We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you want in a bed and breakfast.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Seal Beach
1 review
“Everything you want in a bed and breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stayed at the Alpenhorn with many members of our extended family for a holiday time reunion. It was wonderful for this kind of gathering. The rooms are great -- generously sized with nice amenities in the bathrooms (spa tub, robes etc). Everything is updated -- no funky cabin weirdness -- but still warm and rustic feeling. The layout of the place gives more privacy than some B&Bs I've stayed in. I like that most rooms have little balconies although it was snowy when we were there so we didn't use ours. The food was wonderful -- tasty breakfasts and great cookies available all day. We also appreciated the ample DVD loaner library and huge selection of games. Location is great, too. Close to the Village and about 12 minute drive from the big ski area. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    9
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
74
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Alpenhorn B&B for the weekend celebrating my birthday. This was our first visit to Big Bear Lake and we wanted to stay at not too large peaceful accomodations catering to adults and easy to get around without a car -- The Alpenhorn wasn't a dissapointment. We had the Primrose room with balcony, fireplace, shower & separate whirlpool and took advantage of everything. The balcony to sit sipping champagne and smoking my one a year birthday cigar and watching the squirrels in the trees. We especially used the fire place in the evening. We shared good conversation at a nicely prepared & displayed breakfast with other couples, visited the village, listened to music by a street band, walked through the woods collecting a few huge pine cones, visited the Discovery Center and best of all went on the the Miss Liberty boat lake tour. We ate dinner at a couple of restaurants but would highly recommend the Peppercorn Grill - The service atmosphere and food was tops and our visit to Big Bear Lake was well worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hightechexec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland Empire, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

We have stayed at Alpenhorn several times. It is our favorite get away for a quiet week end retreat. I was concerned that with the former owners, Chuck and Robbie no longer there that perhaps the quality might slip. No need to worry, new owner Linda is every bit as friendly and the service is still top notch. You will be pampered, from the oversized jacuzzi tub to the gourmet breakfast, pepare to be spoiled.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneyfreak201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alpenhorn! We arrived around 4:00pm and were greeted by Linda, the owner. After putting our luggage in the room, we went to the kitchen, where a wonderful spread of veggies, cheese, crackers, hot artichoke won-ton appetizers and wine awaited us. Everything was presented perfectly.

We had lovely dinner in town, and came back to homemade cookies and several different liqueurs to end the evening. The breakfast the next day was awesome too!

We stayed in "Snowbell" which had a nice big bathroom and was nicely furnished. We will definetely will return to Alpenhorn!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaileygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

We had an incredible time at the Alpenhorn Inn. The family that runs the inn are incredibly nice and attentive. They made our stay personal and comfortable. The breakfast is out of this world. Every morning we ate a delicious handmade gourmet breakfast that fueled us for a day of snowboarding on the mountain. At night we had wine and hors d'oeuvres and enjoyed a short walk through the neighborhood into the Village. We recommend this B&B for anyone looking for a quiet romantic getaway in an intimate and personal setting.

  • Liked — The cozy atmosphere, the personal touches, the breakfast and hors d'oeuvres, the bathtub, the close location to the village and the mountain.
  • Disliked — The noise the fireplace made when it was cooling down and the fact that the heater and the fireplace were connected.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mse2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2008

This was by far the best retreat I have ever experienced. My husband and I planned to have a quiet intimate wedding for two at the Alpenhorn (Rosebay - great room with a balcony). Linda, the Inn Keeper assisted with all the extra details; linens for the gazebo, minister, music, beauty salon, couples massages, chocolate covered strawberries, wine, and of course a fabulous breakfast and hors D'voeurs at 5 with wine. We enjoyed the amenities in our like the 8 jet whirlpool tub, balcony, and a gorgeous fireplace.
The guests at the B&B were so wonderful, one lady volunteered to play the role as mom and helped me with my dress and then if that wasn't generous enough, she took photographs of our ceremony.
I will never forget this beautiful, relaxing place. Once my husband returns from Iraq, I look forward to going back. Next time, I want to take advantage of the hiking and other outdoor activities that Big Bear has to offer.

  • Liked — gazebo, whirlpool, balcony, champagne, strawberries, and friendly staff and guests
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank romanceCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

Went to the Alpenhorn for a getaway summer weekend, and had a fantastic stay. The owner/keeper Linda was great, attentive, and provided great service. I was a bit surprised by the negative review below as we had none of those issues, and in fact had the opposite. We are city folk too, not easy to please either, but that review seems way off base.

Turn down service every evening, with nice touches like bottles of water and chocolate. Hors D'voeurs at 5, including wine and fruit. A beautiful landscaped yard that we could waste hours at a time in. Breakfast was great with 3 courses, each one amazing. The creme brulee banana oatmeal was to die for. My bf loved her homemade granola. Our room was perfect to relax in, bed comfy (very important, I hate stiff hotel beds) super clean too. Loved our private deck, and spent some time at the ping pong table as well. No doubt we will return!

  • Liked — Relaxing ambience
  • Disliked — Going home:(
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdaysalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.9 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Fawnskin
The Inn at Fawnskin
#1 of 2 in Fawnskin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 601 Knight Ave., PO Box 2912 (US Mail), CA 92315-2912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evelyn and I became the new Innkeepers on 6/22/2016. We welcome you to the Alpenhorn Bed & Breakfast Inn located in spectacular Big Bear Lake just blocks from Snow Summit, the lake and the village. Elegant, but informal this B&B has private decks, fireplaces, and seven-jet spa tubs for two and a tranquil garden. Gourmet breakfast, evening hors d'oeuvres, after dinner snacks and chocolates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhorn b&b
Alpenhorn Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing