We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - poor condition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Sure there are 'few' motels in this area, but the motel is a hodge-podge of materials. The showers were all connected, so it was a fight of scalding and freezing water with the other tenants. Circuit breakers were literally hanging on the walls. Was told there was a pool. There was. A few years back that is. Owners freindly, but not always in the office. If it were $45, I'd not have written this review. Oh yeah, the ice machine is in the little grocery store where you fill your sodas next to the potato chips.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Like2Share
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Bristlecone Manor Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2009

I tagged along on a fishing trip with my father and son. My father booked the room at Bristlecone Inn. He and his fishing/hunting buddies stay here a lot.

We had a large room (#23) with three beds and a kitchenette. The kitchen had a fridge and coffeemaker. Also some plates and silverware.

The room had a rather primative/cabin feel to it..

The bathroom felt a bit like an outhouse. The shower was small and the water pressure was not so great. The inn provided a small bar of soap but no shampoo. The towels left a lot to be desired. They were child sized, thin, and a bit rough.

The bathroom would not have past a white glove test but it was clean enough.

There were no bugs or critters in the room.

This is a decent roadside inn. Obviously not the Ritz but it serves it's purpose well. This is a fine place for a guys weekend out hunting or fishing. Ladies might find less appealing but it sure beats sleeping in a tent!

The beds were fine. Comfortable enough. I didn't wake up all stiff and sore like I have at other motels.

The inn provides free WiFi but the service was slow and spotty. A few times the internet service dropped.

The inn provides free parking but it fills up quickly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PONYRCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Great value and a great central location near the Bristlecone forest, the lakes above Bishop, Glacier Lodge and right across US 395 from Rossi's Steak & Spaghetti house -home of fabulous lamb chops, great service, and a real slice of Owens Valley life. Highly recommended, nothing stodgy!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SequoiaInstigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We also stayed here for one night after exploring the far north end of Death Valley before grabbing the 168 down into Big Pine. The motel is easy to find just off the 395. Check in was easy (they had our reservation), room - tax inclusive - was $55 dollars AAA rate no-smoking room. No pet fee, deposit, policy or pet restriction so very dog friendly. Easy parking. Room had 1 queen bed, a desk and chairs, TV, a good heater and a large bathroom with shower. Also included were a mini-fridge and microwave. Noise was minimal. Despite being basically a trucker like motel, we felt perfectly safe. I walked my dog in a beautiful neighbourhood just behind the Bristlecone - well maintained houses with a panoramic view of the snow-covered Sierra Nevada Mountains behind. We could have payed double in Bishop or triple in Mammoth, but Big Pine was perfect for a night's rest before our next day of exploration. We asked the desk clerk about take out Mexican and he recommend a place in the gas station a few blocks north (a Chevron maybe). We were apprehensive, but it was pretty good. Rooms were clean but worn. Bring a grounded adaptor if you need to use a grounded plug (all outlets were 2 flat prong only). Wireless internet. Heat was thermostat controlled to keep it from getting too hot, nice! Overall, we'd certainly come back on trips to the area - beautiful country up there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adamgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We've stayed here a couple times on trips to Death Valley from Reno, NV. The motel is nothing fancy, but it is cheap and clean and the staff was very nice. The room was small, but it had a fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RnoMtGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Small but clean rooms. Microwave and refrig. Quiet but in center of town. $57 for two. A good value

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deserttraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

I stayed for two nights at the Bristlecone Manor Motel in Big Pine in Sept. 2007 and found the property simple and functional. I was given a smoking room because all of the other rooms were occupied. The staff attempted to air-out the room and freshen things up knowing that I am a non-smoker. It worked. The room had very little odor and was clean. Provided in-room are a TV w/remote, AC/ heater, alarm clock, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker w/instant coffee and cups, dressers, and bedside lamps to name a few. Wi-fi also available for your laptop. Next door is a gas station w/mini mart - take your ice bucket there and get free ice from the soda machine. Room discount with a AAA membership or Senior Citizen. I recommend this property if you are needing a place to rest your head for a night or two.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank monocrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
15.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,911 reviews
14.9 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
893 reviews
14.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#11 of 20 in Bishop
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
482 reviews
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starlight Motel
Starlight Motel
#1 of 3 in Big Pine
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristlecone Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Manor Motel

Address: 101 North Main, Hwy 395, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Price Range: $87 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bristlecone Manor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bristlecone Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Manor Hotel Big Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing