We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Starlight Motel
Nearby Hotels
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elms Motel(Bishop)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
46
20
4
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
20
4
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjuicehis wifethe ownereastern sierradeath valleygranola barscookiesroom was cleanplace to stayenjoyed our stayshower headnew ownersevery morningadded bonusworking orderneeded anythinglate check
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 77 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We've stayed here twice, and we've been quite satisfied with our stay each time. It's a very simple "road trip" type stop-off motel, but it serves its purpose well. There are only a handful of rooms, but you will probably not have a hard time getting a room if necessary. The rooms are basic, but have all the things you'd probably like or need, including a fridge, microwave, comfy bed, AC (very important in Big Pine!), and new flat screen TV's. The building is a brick building with brick walls, so you will rarely hear your neighbors. If this place was in a more touristy area, I'm sure these rooms would cost twice as much.

Why would you stay in Big Pine? Well first of all, it's cheaper than staying in Bishop, the nearest "big" town. If you are a hiker/backpacker, it's a nice place to stay if you are coming back from the mountains (the Big Pine Creek area has a lot of nice areas to hike/backpack). I will continue to stay here when I visit the Eastern Sierra mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cthenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Our family has been coming to Big Pine for several years in the spring and fall to fish in the area. The motel we keep coming back to is the Starlight. Keep in mind, this is Big Pine, not a large metropolitan area with four-star hotels, great restaurants and a night life. Viewing the motel in that light, the Starlight is always very clean and very quiet (for being on Highway 395). The rooms are basic, but the owners have begun to renovate. Some rooms now have a flat screen TV and new flooring, plus new paint inside and out. The rooms also have refrigerators and coffee makers. The place caters to hunters and fishermen, so there is a large freezer and fish cleaning area on site. The motel also has an nice shared patio area with BBQ and two nice grass areas to relax and have an evening cocktail or two. My only complaint over the years has been the lack of an ice machine. Ice is doled out in small buckets, so we usually come armed with our own ice. Also, the owners are not always in, so if you leave a message to make a reservation, be sure to follow-up. That said, over the years we have never had a mistake in our reservations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nipton501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I have been staying at the Starlight Motel in Big Pines since the early 80s. Rather than camp, when I go hunting in that area, I prefer to stay at the Starlight. The rooms are always clean, quiet and the TVs work just fine. There is good dining near (enough)by.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
3  Thank dajenous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This is a 15 room, vintage strip, mom and pop motel. It has cinderblock walls and green and pink tile in the shower. This room was spotless!! Cleanest toliet we had seen in a long time. It comes with free wifi and a refrigerator. Our room key was taped to the office door when we got there and our reciept in the room so it is a little hard to rate the office staff. He was there when we needed to know the internet password. The beds are very springy and the furniture is older. The ice is in a chest type freezer and is bagged up in little buckets.
If you like a vintage place to stay, you will like the Starlight. If not, you better make reservations somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chintz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We decided to stay at this motel in Big Pine after reading the positive reviews. We travel a lot and usually stay at budget hotels, this was substantially below our expectations.
Our friends traveling with us were unable to get last minute reservations anywhere in Big Pine. So we asked the Starlight management if they could stay in our room. The management charged them $65 per person, a total rip off. I guess management knew that there wasn't another room available in fifty miles so they took extreme advantage of the situation. That brought the total for the room to $140 per night!
A few of the problems during our stay:
The air conditioner stopped working each night. We awoke sweating several times in the middle of the night to fiddle with the controls until it cycled back on again. it made a buzzing noise and stopped working all together on the last hot muggy night and morning of our stay.
The door know inside the bathroom didn't work and it required all kinds of effort to get the door opened.
There was one kitchen chair in our room, nothing else. We had to bring cheap plastic lawn chairs from the patio into the room to sit on.
The Wifi ran slow and dropped out constantly while using my Mac laptop. The router with two antenna was directly outside our door.
The day before we left, room service merely put new towels in the bathroom, they didn't change the sheets or make the beds.
We talked briefly to a man on the property about the air conditioner and he tried to tell us that we had the wrong settings on the control panel! NOT TRUE.
No ice in the utility room that had a sign with the words "Ice" on the door.

A terrible experience that ruined our holiday. I would not recommend this motel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BILLGATESNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TusharOza, General Manager at Starlight Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

We appreciate your feedback and regret your past unfavorable experience.

I am delighted to inform you that the Starlight Motel has different owners & I am personally overseeing the management of this property. I promise you outstanding customer service & welcome you back so you may experience our warm friendly environment.

Thank you for drawing our attention to the issues. We promise to address your concerns and shall strive to enhance our services for all customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews