We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not worth the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain View Motel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Upon arrival we were told that there may or may not be hot water and that if we wanted to cancel our reservation it was up to us to contact booking.com to work it out. They also said they couldn't help us to get a reservation at another hotel in Bishop. There was mold in the shower and hundreds of dead insects stuck to the ceiling of the bathroom. There were holes in the curtains and the curtains were too small to block out the early morning sun. There were holes in the blanket as well. The breakfast items offered were quite meager - only corn flakes, white bread, and mini muffins. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    35
    23
    27
See reviews for
19
52
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I spent the night of June 12th 2014 at this motel due to the reasonable room rate since I was just looking for a place to sleep for the night. What an expensive stay it was ! When I checked out the following morning I inadvertently left something of value ( about $500.00) on the dresser when I packed. I discovered it missing when I unpacked my suitcase when I arrived home and immediately called the motel Manager to inform him that I left this piece on the dresser when I left, he checked the room and of course said he found nothing but would check with the housekeeper to see if she found the item, and of course her story was the same of the Managers. I made a crime report to the Bishop Police Department and they sent an officer to investigate and when he questioned the staff of course he received the same answer that was given to me. My advice is DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL, if you value your belongings.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What you pay is what you get. The room was huge and with a very big bed. Everything was clean, so a perfect spot for one night. I would recommend it for sure. Staff was nice and there is a continental breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fr34k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The place offered everything we were looking for: good rate, quiet, clean, courteous. We have stayed here several times because of these reasons. The pool and morning breakfast with juice and coffee are a bonus. No, it's not a 5-star location, but neither is the rate. The furnishing may be a bit outdated but everything works. The room and linens were clean and that's what matters to me.

Room Tip: We like the downstairs rooms so we can park right outside our door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Correct motel to stay for one night. Room was outdated but clean and beds should be replaced. During summer, you can see a beautiful sunrise from the balcony. Free breakfast was appreciated. I would not spend an entire trip there but that's okay for a late stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The motel needs a proper renovation! The romm had a distinct smell to it. Adding to a bad room-experience was the dark green/brown furnishing. The motel offers a breakfast, but this is very limited. Also the outside of the motel looks very worn-out. However, the service was excellent, with very friendly staff. Unfortunately, this is not sufficient to compensate an overall bad impression

Room Tip: Do not select a room... It smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.6 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Bishop
Econo Lodge Bishop
#11 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trees Motel
The Trees Motel
#6 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Property: Mountain View Motel
Address: 730 W Line St, Bishop, CA 93514-3393
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are spacious and comfortable with all modern conveniences, including individually controlled air conditioning and heat, a small refrigerator and Cable TV with remote control. You enjoy fresh-brewed morning coffee with free continental breakfast in our breakfast room where you will also find a microwave for your convenience.For the fishermen we provide a fish-cleaning/freezing facility. Ample boat and trailer parking is available for your use. We also offer kitchen units and kitchen suites. These units are fully equipped with microwave, coffee maker, stove/oven, refrigerator, sink, pots and pans and utensils - as well as dining table and chairs. In addition, our kitchen suites offer a separate bedroom with a King or Queen bed and living room with 2 comfortable full-sized futons.We have a sparkling swimming pool for your enjoyment, a picnic area with gas BBQ and lawn seating areas. You can relax in a garden setting with beautiful roses blooming and enjoy the view and our Western antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing