We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
71
41
6
13
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
41
6
13
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue sprucefenced yardwasher and dryergreat cabinfully stocked kitchencoffee makerlakedogsnetflixsoapnest
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 201 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Great location, very clean and quiet.
We have been coming to Big Bear and will always use Cool Cabins for our accommodations.
This is great place for a couple to relax and enjoy Big Bear. The cabin is clean and the neighbors are fun. Had a good conversation with him. He is a longtime resident and he gave us some ideas for things to do.
Side note if you like to bicycle ride take Elm to Cougar Rd and ride over to Big Bear City.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank rwheeler1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi G, Office Assistant at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. It sounds like you had a great Big Bear experience. Thank you for the bike path tip!! I'm glad to hear that you made friends with the neighbors(you're almost a local!) and we hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing property. The condo (unit 27) was clean inside, but had missing slats on the vertical blinds. The entire condo complex was in a general state of disrepair. The most profound example of this was the pool area. The deck was in bad shape, and the pool itself was very dirty. A huge downer on the hottest weekend of the summer, and we specifically booked this property because of the pool. The photos on the website must have been taken many years ago.
We have used Big Bear Cool Cabins in the past and were pleased with our cabin. However, the fact that they even represent this property indicates that their standards are now much lower than we find satisfactory. We will not be renting through them again.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa A, Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Extremely delayed response but somehow we didn't get this review until recently. Please email me at alisa@bigbearcoolcabins.com so that we can make this up to you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

We've been using cool cabins for the past 3 years, we have never had a problem with any of the rental properties that we have stayed at. It's always been a pleasure to go through cool cabins from booking, checking in, the stay & checking out. I don't plan on using any other site or rental company. Thanks cool cabins for a wonderful 4th of July stay at "Unforgettable Views" they truly will be unforgettable! The best part...... Watching the firework show from the balcony, we beat the crowds at the lake :) can't wait to be back at this same cabin during winter season!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Aurora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi G, Office Assistant at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear Aurora, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016

The staff at Big Bear Cool Cabins was EXCELLENT and worked with us to find the perfect cabin for our family (including two dogs) to spend a long weekend in the mountains. They sent us several great options that all fit our needs. It was tough to pick but we finally decided on a beautiful two-story with a hot tub and we were not disappointed in the least. Check in was smooth and the office is conveniently located. The cabin was very clean, the perfect size and the location was close to everything. The kitchen was a great size, with three of us cooking we did not get in each others way. The rooms were just the right size and the loft turned out to be a great hangout spot for the kids. We have been going up to Big Bear for decades but never used a rental company before. They made everything so easy and we had the best trip ever!!! We will DEFINITELY be using Big Bear Cool Cabins every time we go to Big Bear from now on.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi G, Guest Relations Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Hi Cynthia!
Thank you for your time and feedback. We're so happy that this cabin was everything you needed for a relaxing and enjoyable weekend for you AND the pups. We hope you'll return to Big Bear and Cool Cabins for many vacations to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

I understand that their "busy season" is during the winter and that is what they are mostly prepared for, but that doesn't excuse their lack of preparation for their summer guests. We walked in and it was so hot! We couldn't find how to work the AC so we called.. "There is no AC" "it's never been this hot, we have gotten 15 calls today" is the only thing they could say. We asked for fans and they said if they had any they would be in the closet.. Needless to say there were no fans. Panicked, we went to KMart and spent 175$ on fans (of course the box fans on sale were all bought up,I wonder why?!)

The place was also very dusty.. Cob webs on all the fixtures and decor on the wall.. The master shower head was disturbingly coated with soap scum and pathetic water pressure to boot.

I will say this, the hot tub was the highlight! It was brand new and definitely the one thing that cabin had going for it.. Although the pictures made it seem private and there was NO privacy at all from the other cabins surrounding the area.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Aleena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi G, Guest Relations Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Dear Guest, We're very sorry for the issues you experienced at this property during your stay. Thank you for letting us know so we may improve and make our cabins better for you and other guests. We hope you will return to Big Bear soon and stay with Cool Cabins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews