We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal for the basics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristlecone Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Deal for the basics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was actually afraid the price was too low. But it really is just a good price for basic needs. It is not fancy but like so many reviews say it is clean and the people are friendly. They do tend to sell out for the night so book ahead if you can. The store in front made it easy to pick up snacks and drinks. We didn't have much need for hardware but the crickets were cool to check out. The bar across the street was great for an evening beer and the restaurant down the street was perfect for breakfast.

The 4th star was for a problem that was corrected so well.

Room Tip: Do double check your reservation, We may have been the only one that has gone sideways in forever b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGD828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
37
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A beautiful ride south from Winnemucca and nowhere is there lodging to be found in Bishop CA or even a Jacob's pillow for the Weary traveler. Twenty miles south of Bishop is a little town (spot in the road) called Big Pine. A lovely motel can be found called the Bristlecone motel. Dead tired I was afraid of something from the 50s and feared it hadn't been cleaned since then. I checked in at the gas station and was informed they had just one room left. I reserved the room sight unseen and very apprehensive. What a pleasant surprise! The staff is pleasant, friendly and helpful. The room has a fairly large bed room with a table to set up the electronics including wifi. Their wifi was better than my 4G hotspot thank goodness. The bathroom is large and holds the refrigerator and microwave which worked great. My wife turned the A/C on high and we forgot about it after turning in for a desperately needed sleep. About 4AM the poor over worked AC froze up waking us up to a very warm room. Fortunately turning off the AC helped it to defrost quickly it worked fine thereafter. The room is very clean, the bed is also very comfortable and a good night sleep was had enjoyed. No free breakfast for us city slickers but the restaurant recommended just down the road was fabulous. This motel must be great for the young both in spirit and in shape. All our neighbors had backpacks and could hardly wait to hit the trails up the Eastern Sierra Madras. Ah to be young. For those passing through and needing rest this is right spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Second trip here. A little long in the tooth, but in a perfect location. We allways travel up for camping. We found the store and out of curiousity looked at some of the rooms. My wife thought the place was cute. So the next year we made a reservation and stayed. Not to bad for the price. We made a reservation this year and the room we got was better. So, hey, I like the place. Not 5 Star, but perfect for why we come. THUMBS UP! Oh yeah, they have free internet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Its not fancy, but it's clean, close to all the local sights, and very friendly. The bathrooms are nice and large too. I booked at the last minute (got the last available room) and we just stayed one night, but were very happy with the price, the service and the proximity to the Sierras as well as the White Mountains with the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest. Quieter and better priced than the motels in Bishop. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was really impressed with our little room at this little motel. It had two full-sized beds and a twin bed, a full kitchen, cool bathroom with large shower, and a flat screen television. The internet was really spotty and the room smelled a little smoky when we entered. We really enjoyed are time there. The bed was one of the more comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in.

Room Tip: I think it was worth paying extra for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vecchio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Simple, quiet and laid back. I've stayed at fancy hotels but this was great. Better price than hotels in Bishop. Looks pretty normal outside but very nice rooms, extra large with full kitchen and a table four can easily sit at. There are two beds and a single bed in the corner which my granddaughter claimed as hers. Recently remodeled and has vaulted ceiling and lots of wood, Reminds one of a mountain cabin. Owner said originally there were cabins and someone built in between and made more rooms. AC was near kitchen and did not blow on beds as most do nowadays. For some reason all the people in other rooms were friendly and all said hello and wanted to talk; at most hotels others won't even look you in the eye let alone say hello. Gas pumps and grocery and hardware store attached. Nice home style eatery right next door. Pet friendly and great neighborhood to walk dog in. Staff friendly and helpful. Will stay again when traveling in area.

Room Tip: Was told rooms are different sizes and not all have full kitchen, so ask questions when booking to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank specialgeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very clean and comfortable motel. We come up for fishing every year, and enjoy the ability to rent Room #20 with its kitchen. Can tell they have changed out the beds and updated the bathroom. Do bring your own toiletries though -- there are bars of soap and that's about it. Also, if you plan to use the kitchen, bring some dish soap and paper towels. And a pot or two, if that's your thing. They've got enough skillets for most cooking. Would like to see the BBQ cleaned out LOL.

Don't expect the Ritz -- it's not that kind of place. Quiet and comfy describes it for me. Friendly people are a plus. The gas station has everything you'll need and then some. For the price, it's hard to beat.

Room Tip: Room 20 for sure if you want a kitchenette, believe 23 also has a kitchen. Stay away from the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inyogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
15.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
14.9 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
14.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
14.8 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristlecone Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Manor Motel

Property: Bristlecone Manor Motel
Address: 101 North Main, Hwy 395, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Bristlecone Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Manor Hotel Big Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing