We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
72
41
6
13
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
41
6
13
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue spruce fenced yard washer and dryer great cabin fully stocked kitchen coffee maker lake dogs netflix soap nest
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 203 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2016

The only thing this property had going for it was the location. It was a 5 minute walk to the slopes of Big Bear Mountain. That was it. There was a half eaten apple & a half filled plastic soda bottle left on the kitchen table. The lighting was terrible none of the light fixtures had working light bulbs. Two of the beds in the bedrooms did not have sheets on them we had to call the next day to have sheets brought over. Finally the heating system was antiquated and we needed to go and purchase a space heater to heat 1 of the rooms. $850 a night I would never again rent or recommend to rent the Buffalo House but Cool Cabins was pretty responsive when they had to be.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie S, Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

Ryan, to hear that your cabin was left in such a state is very concerning to us, and we understand and apologize that it put such a damper on your experience. It sounds like our team could really benefit from more consistency and oversight when making sure our cabins are ready for new guests. We will be speaking with our team members to make sure they are much more diligent moving forward. If you have any further questions or concerns, please reach out to us directly.

Thank You,
Big Bear Cool Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2015

the cabin is called Funny Farm. cozy close to everything we needed. Perfect for family of three. we had an enjoyable time cozy-ed up to fireplace between playing in the snow, cooking at cabin
walks in the snow

Room Tip: cabin called funny farm
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie S, Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2015

Melinda, it's great to hear you and the rest of the family felt so cozy and comfortable during your stay. Thanks for all of your compliments. Hope you visit us again soon!

Thank You,
Big Bear Cool Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

My family has used Cool Cabins 4-5 times over the years and Whispering Forest was definitely the most comfortable cabin we have stayed in. It is a 3 bed 2 bath that can comfortably sleep 7 people. The listing says it sleeps 8-9 but the pull out sofa shouldn't count! It is massively uncomfortable. The cabin was clean and there were plenty of dishes, pans, etc for our use. The master bedroom had a nice deck right outside with a BBQ (we had to clean this ourselves prior to use). The cable boxes weren't active - so we had no tv but were fooled at first. We also thought that the a/c would work but it turns out the unit only works for heating not cooling even though there is a cool setting. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would use Cool Cabins again.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
Thank Rubysoho111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi G, Guest Relations Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing Cool Cabins. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay! The TV service at Whispering Forest has since been fixed and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in Big Bear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2015

As like many times before we have always had a great experience with the staff from Cool Cabins. Today, Elizabeth assisted me with finding a cabin for 2 nights and she was more than helpful. We found the perfect place and are looking forward to heading up to the cool weather. Also, love the way they take care of return guests! Thank you cool cabins.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koehler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie S, Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2015

Koehler4, it's music to our ears to know that all of the many trips you've had here have always been such wonderful experiences. Happy our team is always helpful and engaging to find just the right accommodations for you. Visit again soon!

Thank You,
Big Bear Cool Cabins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

We rented a condo in Boulder Bay area. The location was nice but the condo was so dated and did not look or feel clean. The couch had a waxy look and feel to it we covered it with a sheet. The price was right but had I known the condo was so dated I would of looked else where.

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank ofcrasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa A, Manager at Big Bear Cool Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2015

Hello Ofcrasta,

Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I'm not sure where you stayed but I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the cabin. As a future reference, we do have 400 cabins and would have been happy to find you something more suitable. We would love to look into this issue more deeply but need to know where you stayed. If you would like to discuss this please call (909) 894-0326 and speak with Velvet. We do hope you will be back soon to visit!

The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews