We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous typical hotel in a great setting !”
Review of Joglo Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Joglo Villa
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there just one night.
Really uphill from Semarang, so pure air and not so hot.
The property comprises genuine joglos spread in a large garden and rice paddies wonderful !!
Nice and relativemy large swimming pool.
Good restaurant around a nice pond with water lilies.
Interesting museum !
Our joglo comprised 2 not so big bedrooms and a large living area under the joglo : 2 large sofas, a dining table. And decoration with old tools. All in local and antique nice style.
On he down side, there was no hot water, and the toilet is inside the room.
However we loved the place. It feels very genuine and the overàl place is really beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Positive aspects: beautiful nature and old village houses - Joglos (ours was built in 1864). On the negative side: place used mostly for weddings and other social gatherings. When we arrived, the grass around the pool area was littered with garbage from last social event (garbage bins unknown?), our joglo in urgent need of renovation and seriously unclean, the restaurant deserted and the food eventually prepared of an extremely poor quality. Avoid it if you can. We left after one night (two planned). It's a pity: the place could blossom (again?) in better, more professional hands.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SimoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Weekend break from Semarang - 30 mins taxi ride. Had previously visited in May 2013, when the little rice fields between the joglos had just been planted. The plants were now knee-high and the rice starting to form. The setting of the old joglos in the padi fields and gardens is highly atmospheric.

Stayed in joglo 6 - advertised as being for three but two persons felt about right. It had a slightly odd layout with the bathroom basically being part of one of the bedrooms - would have been good to have had another door.

Great service. Was delighted to receive complimentary glasses of cendol and kue bugis (made from pandan leaves growing in the gardens) while we were by the pool watching the kingfishers and tree frogs.

The kitchen does a great job, good food delivered quickly. Recommendations include the lime juice, fried tofu and the kawista soda. However, there could be more variety of vegetable dishes on the menu. We ate a lot of kangkung when we were there - surprised to see that gado-gado or pecel are not offered.

Overall, despite the few minor niggles, a great place for a weekend break (or longer). Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tawonmadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Living in a neighbouring town, we sometimes direct guests here; those who appreciate an authentic Javanese ambience. All nine guest units are wooden Javanese houses (joglo's), moved from their original sites and restored. These houses date back from 100 to 300 years. They have been adapted to modern living standards without structurally altering them. Bedrooms and bathrooms have been designed to fit in with the original layout.

The resort is owned and run by a Javanese-Australian couple, with great care for the environment. They are also collectors of antiques and paintings, which one can admire (and buy) in the gallery next to the restaurant

Room Tip: As no two units are the same, some being more spacious than others, you may want to check them all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theo1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maitimoe_jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungaran
0.0 mi away
The Wujil Resort & Conventions
0.0 mi away
Oak Tree Emerald Semarang Hotel
0.0 mi away
Balemong Resort
Balemong Resort
#2 of 4 in Ungaran
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
C3 Hotel
C3 Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ungaran
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Joglo Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joglo Villa

Address: Desa Keji RT.6 / RW. 1, Ungaran 50511, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Ungaran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ungaran
Price Range: $41 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Joglo Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Joglo Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing