We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Way Better Than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristlecone Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Way Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was really impressed with our little room at this little motel. It had two full-sized beds and a twin bed, a full kitchen, cool bathroom with large shower, and a flat screen television. The internet was really spotty and the room smelled a little smoky when we entered. We really enjoyed are time there. The bed was one of the more comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in.

Room Tip: I think it was worth paying extra for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vecchio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
38
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Simple, quiet and laid back. I've stayed at fancy hotels but this was great. Better price than hotels in Bishop. Looks pretty normal outside but very nice rooms, extra large with full kitchen and a table four can easily sit at. There are two beds and a single bed in the corner which my granddaughter claimed as hers. Recently remodeled and has vaulted ceiling and lots of wood, Reminds one of a mountain cabin. Owner said originally there were cabins and someone built in between and made more rooms. AC was near kitchen and did not blow on beds as most do nowadays. For some reason all the people in other rooms were friendly and all said hello and wanted to talk; at most hotels others won't even look you in the eye let alone say hello. Gas pumps and grocery and hardware store attached. Nice home style eatery right next door. Pet friendly and great neighborhood to walk dog in. Staff friendly and helpful. Will stay again when traveling in area.

Room Tip: Was told rooms are different sizes and not all have full kitchen, so ask questions when booking to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank specialgeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very clean and comfortable motel. We come up for fishing every year, and enjoy the ability to rent Room #20 with its kitchen. Can tell they have changed out the beds and updated the bathroom. Do bring your own toiletries though -- there are bars of soap and that's about it. Also, if you plan to use the kitchen, bring some dish soap and paper towels. And a pot or two, if that's your thing. They've got enough skillets for most cooking. Would like to see the BBQ cleaned out LOL.

Don't expect the Ritz -- it's not that kind of place. Quiet and comfy describes it for me. Friendly people are a plus. The gas station has everything you'll need and then some. For the price, it's hard to beat.

Room Tip: Room 20 for sure if you want a kitchenette, believe 23 also has a kitchen. Stay away from the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inyogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We are travelling on a very tight budget and Bristlecone is exceptional value for money. Staff were friendly and service was great. The room offered more space for our family (2 adults, 2 teenagers) than other places had, and everything we needed was supplied. It is not fancy, or gilt edged, but plain comfortable and homely. It was exactly what we needed for a great price. We would recommend it for any family, especially travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I love staying at the Bristlecone Manor Motel when traveling 395. My most recent stay was especially nice as I got to be the first to sample the new decor! New beds, new linens, new carpet! The bed was super comfortable and had a more modern bedding motif.

The gas station convenience store is absolutely jam packed with just about anything you need. Matt was very helpful during my stay in getting the internet sailing smoothly, a new router was also being installed.

The pretty street adjacent is great for dog walking. Please bring bags to clean up their waste...the neighbors were surprised to see me doing so and said it was rare.

I had a bit of trouble sleeping through no fault of the motel... The fan unit in the room connects through the front wall of each unit. It is a no smoking building, but I had people smoking out in front of their units. When I ran my fan, it sucked the smoke into my room. Smokers, please think about your impact, it would be most appreciated!

The value for the price is remarkable, especially when you compare room costs in Bishop.

Love this place.


Tips for management- Wash the linens with a little fabric softener to lessen the static electricity in the bedding.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

always a pleasure to stay here We stayed here for two nights to spend some time with friends and we wish we had more time to enjoy this motel also. The staff (and locals!) are all very friendly, the room was a good size and decent bathroom. There is a store and gas station on site and a laundry next door. We would definitely come back here again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMG36579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Point, NV
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I love this place! Its not fancy but very nice. New bathroom tile, clean inside and out, friendly, DOG friendly<-- very important, has a store, gas station and laundromat. For being fishing season, the price was low!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
15.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
14.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
15.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starlight Motel
Starlight Motel
#1 of 3 in Big Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristlecone Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Manor Motel

Property: Bristlecone Manor Motel
Address: 101 North Main, Hwy 395, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Bristlecone Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Manor Hotel Big Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing