We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece and Quiet.”
Review of Welgelegen Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welgelegen Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend relaxing in absolute style. Close to Johannesburg. Excellent venue to escape the rate race and living in style. Ideal small conference venue and for that romantic escape and being pampered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 112 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wonderfully short drive through the countryside from Sandton to Balfour.
The old trees and rose garden are really beautiful, the swimming pool is inviting and well-kept, the house is steeped in history and the rooms are well-appointed.
The most noteworthy thing about the entire stay though is the food. It certainly exceeded expectations (and mine were high!), for both lunch, dinner and breakfast. The chef seems young, but his choices and the preparation were really exceptional.
If we had one thing to criticise, it would be that the team doesn't make the stay more of a destination - it would have been wonderful to have been offered a walk through the grounds (perhaps they can create a marked path people can follow) to see the antelope and bird life. Perhaps a picnic basket or a guided tour of the house with some historical background? It is a beautiful property, but without anything to do in the area, it would be so fabulous if the manor created it's own programme of possible activities, and guests were "concierged" on check in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonikaIuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was met by Amelia manager on my arrival....what a warm and friendly welcome I received after
a short drive from Johannesburg.

What a pleasant surprise to discover my most magnificent suite! I stay in 5* hotels abroad on
average once a week and can only highly commend the standard of the suites(they're definately
not just rooms)....down to the finest detail: A welcome personalised note embellished with flowers,
Quality Street chocolates next to the bed, home baked ginger rusks on the tea/coffee layout,
chilled water in the refrigerator,fresh cut flowers everywhere....what an absolute pleasure!

Maybe most special, however, is the special attitude of the hotel staff under the very able leadership of manager Amelia.

Everyone could not have been friendlier....going out of their way to be as accommodating as possible and offer an all round excellent experience....well done everybody at Welgelegen!

Not only will I recommend this property to my colleagues and friends in South Africa, but to my
clients worldwide including Brazil(I have just arrived in São Paulo), the USA where I will be next week etc etc.

Keep up the good work....I look forward to returning soon! Thank you all so much!

Room Tip: Try treat yourself to the honeymoon suite with the most magnificent bathroom with beautiful, period...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This beautiful Manor is situated on an extensive farm with rolling hills in the distance. The house, which is 101 years old is rich with history but is so well kept, it could have been built in 2013. The rooms are vast with king bed, walk in closets, a lounge and a fire place. The bathrooms are the epitome of luxury, including a large bath and shower, slippers and a robe.

The service was very personal (not like a normal run of the mill hotel) and careful attention is taken to each guest.

Definitely an incredible experience I would recommend to anyone. You won't regret going there.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor which opens to the pool is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our second stay at Welgelen Manor in one of their King Suites. We travel frequently, but rare is the occasion where we return for a second visit. Welgelegen ticks all the boxes. Secluded, quiet, opulent, luxurious, stately, unobtrusive, personalized, crackling fires, pressed napkins, rose garden, silverware, freshly picked roses, the list is endless. Amelia is welcoming, attentive, and met our every need and expectation. We enjoyed lengthy conversations with Amelia who is very knowledgeable with respect to the history of the area and estate. On arrival tea was accompanied by freshly baked citrusy lemon meringue. Yum! Our dietary requirements were fulfilled by Adriaan's exceptional culinary talents. Breakfast was a lazy, relaxed, sumptuous feast. Thank you to Amelia and staff for her six star service! Guess a third visit in the summer awaits ....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family stayed over at Welgelegen for a night after my wife and a friend had celebrated their birthdays there with a group of friends. Some 18 people had travelled from local towns for a Saturday lunch, and the stunning venue and its excellent service made for an experience they will never forget. Amelia and the friendly staff at Welgelegen made us all feel at home right from the start, and it almost felt like reliving the days when the Mostert family built and occupied this grand old house. It has been beautifully restored in spacious grounds with magnificent gardens, and although we were only a party of 3 persons staying over on the Saturday evening, the house had a very friendly feel to it. It also has a grassed airfield right in front of the house, and is an excellent venue for fly-in breakfasts or lunches. I am a motorcyclist, and we are planning to do a breakfast run to the venue shortly. I attach some photos I took, but it can only partly portray the real beauty of Welgelegen Manor - definitely worth a stay!

Room Tip: All suites are magnificent. We stayed in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiaanvdMerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had an overnight flight from UK so accommodation just a couple of hours driving from Jo'berg was what we were looking for. Welgelegen Manor was the perfect choice. Set in the countryside of Balfour , a beautiful historic house beautifully restored and maintained. Amelia our hostess couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Lunch, dinner and breakfast the following day were perfect. We were sorry to be leaving after only one nights stay. We will be back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jwalshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Welgelegen Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welgelegen Manor

Address: Farm Rietbult | On the R51, Balfour 2410, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Balfour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Balfour
Price Range: $325 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Welgelegen Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Exceptional Discover the lost art of gracious relaxation and sophisticated elegance at Welgelegen Manor - a little bit of old world country living, nestled in the Mpumalanga Highveld and just an hours drive from Johannesburg. From taking tea next to the fire in one of our beautifully appointed private lounges to choosing your favourite vintage from our premium wine collection, this Herbert Baker designed haven perfectly captures the spirit of understated luxury and personal attention. Welgelegen Manor is the ideal venue for a relaxed, stress free weekend away from the city. Bring your friends and family for a luxurious, yet relaxed atmosphere. Challenge your friends to a game of billiards or one of our board games and for the more energetic, practice your golf swing on our driving range, play a game of croquet, practice archery and in the near future, enjoy our grass tennis court currently under construction. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welgelegen Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing