We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
142
10
4
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
10
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ethiopian coffee gourmet breakfast squeezed orange juice bath salts wine pairing primrose room every evening welcoming hosts hors d oeuvres room was beautifully decorated delicious appetizers sous vide big bear grounds are beautiful bottled water multi course family weekend
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 162 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at the Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast which will always be memorable. Both the owners, Eveyln and Johann are the best. The Alpenhorn is clean, beautiful and cozy. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Just when you think it couldn't get any better in the evenings they would serve hors d'oeuvres and great conversation. THIS PLACE IS FANTASTIC! Thank you Johann and Eveyln. We hope to be back soon!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Neva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdevilliers8828, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

It was our pleasure having you as guests. Thanks for the great review. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

We decided on Big Bear and find a minister......Well found Alpenhorn and Johann and perfection. The most beautiful place ever. Johann is a minister and offered to perform the wedding outside in the back yard with a stream, trees and beauty.. All went perfectly. The evening snacks and breakfast was 5 star for sure. Wonderful people and location. Felt special to be with them in their beautiful B&B.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 842leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdevilliers8828, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

What a great review, thanks! It is truly appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

My wife and I have traveled the world so we've experienced the whole spectrum of B n' B's as you can imagine, and The Alpenhorn was right at the top. The food service alone was phenomenal as Johann prepares not only a multi-course breakfast but amazing hors d' oeuvres every evening that rival a 5 star banquet's selection. topped off with a wine selection and his expert description of what you're about to taste beforehand. The room was elegant, pin-drop quiet and facing trees with hummingbirds flitting through them, plus a terrace that we didn't even need because the rear porch with the quaint wind chimes was so inviting that I did all my writing there.

Room tip: every room had views and charm
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nhorowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdevilliers8828, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

We enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

This was our first trip to Big Bear and we absolutely loved it, in large part due to staying at this B&B! The photos just hint at the lush forest setting. We loved the backyard where we felt a million miles from home, lulled into afternoon naps in the swing lounges under rustling trees full of beautiful birds. The guest rooms are very spacious and comfortable. We loved having our upstairs windows open all night while we snuggled under cozy comforters, very nice quality linens. They even gave us a quilt to use for star gazing in a dark field lakeside! The rooms feel very private and there are plenty of spaces to enjoy happy hour and meals with the other guests when you chose to. The meals were spectacular! Happy hour included good wines and hot appetizers. We, and all the other guests we spoke to, agreed the meals here had to be the best available in Big Bear. Two nights a week dinner is offered and locals fill up any spaces the B&B guests don't take, so get your reservation before arriving! I didn't and regret skipping the first night dinner. It's truly great food! We all raved about it. Johan is passionate about cooking and brings a bit of his native South Africa to the table. These Inn keepers, Johan and Evelyn, took over this B&B just last June, renovating nicely. They are doing a great job! I couldn't think of one single thing they could do better! We enjoyed hiking, sometimes right from the B&B, other times taking a short drive to popular hike sites. We walked a couple blocks to The Village for restaurants, shops and kayak rentals. Now we have seen summer, we look forward to returning to see all four seasons! We'll bring friends to Alpenhorn B&B!

Room tip: In front you avoid the outdoor dining deck sounds, but may have a bit of street noise. Pick a room by photos on the website.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cyndym_cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdevilliers8828, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thank you so much for the detailed and  GREAT REVIEW. Looking forward to welcoming you again to our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017

The most comfortable and luxurious bed, delicious meals and hors d'oeuvres. peaceful setting less than a 1/2 mile from town. We had a most memorable and magical stay. This is a place we'll return to most definitely. Thank you Evelyn and Johan.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fair17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdevilliers8828, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

What a great review, thanks! We really appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews