We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not worth it.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlight Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starlight Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this motel. The room was very small and not worth the price you pay. The beds were comfortable, but the room is always either too hot or too cold. We stayed two nights, but we got no maid service. I tried to get more towels, but the office was closed. The owners are not very friendly and they go into your room when you are gone, not to clean it, but to turn off the A/C. Very creepy!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusharOza, General Manager at Starlight Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2016
We appreciate your feedback and regret your past unfavorable experience.

I am delighted to inform you that the Starlight Motel has different owners & I am personally overseeing the management of this property. I promise you outstanding customer service & welcome you back so you may experience our warm friendly environment.

Thank you for drawing our attention to the issues. We promise to address your concerns and shall strive to enhance our services for all customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here one night over the Memorial Day weekend due to an "accidental" cancellation of a reservation at another motel down the road. Smaller rooms, definitely built in the 50's, but had a nice flat screen TV and comfortable beds. Small bathroom and shower, but served its purpose. Seems like a motel you'd fine on old Route 66! Not a lot going on in Big Pine, but a convenient place to stay for a trip into Death Valley.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This motel is located along the Eastern Sierra mountains, on Hwy. 395 south of Bishop, CA. It is an older place but very well cared for. The landscaping was quite nice and made this an inviting overnight stop. The rooms aren't all that large, but not a closet either. The bathrooms were well maintained and everything was especially clean and tidy. They looked like new but were as old as the motel, probably back into the 50's, but well maintained. Sort of a retro look.

I was towing a small utility trailer with a canoe and when I explained my situation the manager said that I could unhook it and park it in a space adjacent to where I parked the vehicle. The manager was extremely helpful and nice with me about it. Another place just said "no trailers" and turned me away. There were convenient posts supporting the porch that I could chain the trailer up to to prevent its "wandering off". I doubt that would have really been a problem though. Big Pine is a small town and doesn't seem to have much of a crime problem.

There is satellite television with the usual complement of channels and something for everyone. But with the surroundings, why sit at the room watching TV? The Eastern Sierra mountains have to be one of the most spectacular sights in Western America.

Would I stay there again? Absolutely! The price was fair and less than I would have expected in Bishop, which is only a few miles to the north. The town is pretty quiet and the motel especially so.

Room Tip: For an overnight stay, this is a good choice. Rates are reasonable, service was great and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norther Central PA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Don't know what this place is like and I don't care if I never find out. My husband and I were on a 3 week, cross country road trip with our daughter and 3 of our grandchildren. Never knowing where we would be on a particular day, we didn't make reservations for lodging until several hours before we expected to arrive at a particular place. My daughter called the Starlight Motel to ask a few questions..such as price, if they had accommodations for 6, amenities...etc.....and I guess the desk clerk could not be bothered answering her questions. She was asking the third and final question and he hung up on her. That upset me. It was rude. So this review is rated by how we were treated on the telephone. I know nothing about the accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladymedonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusharOza, General Manager at Starlight Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2016
We appreciate your feedback and sincerely regret your past unfavorable experience.

I am delighted to inform you that the Starlight Motel has different owners & I am personally overseeing the management of this property. I promise you outstanding customer service & welcome you back so you may experience our warm friendly environment.

Thank you for drawing our attention to the issues. We promise to address your concerns and shall strive to enhance our services for all customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Do not recommend this place at all!! WAY overpriced for what you are getting . . . Rooms are dirty and bed stunk. Do not disturb sign does not mean anything to this place. A/C loud and kept getting turned off when we would leave room. Would come back to a HOT room. Bare bones place charging high end prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusharOza, General Manager at Starlight Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2016
We appreciate your feedback and regret your past unfavorable experience.

I am delighted to inform you that the Starlight Motel has different owners & I am personally overseeing the management of this property. I promise you outstanding customer service & welcome you back so you may experience our warm friendly environment.

Thank you for drawing our attention to the issues. We promise to address your concerns and shall strive to enhance our services for all customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My first disappointment was that they offered no decaf coffee - not in the room or in the lobby. My second disappointment was that when we asked for extra pillows the owner was not happy. He sighed and said he "would have to look for them." My third disappointment was the bathroom- an old sink and stall shower. There was a fish cleaning sink right around the corner from our room and an old styrofoam cooler on the ground. Not sure I would want to stay here even if I had been fishing all day!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lhiestand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusharOza, General Manager at Starlight Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2016
We appreciate your feedback and regret your past unfavorable experience.

I am delighted to inform you that the Starlight Motel has different owners & I am personally overseeing the management of this property. I promise you outstanding customer service & welcome you back so you may experience our warm friendly environment.

Thank you for drawing our attention to the issues. We promise to address your concerns and shall strive to enhance our services for all customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've stayed here a number of times over the years on our way to Yosemite or Death Valley. It's clean and nice and easy to park the motorcycle in front of the room to unload. We paid $75 for a Saturday night on a three-day weekend. We got up in the morning and had a great ride up to the Ancient Bristlecone Pines in the White Mountains (It is a fantastic ride for you motorcycle enthusiasts!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbinDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
15.4 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
14.9 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
15.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Bristlecone Manor Motel
#2 of 3 in Big Pine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Motel

Property: Starlight Motel
Address: 511 S Main St, P O Box 718, Big Pine, CA 93513-0718
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned motel providing excellent customer service. We have clean, comfortable & caring environment at reasonable prices. We have multi-lingual staff and value cultural diversity. We strive to provide outstanding service at reasonable prices. We are located on the scenic Highway 395. We are nestled between Sierra Mountains to our west, Death Valley to our east & the magnificent Yosemite National Park to our north. Mount Whitney is just over 50 miles south-west and you can easily reach there in about one hour. Starlight Motel is within 25 miles of the Bristlecone Pine Forest. Mountains, lakes, and hiking trials surround us with wonderful fishing as well as skiing in the vicinity. We are just 14 miles south of Bishop & north of Independence. Starlight Motel and the Oza family always welcome children. To make your child feel at home, fresh fruit, snacks, or treats await you at our humble abode. Children always bring us good cheer and positive energy to this lovely landscape. We offer special price to teachers, military veterans, senior citizens, emergency caregivers, artists, writers, theatre community, union workers, & students. We welcome pets based on availability. (*Charges may apply.) Guide dogs are permitted FREE for our guest's convenience. Starlight Motel is a proud sponsor of "Adopt-A-Highway" program. We promote recycling & not wasting our natural resources as we support the Sierra Conservation Project. Our motto: Arrive as guests, leave as friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Starlight Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Motel Big Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing