We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have checked TripAdvisor before booking with Cool Cabins...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Bear Cool Cabins
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Should have checked TripAdvisor before booking with Cool Cabins...”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Ah, where to begin? First off, the original booking company we used, Red Awning, booked us in the Bear Necessities cabin with Cool Cabins for Memorial Day weekend (we have the email confirmation). When I called Cool Cabins on Friday morning to see if we could check in slightly earlier than 4pm, I was informed that the cabin had already been rented (!). Barbara was helpful, though, and did send through a list of cabins that were available at similar pricepoints for Memorial Day. Priority One was for us to find someplace to stay...so we ended up choosing Little Brown Bear, which happened to be available. Some of the property reviews on the Cool Cabins indicated that the carpeting was dirty, the furniture run down and uncomfortable, and there were holes in the walls. However, those reviews were posted over a year ago, and mgmt had responded to the review assuring upgrades, so we felt confident in our decision.

We arrived at the office to pick up the keys. Service was adequate, if distracted. We received instructions on how to access the cabin & keys, so went to the property.

We arrived at the property (in the fog and rain) and the lockbox code did not work. I called the Cool Cabins office, who said that they would send someone. We waited in the dark in the rain in our car for 30 minutes - no one showed. So we called Cool Cabins again, who said they would send a maintenance guy and that they "didn't know what happened" to the person that they thought they had sent originally. I would like to point out that all this time, they had my cell phone and could have called me with an update. So another twenty minutes later, no sign of the maintenance man. We called Cool Cabins again, who said he was 'on his way', and we started to make our contingency plans (find another hotel to stay the night, etc.). By the way, it is still raining, and is now dark. When the maintenance man showed up, he tried the lockbox and couldn't make it work either. Then when he called the office, someone on the other line gave him a different lockbox code, which thankfully worked. My question is, why didn't Cool Cabins give us the correct lockbox code either 1) when we checked in, or 2) when we called and said that the lockbox wasn't working? Either way, poor service & organization all around. We finally had access to the cabin, and decided to stay the night.

The cabin itself was barely serviceable -- carpet was filthy, including patches of stiff crud on the floor where something had been spilled and not cleaned up. Furniture (1 couch, 2 folding chairs) was caved in in the center so difficult to sit on (let alone sit on with any sort of comfort). Luckily we brought our own zero gravity chairs and ended up using those all weekend. Main bedroom was serviceable, bathroom was OK. Kitchen was listed as 'fully stocked', which translated to a plastic shopping bag of assorted silverware on top of a small microwave, and a handful of plates. At least the refrigerator and dishwasher worked...

I would definitely not stay in this property (Little Brown Bear) again, and will also not be using Cool Cabins to book my next stay in Big Bear. However, we did learn one helpful tip from the owner of our backup Bed & Breakfast - if you encounter any issues with your cabin rental in Big Bear, you should call the Big Bear Code Compliance hotline immediately (909) 866-CODE.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k23p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    36
    5
    13
    67
See reviews for
84
40
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loma Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

These guys are the epitome of cheap and penny pinching. We stayed at 39342 Aurora Road. This place was run by Cool Cabins and owned by a cheesy, cheap guy. When you're spending thousands of dollars a night for a cabin you should have access to the rooms. These guys lock off the rooms including the master!! Secondly, they charge you for garbage collection. Yeah you heard that right. $5000 a night doesn't get you garbage removal. I'm not talking about cleaning up a messy house. I'm talking about Cool Cabins making you drive your garbage in bags, to the city dump or pay $50 for them to do it. Really? Obviously when staying here you can afford the $50 but it's the principal. Combine that with no access to half the rooms in the house, a dirty spa, rules against using the DVD player, a laundry list of things you have to do before departure, and signs everywhere telling you to rat your neighbors out if they have too many guests, and this place leaves you with a bad taste in your mouth! Suffice it to say we are never coming back to the Aurora house or using Cool Cabins again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We rented the 1classic cabin do presidents day weekend and overall it was an awesome place to stay. Check in was easy just go to the big bear cool cabin office near the center of big bear city to check in and get the directions to the cabin. The cabin we rented was clean, the electric and heaters worked great and there was a big flat screen tv in the living room. There was also a great wood deck with a propane grill out back. It was covered in snow when we stayed but would be a great place to hang out during the spring/summer. I should also mention that cool cabins gives a 10% military discount so if you rent from this company b sure to mention if you are in the military. Our weekend centered around snow boarding and we were less than 5 mins from big bear snow summit which was fantastic considering how tired we were at the end of the day. I highly recommend the 1classic cabin for families with kids as there was plenty of space for my husband, myself and our two young sons ages 3 and 5.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikinjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I had to delete and recreate my review because of the outright lie of a response posted by the management.

Here is my original review: (We stayed 2/25/2011)
-----
We stayed at adirondack. The cabin was nice but dirty. There were cobwebs everywhere. Two of the beds downstairs were broken; if you sat on it, it would fall to the side. The air filter for the heating system was extremely old, full of dust, and halfway on.

The cabin is listed as being able to park 4 cars, yeah right! When we arrived, the driveway was iced over and only one car was able to fit. You have no access to the garage, so a max of 2 cars fit. I have no idea where they got the 4 from, especially since the street is very narrow and you can't park on the street during snow season.

When we got inside the cabin, one of the beds upstairs was not made and the sheets were just tossed around. We called and told them about the driveway and about the bed. They said they would send someone over to make the bed and bring ice melt for the driveway. We left so they could take care of it and when we returned, there was a trashbag at the front steps with fresh sheets and no ice melt.
We called again and they sent someone out to make the bed, but the icemelt never came. We ended up buying our own ice melt and a pickaxe to take care of the driveway problem. We arrived around 2pm and the bed was finally made at around 7pm. Sure we could have made the bed ourselves, but it was the principal and the money we paid that kept us from doing so. I felt bad for the ladies that came to make the bed and tipped them for making the bed, I'm sure it wasn't them that left the sheets on the front porch and it was cold and snowing.

It snowed that weekend and we got blocked in the driveway by the plow piling up snow. We didn't bother to call the management company due to the fantastic service we received prior. (sarcasm) We dug ourselves out.

Overall we enjoyed the cabin but were very dissatisfied with the management company. They have very poor service and low quality in what they do. No one seems to check the cabins because the condition of the cabin was definitely not satisfactory for rental.

If you want service and a clean cabin, DO NOT rent from big bear cool cabins. It was our first, and our last time renting with them.
-----

This is the management response:
-----
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay; your feedback allowed me to address these issues and correct them immediately. The problems you experienced have been noted and are in the process of being resolved. According to our records, management did issue a refund in the amount of $200.00 due to the issues you experienced. We would like you to know that customer satisfaction is our main priority and we deeply apologize for the service and issues you received. Our records also indicated that we did send housekeeping to remedy the cleanliness, but you were not at the cabin when they arrived. There was also no key left in the lock box at the premise, which did prevent the crew from being able to clean the home and make the beds. We also sent a maintenance technician to the home with ice melt, and to look at the parking situation. I am looking further into this, to see if he ever made it out. During the winter months, snow does not accomodate our guests and the parking at many of our cabins. Snowplows are to go out and plow the driveway as best as they can, but when a car is at the cabin they are legally not allowed to plow, due to anything that may happen with a car being present. Once again thank you for taking the time to share this information, we hope that we can extend our hospitality to you in the future, to show you that we can do a lot better in regards to customer service, cleanliness... the whole picture. If there is anything I can be of assistance with please feel free to give me a call or email me anytime.

Thank you,
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
-----

I am outraged and re-posted this because you cannot respond to the management response.
Pretty much, they did NOT refund us $200. I have the credit card records to prove I paid the full amount. Management, do you have a refund receipt to back your claim?? They didn't even apologize when we checked out at the office. All phone calls to them during our stay were answered with attitude. When I called about the bed upstairs, they said they were going to send someone and we specifically told them we would be out. They told us to leave the key in the lock box and we DID, my guess is they didn't even check. The "technician" for the driveway never came and like I said, we had to clear the ice and hardened snow out ourselves. My original thought stands:
If you want service and a clean cabin, DO NOT rent from big bear cool cabins. It was our first, and our last time renting with them.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Avg2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My family and I had the pleasure to spend the weekend in "Misty Morning". It had everything!!! Dvds in every room and cable. Fireplace for romantic nights and fun for the kids. And a tempur pedic king size bed in the main bedroom.
The kitchen was equipped with everything I needed to make some warm meals!! We already are planning to go again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We rented the Bear Hug Hideout for a weekend in January and had an absolute blast! Checking in was easy and took less than 10 minutes, the house was clean and ready for our arrival, the parking was ample, and the location was less than a mile from Snow Summit! We've been renting cabins in Big Bear for 3 years now and BBCC was by far the easiest and most pain-free experience we've had. Everything was perfect. We will 100% use them again for next year's trip

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I booked and cancelled a cabin within 1-2 hours and was told my card would not be charged for the full amount. HOWEVER, my credit card was charged and now I'm in the process of disputing the several thousands of dollars with my credit card company and Cool Cabins. Their service is anything but cool and I wouldn't ever use them again. They are dishonest and have stolen my money.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank goracingpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fireside Lodge
Fireside Lodge
#10 of 16 in Big Bear Region
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
#7 of 45 in Big Bear Region
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Black Forest Lodge
Black Forest Lodge
#18 of 45 in Big Bear Region
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Cool Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Cool Cabins

Property: Big Bear Cool Cabins
Address: 40375 Big Bear Boulevard, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Big Bear Cool Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to beautiful Big Bear with mild summer temperatures and snowy winters! Big Bear Cool Cabins invites you to be our guest in the beautiful mountains of Southern California. With more than 400 properties, ranging from single-room cabins to condos and entire lodges, Big Bear Cool Cabins has the perfect rental for your adventure. Located just a couple of hours from Los Angeles and Orange County, and about three hours from San Diego or Las Vegas, Big Bear Lake, Southern California is the perfect vacation destination. This year round resort features a beautiful lake for boating and fishing, the best slopes in Southern California for skiing and snowboarding, the National Forest for hiking, biking, and horseback riding, a quaint Village full of shops and restaurants, and much, much more. Whether you're looking for a woodsy cabin or a luxurious lakefront, you can choose the features you require to book your Southern California vacation with us. Big Bear Cool Cabins' friendly reservationists are ready to help you find the perfect accommodations for that vacation hat has been long awaited and well deserved. Check out each vacation rental online for availability, then give us a call! From all of us here at Big Bear Cool Cabins, we look forward to hosting you, your family and friends very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Bear Cool Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Cool Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing