2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

VERY friendly people, we were passing through not sure of staying but this was worth it! They even helped drive our car after a good game of pool at McMurry's Sports Bar! We ate next door at Yamatani's Japanese .. wonderful! Highly recommend this adventure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicegrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen S, Manager at Townhouse Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at The Townhouse Motel. Your review was greatly appreciated and we hope that you stay with us again in the future.

Tom and Jen Smith
Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The new manager's at The Town House have been making some great changes there. Just last year the place was looking not so hot but now with newly remodeled rooms and a the new managers this place is home away from home! The whole staff is so friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay the best! Highly recommend The Townhouse Motel. Thanks Jen, Tom and staff for making my stay the best!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Wow clean cool people love the new mural going up good job to Jen and Tom for making this a great place to stay with your family. I will be recommending this place and stay no where else when I come to bishop it tools good inside and out keep it up and turn it around

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harguth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

There are great changes going on and every one is busy things are looking great outside and the newly remodeled rooms amazing very clean and great management. Keep up the great work guys. I recommend this motel greatly

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#11 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Motel

Property: Townhouse Motel
Address: 625 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2425
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Townhouse Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are $60 King $70 2 Queen A chalet style motel. Under new ownership. Currently being renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Townhouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing