We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad - even for a Motel 6”
Review of Motel 6 Big Bear

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Big Bear
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty bad - even for a Motel 6”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I stayed here with a few of my high school freinds as we prepared to hike Mount San Gorgonio, and did not want to pitch a tent. Considering we got in at 9pm and were leaving at 6am, we didn't expect much. However, I was shocked as to how bad this was.
My main qualm with this motel is that the bed was unbelievably itchy. It felt like the sheets had not been changed for days. I rolled around endlessly trying to find a comfortable position, and simply could not. So, I got about 6 hours of pretty poor sleep. My two friends felt the same way.
For Big Bear, this is a very cheap hotel, which is why it recieves two stars instead of one - it's certainly a bargain. However, for a better night of sleep, I would have paid to stay at Best Western. Make your choice! Just be warned, it's worse then an average Motel 6.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfotinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    32
    27
    17
    11
See reviews for
32
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2011

For the amount of money we were charged, we sure didn't get our money's worth. The bed linens were stained, the comforter was written on, the sheet was so old, it was see-thru thin. Seriously need to upgrade tv. CLEAN the vents, thick layer of dust noted. I had to call and request for more pillows TWICE because they didn't provide them the first time. I had to call to get my room's trash bins emptied. The shower curtain had tears in it. Not a place I could recommend to family or friends. Not a place I would book to stay in again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerc111001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We decided to stay for one more day in Big Bear since the forecast promised lots of fresh snow overnight. This motel is situated on the outskirts of Big Bear but it is close to the slopes and that was what we were after. It is a Motel 6 so nothing fancy, but it was clean, warm and quiet enough for a good nights sleep. It was also big enough to spread out and dry the gear.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jones0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed for one night on MLK holiday weekend. Noisy guests next door when checking in at 10pm- complained to office, then it was fine.

(hotels.com messed up by booking only 1 night vs. 2. Calling motel 6 directly no good- had to call hotels.com to fix)
No complaints. Best benefit is cancellation policy (up to 6pm of checkin) vs. every other cabin/hotel in Big Bear with their one night cancellation or other fees. Best deal by going to motel 6 web site directly- then can change directly. not worth other sites- have to deal with them not Motel 6 for any changes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Rooms have no fridge or microwave.. over hotel staff attitude completely rude. Way overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smith31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This hotel is nice but for the price a little less than what we thought it should be. We don’t expect the Ritz but come on … no shampoo?? Other than that and the female phone call at 5 am with the horny women this place is nice enough. The people in Big Bear make this place worth coming to.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seddon43337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, So.Cal.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just what you would expect from a Motel 6; a clean, comfortable room (though ours had two beds in it so it felt a bit cramped).

PRO'S:
Centrally located
Large fenced-in parking lot
Clean facility

CON'S:
No shampoo
Rooms in center of hotel a bit of a walk to the parking lot
Oddly-shaped shower
Small room (at least it feels that way)
No in-room clock

Overall my wife and I had a pleasent weekend stay at this hotel, although we we're in town for a dunebuggy show & off-road event and diddn't spend a lot of time at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev250R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
617 reviews
3.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
411 reviews
2.5 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
132 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
216 reviews
2.8 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Big Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Big Bear

Property: Motel 6 Big Bear
Address: 42899 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Big Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Big Bear CA is located 3 miles from Big Bear's World Class Skiing and 1 mile from Big Bear Lake. The Convention Center, home of Octoberfest, is across the street. Enjoy Wi-Fi, available in all modern guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Motel-6, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Big Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Big Bear Hotel Big Bear Lake
Motel 6 Big Bear Lake
Motel Six Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Motel Six
Big Bear Lake Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing