We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, good value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain View Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place, good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We called 8 other hotels before finding this hotel that had enough parking for our trailer. Danny at the front desk was just the nicest guy. We needed a king and because it was late in the evening he instead gave us the suite! It was a huge apartment with a kitchen, living room and fire place. The decor and furniture is quite dated but we appreciated the upgrade. The bed was comfy and the bathroom very clean. We recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RainBuckets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    36
    25
    31
See reviews for
21
55
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed two nights; February 28 & 29, 2012. Since 2011-2012, new hands-on ownership has completely turned around, what had been a less than desirable property in the recent past, by redecorating, upgrading bathrooms and beds and having "people person" husband/wife now being the on-site manager. I'm a real estate appraiser, who has valued a similar type motel property, so I can recognize a well run motel. My room had all basic traveler amenities including a very comfortable bed, instant hot water and a work table. For fisherman there is a very nice fish cleaning station. Continental breakfast was standard & acceptable. I would stay here again, whether for business or a quick Bishop area fishing trip.
Don Hoelzel
May 15, 2012

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Nice, basic, no-frills motel. Reasonably priced, reasonably clean, and quite spacious.
Has a fridge and microwave. The lavatory area was separated from the room which is nice.
Bathroom was clean, the shower is not very spacious - OK for me, but would be hard to fit for a larger person. Lamp shades were old and had holes in them. But overall, it's a good value for the money.
Regarding location - it was quiet, plenty of parking. There are pharmacy and gas station next door and some nice shops and galleries down the street. Staff is friendly and helpful.

The guy at the front desk recommended us to visit Erick Schat's Bakkerÿ, and Holy Smoke BBQ which we liked very much. There is "Mountain Light" Photo gallery on Rt 395 which definitely deserves a visit. There is Kmart and Vong's supermarket not very far away.

Room Tip: There are two floors, we stayed on the first, it was nice and quiet. Plenty of parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photo_traveller_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Excellent location, roomy room, friendly manager. A good value for this area.
Easy walk to town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is your basic budget motel, seems to be recently updated. My room #121 was away from the street, large, quiet and clean, with a mini-fridge and a pumping heater. Shower was hot. The bathroom was bright and clean, and I am picky about bathrooms!

I've stayed in the El Rancho and the Trees Motel, which are very old, musty-smelling and not the kind of place you want to lay anything on the floor, the bathrooms there give me the willies... but they do have kitchenettes. The Mountain View was much more welcoming (albeit without kitchenettes) and cheaper!

Staff was very friendly, the breakfast was very basic. drip coffee, toast, cereal. Wifi worked, TV channels all came in.

To sum up, not a honeymoon retreat, but great quality for the money if you want a cheap, clean room to relax instead of camping in the cold. I was in town to climb in the middle of winter, and this fit the bill perfectly.

Room Tip: Room 121 was clean and large. It is ground level, but back from the street. I had no issues with noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

I've stayed at a couple of different places in Bishop as launching points for our Eastern Sierra hiking vacations, and this one is a little better than most. The best part about this place is the location. It's on Hwy 168, the road that leads up to Aspendell and backcountry trailheads. You may not think being on this road would be good, but it's a heckuva lot better than staying in one of the many motels on 395. The traffic is incessant through town, all hours of the day and night. It's terrible, and I'd rather sleep on the ground than stay right along the main highway. At night, traffic dies down considerably on 168, and with the windows shut and the AC on (always hot in Bishop during summer), we couldn't hear anything outside.

The room itself is very basic, and looks like it could use some TLC. As other reviewers have pointed out, there are some flaws with the room which come from age. The worst thing was the dirty, stained chairs. We just sat on the bed which (hopefully) had clean linens. The TV was old, and the bathroom was old, but not dirty. The room just looked like it could use a fresh update, but hardly anything to be creeped out by. (Then again, we are outdoors people, so it's hard for us to be grossed out by a motel room.) There was a small fridge in our room, but not much else. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it's free food, so we were fine with it. There is a pool right in the middle of the parking lot, but no one was using it during our stay. Check in was easy, and the staff was friendly and accomodating. I'd recommend this place as a cheap motel in Bishop off the busy main road.

Room Tip: We always prefer upstairs rooms, to avoid the stomping from above. We heard nobody beside us or bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cthenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.6 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#10 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#15 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Property: Mountain View Motel
Address: 730 W Line St., Bishop, CA
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are spacious and comfortable with all modern conveniences, including individually controlled air conditioning and heat, a small refrigerator and Cable TV with remote control. You enjoy fresh-brewed morning coffee with free continental breakfast in our breakfast room where you will also find a microwave for your convenience.For the fishermen we provide a fish-cleaning/freezing facility. Ample boat and trailer parking is available for your use. We also offer kitchen units and kitchen suites. These units are fully equipped with microwave, coffee maker, stove/oven, refrigerator, sink, pots and pans and utensils - as well as dining table and chairs. In addition, our kitchen suites offer a separate bedroom with a King or Queen bed and living room with 2 comfortable full-sized futons.We have a sparkling swimming pool for your enjoyment, a picnic area with gas BBQ and lawn seating areas. You can relax in a garden setting with beautiful roses blooming and enjoy the view and our Western antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing