We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place for a quick stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristlecone Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

As a quick and inexpensive overnight on US 395, the Bristlecone was a delight. The staff was extremely personable and helpful. The room was simple, clean, well appointed, and large enough to not feel cramped; I saw no deferred maintenance items anywhere in the room. The bathroom was actually quite spacious with plenty of room for the small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker on the counter while still leaving plenty of counter space. I was initially a little bit put-off by the motel office being co-located with adjacent the gas station checkout counter, but it actually worked quite well, and obviously serves to keep down costs. The only down-side was that the air conditioner was quite noisy even on the lowest setting -- I ended up turning it off when I went to bed since the overnight low was forecast to be 60F. Otherwise the room was very quiet with no traffic noise.There looked to be a relatively new wall heater that had a vent into the bathroom, too, but it wasn't necessary in August. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwendellp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
38
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

For a trip from Southern California to Carson City, we decided to plan a stopover about half way through. This motel had decent ratings and the price was good. Fortunately for me, even though I planned this only a week in advance, I was able to book the last room. Unfortunately it was the family room that slept 5. I was just traveling with my wife so we did not need all of that space. However, the rating was fairly good and the price wasn't bad. When we arrived we saw a sign at the office that said we needed to go to the Mobil station next door. The woman at the station who checked us in was very fast and friendly. When we got to the room, it had two full beds and a single bed and a table and chairs. It was very clean and very good size. It was dated but it appeared to be well taken care of. The bed was soft and comfortable. There was a shower only (no tub) but that probably makes the most sense for it being a family room. It was very quiet and we had a very pleasant stay. The woman at the Mobil station that checked us out was very friendly as well, I'd definitely stay here again. Don't miss the Ancient Bristlecone Forest that is about 25 miles from the motel. The vistas are amazing and the trees are beautiful.

Room Tip: Don't choose the family room if you want a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManOfNoConsequence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotati
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The staff was quite friendly, the room was comfortable, and the price was reasonable. We enjoyed the 'rustic lodge' type room interior. Ample hot water, fridge, and microwave included. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in July during a Sierras hiking trip. Room was clean, bathroom clean and spacious. The only issues were a nest of baby birds directly across from our door that left droppings all over the mat and doorstep into the room (which were difficult not to track in) and the bright lights from the electric store sign that the curtains did not block.

Staff was helpful and personable, but there was never anyone in the motel office; only in the attached store.

In short, we would definitely stay here again, but request a room further into the complex, away from the lights! And we would definitely go back to Copper Top Barbecue for dinner!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheProseccoLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was actually afraid the price was too low. But it really is just a good price for basic needs. It is not fancy but like so many reviews say it is clean and the people are friendly. They do tend to sell out for the night so book ahead if you can. The store in front made it easy to pick up snacks and drinks. We didn't have much need for hardware but the crickets were cool to check out. The bar across the street was great for an evening beer and the restaurant down the street was perfect for breakfast.

The 4th star was for a problem that was corrected so well.

Room Tip: Do double check your reservation, We may have been the only one that has gone sideways in forever b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGD828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A beautiful ride south from Winnemucca and nowhere is there lodging to be found in Bishop CA or even a Jacob's pillow for the Weary traveler. Twenty miles south of Bishop is a little town (spot in the road) called Big Pine. A lovely motel can be found called the Bristlecone motel. Dead tired I was afraid of something from the 50s and feared it hadn't been cleaned since then. I checked in at the gas station and was informed they had just one room left. I reserved the room sight unseen and very apprehensive. What a pleasant surprise! The staff is pleasant, friendly and helpful. The room has a fairly large bed room with a table to set up the electronics including wifi. Their wifi was better than my 4G hotspot thank goodness. The bathroom is large and holds the refrigerator and microwave which worked great. My wife turned the A/C on high and we forgot about it after turning in for a desperately needed sleep. About 4AM the poor over worked AC froze up waking us up to a very warm room. Fortunately turning off the AC helped it to defrost quickly it worked fine thereafter. The room is very clean, the bed is also very comfortable and a good night sleep was had enjoyed. No free breakfast for us city slickers but the restaurant recommended just down the road was fabulous. This motel must be great for the young both in spirit and in shape. All our neighbors had backpacks and could hardly wait to hit the trails up the Eastern Sierra Madras. Ah to be young. For those passing through and needing rest this is right spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Second trip here. A little long in the tooth, but in a perfect location. We allways travel up for camping. We found the store and out of curiousity looked at some of the rooms. My wife thought the place was cute. So the next year we made a reservation and stayed. Not to bad for the price. We made a reservation this year and the room we got was better. So, hey, I like the place. Not 5 Star, but perfect for why we come. THUMBS UP! Oh yeah, they have free internet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
15.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,264 reviews
14.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
14.9 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starlight Motel
Starlight Motel
#1 of 3 in Big Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristlecone Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Manor Motel

Property: Bristlecone Manor Motel
Address: 101 North Main, Hwy 395, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Bristlecone Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Manor Hotel Big Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing