We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stay at the Bristlecone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
El Segundo, California
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Another stay at the Bristlecone”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

No one will ever confuse the Bristlecone motel with a 5 star luxury hotel.

The rooms have a ranch-hand, bunk-house feel to them.

This is my fourth review of this motel. It is obviously our motel of choice when we go to Big Pine for the weekend.

This time we stayed in room 15. Another large three bed room. The room was clean enough. Wouldn't pass a white glove test but was clean. The bathroom and shower area is small. This seems to be standard for this motel. This particular room didn't have a kitchenette. It had the basic mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave. There was no sink in the bathroom (that was odd). The sink was just outside of the bathroom.

Bring your own shampoo, or buy it from the convenience store next to the motel. Shampoo is not provided by the motel.

It was very cold at night the weekend we stayed but the small in room heater warmed the room up well.

The motel is a wee bit run down and outdated but it's fine for a place to spend a night or two on a weekend fishing trip.

They looked to be doing some repairs/renovation while we were there. Looked like perhaps they were repainting some of the rooms. They also seemed to be putting in new tile.

They advertise free wi-fi but it must have been down the weekend we stayed because none of us were picking it up. (I have been able to access the wi-fi in the past).

We will be going back to Big Pine in March and will stay again at the Bristlecone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PONYRCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
33
45
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is my third review of the Bristlecone. We stay here every year on our annual Big Pine/Bishop fishing trip. See my two previous reviews. Obviously this is our motel of choice.

If you are expecting a four star hotel you best keep moving down the 395. This motel caters to hunters, fisherman, Cal-Trans workers and folks just looking for a place to spend the night. This motel serves it's purpose. It's a clean, safe, secure place to spend the night. The rooms are large and a lot of them have three beds.

Yes, it's worn and dated looking but so what. I'm not planning on spending the day in my room.

The Country Kitchen is a short walk from the motel. They serve an average, but okay breakfast. There is a small gas station & store right next to the motel. There is also a small general store across the street.

I'm not a fan of critters in my room. We did have a few ants in the kitchen area this year. It was very hot the weekend we stayed so that may have driven the ants in. Also had one medium sized spider in the room.

Photos from room 26.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PONYRCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This place is just fine as a basecamp for Sierra adventures. It's rundown, the air conditioning is under powered to cool the rooms, the parking is cramped. But, hey, when you're just settling in to sort gear and sleep, the Bristlecone gets the job done!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLadyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Pine hotels

Danbury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Room furnishings were shabby and drab. The carpeting was downright nasty. Flimsy appearing door locks in a high traffic area next to a busy gas station on the main road. They wanted to be paid upfront for the entire stay.

The location is convenient to the Bristlecone pine forests. Rooms are large. In-room kitchen was useful.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fun_N_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here one night and the place was deserted. The room, number 18, was nice and big with a fridge and microwave. The TV was kinda small by today's standards, but it worked well. The beds were pretty soft, but I don't mind, I slept well. The curtains were dirty, I think mostly from people trying to pull them closer together when closed because they were just a tiny bit too small. It was $75 with tax which seems just a tad high by maybe 5 to 10 dollars. We got to town late, around 7:30 and by the time we unpacked, it was 8. The only restaurant in town open was Rossi's across the street. Their food was very expensive, and I am not sure it was worth the price, but was very, very good. Review to come on their page.

Anyway, over all, I would stay here again if I ever find myself in need in Big Pine again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photorod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Old but clean. I too feel it should be in the $40 to $45 range. I would have booked today for a December trip, but felt that $67 for two beds is just not right. Shame.

Jim - Carson City, Nv.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMESCarsonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The rooms came with microwave and fridge. The room was clean and beds comfortable. I paid around 60 dollars which is an excellent deal. I would check out barbecue pit restaurant just north of the hotel. Excellent food!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseasly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
14.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
183 reviews
14.9 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
860 reviews
15.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starlight Motel
Starlight Motel
#1 of 3 in Big Pine
64 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Trees Motel
The Trees Motel
#10 of 20 in Bishop
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristlecone Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Manor Motel

Property: Bristlecone Manor Motel
Address: 101 North Main, Hwy 395, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bristlecone Manor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Bristlecone Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Manor Hotel Big Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing