We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a small piece of heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Lodge
Save
You added Glacier Lodge to your Saves list
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a small piece of heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

we loved the fact that the cabin has journals for the guests to write in and write about there experience, it was nice to read about the past guests that date back many years. the cabin is real cozy and loved the fact that there is a full kitchen to have home cooked meals that you can't get from staying in a hotel. the squirls are very friendly.....well take a look at the picture, very cute :-) It was a 5 hour drive from back home in Las Vegas but well worth it. the hiking is amazing and has a nice water fall. you can hear the stream running from your cabin with the windows open. Kathy was a wonderful host, very nice and its like you have known her for years even though you just meant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights. The "old school" cabins were warm, comfortable and clean. I felt I was back in the thirties. Kathy, the owner, worked hard to make our visit the best it could be. She fixed to order,delicious dinners for my wife and and I. After a long days hike she even brought dinner to our cabin. Location was breathtaking.

Room Tip: Call ahead and discuss the accomodations with Kathy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We usually camp at the nearby campground in the summer. However, we decided to go on a late season fishing trip and the weather was getting a little too cold for us to stay in a tent.
Staying in one of the lodge's cabins was a perfect solution. The cabin was perfect for us. We fished during the day and had a comfortable place to fix dinner (trout) and enjoy the beautiful Sierra. Each cabin also has a fire ring just off the porch area. So, even though we were staying in a cabin, we got to enjoy a nice campfire each evening. Plus, it provided a great place to cook our steaks.
The cabins aren't luxurious. But, they are comfortable and clean. And, a great alternative to camping when the weather gets too cold.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Len395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at the Glacier Lodge in July to hike the North and South Fork of the Big Pine Creek. The traill head is right at the door of the Glacier Lodge so it was the perfect location. Like most of the other lodges I have been to in the Eastern Sierra's this place is not fancy, in fact it is quite rustic. But, the bed was comfortable, it was clean, and the scenery was unbelievable. Our one bedroom cabin had a living room/dining room and a tiny kitchen with a charming assortment of odd pans and dishes. Out back we had a BBQ/fire pit and picnic table where we ate our breakfast, dinner, and toasted s'mores under the stars.
I would recommend the Glacier Lodge to hikers and fishing enthusiasts who want to stay where the action is without camping. Yes it is more expensive than the boring motels in Bishop but I think it is well worth the cost to be in the midst of the glorious Sierras.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
17.0 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
16.4 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
16.9 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Bristlecone Manor Motel
#3 of 3 in Big Pine
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
8.5 mi away
Starlight Motel
Starlight Motel
#1 of 3 in Big Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Lodge

Property: Glacier Lodge
Address: 11 Miles West of Hwy 395, PO Box 307, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Big Pine
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer cabins in all shapes and sizes to fit the needs of any family. We also have a campground for the people who enjoy camping in their tent or RV. Inside the store we offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and your taste buds are sure to dance with delight any time of the day. Enjoy a day of relaxing down by our stocked trout pond, which is the perfect spot for the little anglers in the family to experience the thrill of reeling in their own fish. If cooking your catch isn't your cup of tea, bring it by our store to be cooked for a perfect trout dinner ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Hotel Big Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing