We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“limited electric hookups, but EXCELLENT location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Lodge
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“limited electric hookups, but EXCELLENT location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Such a beautiful spot - right at the trailhead up into the Palisades above Big Pine, California. These are strenuous day hikes, but worth it. Elevation is nearly 8000 feet at the trailhead.
This is a review of the TENT AND RV CAMPSITES only, not the cabins, but the cabins looked tidy and well kept up, and are likely very nice. The grounds are nice, there is a well stocked small trout pond for those who want to fish.
The tent and RV sites are adequate, but be aware that the electricity is supplied by a hydroelectric generator they have installed on the stream, so there is not much amperage available. They have one duplex 15 amp household plug at most of the sites, Which will NOT run an electric skillet or a hairdryer, but would be fine for lights. They are MOST DEFINITELY NOT adequate to charge your electric car, so don't even think it.

Room Tip: There is a very good Forest Service campground for tents or small RV's without hookups right nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and our four kids tent camped at site #4 with another friend and his two kids who stayed at site #3 on August 9th thru the 11th and had an absolutely great time. It had all the things we needed to enjoy our stay. It was cool at night and warm during the day. We were within walking distance of the pond and river. We saw deer come thru the area, ground squirrels, and an assortment of birds and even a garter snake on a hike. We were able to buy fire wood for camp fires at the office and fishing needs if it was necessary. I would recommend this location to anybody because of the many things you can do in the area.
My wife and I cant wait to go back and will be soon God willing.
Mr. M. Love & Family

Room Tip: If your a tent camper the quality of your tent and equipment will be an important factor in your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Glacier Lodge is a misnomer. The lodge burned down several years ago and all that remains are several cabins and a small store. The owner is nice and pleasant. The accomodations are very rustic. It is surprising the sign says to clean the cabins before leaving because the cost is over $150.00. It is a bit irritating that the place charges an additiona $20.00 per guest in addition to the main fee.
On the plus side, the area is beautiful . There is a small trout pond that has trout that are very cagey. There is a mule train and pack trips available. The hiking is limited unless you are in great shape and want to journey far into the backcountry.
The place though is very peaceful and brings back memories of long backpacking trips in the Eastern Sierra in my younger days. A good place to take the kids to catch, or try to catch, their first trout.
Lots of deer and opportunity for outdoor and wildlife photograpy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went to Glacier Lodge to acclimatize for a backpack trip. The cabin we got was fairly clean and somewhat dilapidated. The bed was pretty good, the couch was newish, but you can hardly turn around in the bathroom. The kitchen, dishes, & floor needed a bit of cleaning. The sink was like something out of an old trailer. The property was pleasant & you could see a glimpse of the Palisades. So, it's a good spot but I felt ridiculous in the end for paying $150 to stay there. If I had it to do over, I'd camp nearby for $20. The owner is somewhat gruff and we saw her fishing in the kiddie trout pond as we drove out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipper44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Your comfort will be relative to what you are accustomed to. If you have been tent camping than these cabins would seem like luxury but if you prefer clean modern amenities than go to Bishop and stay in a hotel for the same price. There is only 1 electrical outlet, 'carpets' are stained, cannot lock cabin because of huge hole in screen on porch. Proprietor nice and helpful.
Area is secluded and quiet with beautiful scenery nearby. Agree with DL's assessment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anyone123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I backpacked in this amazing area for many years. On the trips I noticed from the North Fork Big Pine Creek Trail little cabins in the woods. Now I am a little older, I still want to take those trails but like the idea of a bed instead of a tent. Glacier Lodge is a series of little cabins set close together in the woods with full kitchens and reasonable accommodations. I resist handing out 5 stars very often. And that is usually reserved for luxury. But what this place is attempting to provide (and succeeding at) is just enough rough-ness and just enough comfort. Don't bring appliances because it will short out the lights. It derives it's energy from the waterfalls nearby. Leave the lap top and the iphone at home and enjoy this amazing wilderness and the great hospitality the owner, Kathy, provides.

Room Tip: Talk to Kathy and ask her for advice on a room that meets your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OtterDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I decided to give this rating because I think overall, it's overpriced for what you get. I will start with the positive...location and service, I would give 4 stars. Nice and peaceful with the stream close by and lots of deer. A nice place to escape the heat and get that mountain experience. The owner was very friendly and we ordered food the first night and she brought it to our cabin. Everything tasted great!
We decided on a cabin because I didn't want to walk to the restroom in the middle of the night. The cabin was rustic and pretty basic but the.bedding, towels, toilet, shower were clean, everything else was good enough if you're not to picky.

Now on to the negative.....Price, $125 a night for 2 people and $20 for each additional person and $15 per dog. I missed the boat on thinking the charges for extra people/dogs was a one time charge. It's per night!. No plug-ins so don"t bring your electric shaver or hair dryer etc...Only the hot water faucet worked in bathroom. Outside the cabin, instead of smelling clean mountain air, we smelled septic system everytime a breeze came up about mid morning on. Had to keep the windows closed so the cabin wouldn"t stink. In the evening around the campfire, just breathed through our mouths when the order was bad. We just had to sit around the campfire and roast marshmellows, so we put up with it! No room service, so we had to clean and sweep out the cabin. You would think you wouldn't have to do that when paying that amount. Pick-up after yourself but sweep the whole place?

Overall, I feel that it was way overpriced for what you got. I will not be staying in a cabin again unless the prices come way down. I think if you can tolerate it, a tent with all the essentials for camping would be just as nice and wouldn't cost nearly as much. There are a few nice campgrounds in the area with toilets and showers. Of course, in the fall and winter it wouldn"t be as warm, so it may be worth it then to get a warm cabin. Another alternative....you can get a nice hotel room in Bishop and just make day trips for hiking and fishing. You wouldn"t have to sweep out your room that way.:o)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
15.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
14.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
15.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Bristlecone Manor Motel
#2 of 3 in Big Pine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starlight Motel
Starlight Motel
#1 of 3 in Big Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Trees Motel
The Trees Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Lodge

Property: Glacier Lodge
Address: 11 Miles West of Hwy 395, PO Box 307, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Big Pine
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer cabins in all shapes and sizes to fit the needs of any family. We also have a campground for the people who enjoy camping in their tent or RV. Inside the store we offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and your taste buds are sure to dance with delight any time of the day. Enjoy a day of relaxing down by our stocked trout pond, which is the perfect spot for the little anglers in the family to experience the thrill of reeling in their own fish. If cooking your catch isn't your cup of tea, bring it by our store to be cooked for a perfect trout dinner ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Hotel Big Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing