We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of Motel 6 Big Bear

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Big Bear
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This hotel is nice but for the price a little less than what we thought it should be. We don’t expect the Ritz but come on … no shampoo?? Other than that and the female phone call at 5 am with the horny women this place is nice enough. The people in Big Bear make this place worth coming to.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seddon43337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just what you would expect from a Motel 6; a clean, comfortable room (though ours had two beds in it so it felt a bit cramped).

PRO'S:
Centrally located
Large fenced-in parking lot
Clean facility

CON'S:
No shampoo
Rooms in center of hotel a bit of a walk to the parking lot
Oddly-shaped shower
Small room (at least it feels that way)
No in-room clock

Overall my wife and I had a pleasent weekend stay at this hotel, although we we're in town for a dunebuggy show & off-road event and diddn't spend a lot of time at the hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev250R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Upon viewing internet reviews of Big Bear accommodations and not seeing any standouts, we decided to save some money for a change, and go cheap. We did! $55 including tax for one night at Motel 6, Big Bear, CA. We had seen TV advertisements for The Motel 6 chain as upgrading the hotel room interiors. This hotel was done a couple of years ago, and still had a clean bathroom, but could use a major carpet cleaning. As previous reviews have said - it's basic, no toiletries other than a bar of soap. Suprisingly the 20" tube TV got HBO and HBO2! When we asked the hotel clerk, Alan, if we could see the room before checking in he said "We don't ordinarily do this, but I'll make and exception." He asked "Why do you want to see the room, all Motel 6 rooms are the same." I said "Yes, but some rooms are clean and not worn out and some are." Our room was just okay. If you are a regular Walmart shopper, you'd like it. If not, try the Best Western down the street.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The bed was very hard and the snow boarders clamored in at 1AM. The staff was nice about getting them to quiet down. Since we can afford it, we'll stay someplace with better beds and less rowdy clientele. If we couldn't afford it, though, I go ahead and stay there, but I'd bring the mattress topper and a fan to drown out the noise.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Threefortheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I booked my room over a month prior to my arrival. When I made my reservation I had requested for the highest floor, and towards the end of the hall so I could relax. The day I left I called again at 1pm to say I was on my way, and to make sure my request was put into place. It took 4 hours to drive there only to find out at 5pm I DID NOT have a choice on any of the rooms. They booked my room on the first floor right in the middle. For 2 nights I heard the people above me, and I heard people running up and dow the walk way. I did complaim and the hotel did give me a credit for my troubles. Would I stay there again......NO!! I found other places to stay that are $20 to $25.00 more that would give me what I needed. When I travel I am looking to relax not listen to people flushing their toliets, neighbors talking out loud, and loud noises from people parking their cars in the parking lot. The room was clean and the staff could have given the customer a choice on their room. I found out 90 people checked out that day, and noone could give me what I was asking for. Sad!! Why did I bother to even call before I left.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clasyldy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Whilst not terribly friendly the motel was clean, comfortable and warm (we had very cold weather). It was close to restaurants and a supermarket. Free coffee. Take your own toiletries as there's only soap provided.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenelopevanSchliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Hmmm....well, let me say that my wife and I knew what were getting ourselves into by staying at a Motel 6 so I guess all we have to blame is ourselves. We recently stayed here for the Big Bear Oktoberfest that runs in late September and October. The motel is right across the convention center where the Oktoberfest is held, very convenient location. The problem is, if your there on a Saturday night the festival closes at midnight and the party shifts to the hotel, since there are a lot of people staying at the Motel 6. It sounded like one giant party outside of our room until the wee hrs of the morning........

Ok with that being said the review of the Motel itself.

Negatives:
-Loud during Oktoberfest. Surprised management did not step in and ask people to be quiet. It was so loud!!
-Room itself had paperthin walls, we could literally hear the people next door having a general conversation.
-Motel needs to be renovated. The "new" renovated Motel 6's are good, this place needs a facelift.
-Surprising that the bathroom didn't come with shampoo or conditioner. I thought Motel 6' s provided this?
-Although the room was clean, we found a piece of a torn Trojan condem wrapper on our bed when we walked in......not good for first impressions.

Postives:
-Not much but Location for Oktoberfest. Your just a 2 minute walk to the party........

Overall we would not stay here again.....not even based on location given our experience. I might be ok if not during Oktoberfest........

Tips on Big Bear Oktoberfest:
-Buy the tickets online......you get the discount and can just walk right up into the hall....we had to wait in line to get tickets.
-Bring your Steins for Beer if you have them!
-Bring a goofy Oktoberfest hat if you have one.
-Arrive early between 3-4 pm to get a seat or table especially on a Saturday. If you have a big group of people get there earlier as it's crowded.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotterswannebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
694 reviews
2.5 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
#7 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Big Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Big Bear

Address: 42899 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $66 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Big Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Big Bear CA is located 3 miles from Big Bear's World Class Skiing and 1 mile from Big Bear Lake. The Convention Center, home of Octoberfest, is across the street. Enjoy Wi-Fi, available in all modern guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Big Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Big Bear Hotel Big Bear Lake
Motel 6 Big Bear Lake
Motel Six Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Motel Six
Big Bear Lake Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing