We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
71
41
6
13
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
41
6
13
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue sprucefenced yardwasher and dryergreat cabinfully stocked kitchencoffee makerdogsnetflixsoapnest
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 201 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile

Currently here now staying in the Cool Cabin: Big Skye 2 bedroom 1 bath and while we've been "settling in" it's been quite unsettling. Esthetically the house is nice but give it a few hours and you start to notice how dirty and disgusting this place is. I'm supposed to check out Sunday but I can't stand to be here much longer. The pillows are dirty and full of stains, the bathtub doesn't drain, the "clear" shower curtain is disgusting, the towels are paper thin and off white as if they have been here for months, dust everywhere, stained carpet, stained shower curtain. In the second bedroom I sprayed raid to 2 spiders that were just chillin on the curtains like it was okay. Sprayed a spider in the living room and sprayed another in the kitchen. Little did I know their was one dead in the corner. Will be submitting a formal complaint first thing Monday morning. Might I mention no driveway. The only spot you have is street level. This place was pretty from far but far from pretty. With all the rules in place and the high season price point for 2 nights you expect nothing but the best! The deck with the hot tub was pretty nice and the backyard was nice..but the inside it's bad.. What a disappointment. Never again.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
3  Thank meliobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi G, Guest Relations Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Dear Guest, We apologize deeply and sincerely for the experience you described. We pride ourselves on responding to customers' concerns quickly, and appropriately. Unfortunately, we were never informed of the state of the cabin upon your arrival. Our staff is available 24/7 to remedy issues of this nature. We hope that you will return to Big Bear and Cool Cabins in the future and reach out to us with any displeasure and please know we are truly sorry for this occurrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2016

STAY AWAY FROM BIG BEAR COOL CABIN RENTALS. I booked a cabin rental 8 months in advance for a wedding we are attending in Meadowbrook Estates. I needed a cabin in that area specifically. To my surprise, I noticed the cabin I rented for the wedding was for sale on a recent trip up to Big Bear. I contacted them and asked what am I supposed to do if the cabin is sold? They couldn't guarantee a house in that area so I asked for a full refund. Mind you I hadn't signed the contract yet, just put a deposit down. They are not refunding full amount. They are taking out 10%. They basically told me that most likely the cabin wouldn't sell by then. Are you kidding me? I'm supposed to be comforted by that. What crooks!!!! Poor business practices and horrible customer service. If they would have been accommodating many other guests coming to the wedding would have used them, but we have told everyone to not use this company under any circumstances. Shady, dishonest, and lacking in integrity all come to mind regarding this particular rental company. Check out reviews on Yelp too. Horrible!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Service
6  Thank Justice4all12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie S, Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Justice4all12, we're very sorry for any frustration you experienced when trying to book with us. Unfortunately, sometimes a cabin in specific areas cannot always be guaranteed. After putting down a deposit, it is just our standard policy should you choose to cancel your stay. We apologize if no one on our team made this clear about the 10%. It was never our intention to be dishonest in any way, so we are sorry if we gave you that impression. We will be sure to let all of our team members know to make our policies clearer moving forward. If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out to us directly.

Thank You,
Big Bear Cool Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2016 via mobile

Great time at snow summit! Best time ever! Summit Dome home was a very confortable, clean and fun place for our family, make sure you bring chains with you at all times. The cabin has everything we need!

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
Thank ElizabethTaboadaAlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie S, Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

ElizabethTaboadaAlon, so wonderful to hear you and your family had such a terrific time at Summit Dome. Glad you recommended chains as well -- it's always a good idea with how much snow we get here. Hope you visit again soon!

Thank You,
Big Bear Cool Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2016

We saw an add for $377 a night, but they actually charged us double price. The front of the house was covered by snow, that we couldn't park the cars. We had to get shovels and spend 2 hours of cleaning the front of the house from snow. The house was not cleaned from the previous tenants, the facets were broken in the both bathrooms, the kitchen was dirty,the backyard wasn't clean. Poor management, will never recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Yelena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie S, Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2016

Yelena, I'm very sorry that your stay with us was far from what you expected. Our team should have done a much more diligent job of ensuring that your cabin was fully ready for you. Unfortunately, since we have to wait on the city before we can plow driveways, oftentimes shoveling is the only solution. We apologize if we didn't make that clear. If you have any other questions or concerns, please reach out to us directly.

Thank You,
Big Bear Cool Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016

We had a really terrible experience with Cool Cabins. Paid a lot and had a nightmare. The property wasn't very nice and difficult to use in icy conditions. Worse, no matter how high we set the heat (which worked) the two downstairs bedrooms stayed very cold - the children were literally blue when we got them up in the morning. The firewood, $150!, was so damp the fire in the fireplace kept going out. The refrigerator leaked water and the pilot light was out in the oven (it was hard to get going). And the worst! We discovered an active, adult BEDBUG in the master bedroom bed (we took pictures). We left a day early with a lot of possessions to freeze and wash. The company says they found no evidence of bedbugs and refused any compensation or refund. WE ARE VERY DISAPPOINTED

Room Tip: Stay away from this service
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie S, Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2016

James, you might have seen our response via Yelp, but we wanted to sincerely apologize for any confusion or frustration you endured during your stay. Big Bear should always be about having relaxing stay in a winter paradise, we're sorry your experience fell short of that with us. Our team should have done the proper due diligence to make certain that issues with heating, the refrigerator, and the pilot light were remedied before your arrival. We will make certain our team is more proactive about making our cabins more hospitable and inviting moving forward. If you have any further questions or concerns, please reach out to us directly.

Thank You,
Big Bear Cool Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews