We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
142
10
4
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
10
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ethiopian coffee gourmet breakfast squeezed orange juice bath salts wine pairing primrose room every evening welcoming hosts hors d oeuvres room was beautifully decorated delicious appetizers sous vide big bear grounds are beautiful bottled water multi course family weekend
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 162 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

Thank you so much JoHan and Evelyn for your hospitality. Had an amazing time! Took a nice vacation and was able to enjoy our time with friends and family. We loved everything on the menu and the back yard was ideal for all the kids to eat- play- eat - play.
The rooms were plenty big each with its own restroom. Very clean and comforting.
Location was perfect! We had a nice hike up to Snow Summit and close enough to the lake as well.
Will definitely be coming back soon!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdevilliers8828, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words and the great recommendation. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017

My family stayed in the cute, cozy Cottage. Alpenhorn B&B location is perfect! Close to the Village and lake. Relax outside on the front porch, enjoy the cool breeze, sip a glass of wine and read a book.

Be sure not to miss appetizers at 5:00 p.m. Johann and his wife, B&B owners, prepare a platter of tasty appetizers with the perfect wine to match or your favorite beverage. Make sure to play the "bean bag toss" in the backyard of the main house and work off your meal or relax on the double swing. If you like bird watching, this is the place to be. So many different kind.

Do not miss the gourmet breakfast each morning, which is included with your stay. Johann makes a delicious homemade oatmeal, muffins, freshly squeeze OJ and omelettes. Alpenhorn B&B will be the only place my family and I will stay from now on. Hospitality is out of this world! Plan YOUR stay here, you will not be disappointed!

Room tip: No A/C in the Cottage. Although, there are rooms available in the house, if you are planning a romantic getaway without children.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdevilliers8828, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Thank you for your review and kind words. We also enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017

From the moment we entered the house, we loved the atmosphere. Ironically it took us 4 hours to get up the mountain (usually its half that long) due to traffic. Needless to say we were exhausted from sitting in the car, yet upon opening the door to the gracious couple Evelyn and Johan. Their warm hospitable nature made us feel right at home. There was wine and hors d’oeuvres for us to enjoy. Then you can walk to their vast backyard and enjoy it, relaxing on a swing bench or just stroll wherever you want. Our room was cozy and had everything we could possibly need, including a jacuzzi tub!

Johan, is a trained chef who loves to cook gourmet meals for the guests and let me tell you, my wife have been raving about his cooking more than we do from some fancy restaurants! They hosted a 3 course dinner Saturday night, that could easily have cost 100s at a fancy restaurant, instead we dined alongside other houseguests and enjoyed an evening full of laughter, food and wine. The morning breakfasts were the best and most delicious we’ve had in a very long time.
Alpenhorn is perhaps the best B&B experience we’ve ever had. And I don’t write like this very often but it honestly was a dream staying at Alpenhorn. The owners Evelyn and Johan are beyond amazing. Their hospitality most definitely raised the bar on our expectation for future B&B’s.

The house is beyond beautiful and on top of that there is a picturesque hike right up the street from Alpenhorn that lead us to Snow Summit sky lift. We have told everyone about our stay and am now sharing it with the Tripadvisor community!! Experience this oasis of a place up in Big Bear mountain!!

Room tip: book with time to book a room with a balcony
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emmanuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdevilliers8828, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Thank you for your kind words and review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017

What a beautiful piece of property, it feels like you are miles away from others but you are actually near the main part of the city. If you are looking for a place to relax, connect with nature, and others including your hosts, this is the place for you!

I stayed here with several of my co-workers and felt like we were royalty - we felt valued and a bit pampered. Every part of the stay was perfect!

The room sizes are very generous. We stayed in June and the weather was just right during the day and a little chilly at night.

Johann and Evelyn are such a sweet couple and they truly love the Lord. The food was phenomenal and prepared from scratch. The appetizers were delicious! The chocolate chip cookies are to die for. Breakfast was way beyond what I was expecting. Johann's culinary skills are remarkable and he explains where all your food came from and how he prepared it. The quality of the food was the best that I've ever had from a bed and breakfast, or restaurant for that matter.

I highly recommend staying here when you are in Big Bear.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdevilliers8828, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

It was our pleasure having you as guests. Thanks for the great review. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

My fiancé and I stayed at Alpenhorn for a night in May. We also attended one of their dinner and wine pairing nights, which we would highly recommend doing if you get the chance. The grounds are manicured perfectly and the inside of the inn has a very cozy feel to it. Our room was very large with a king bed and there was a huge jacuzzi tub with homemade bath salts that Evelyn had made. There is a huge cabinet filled with DVDs that you can take to your room, which we thought was a nice touch.
By far, the best thing about Alpenhorn are the owners! Johanne and Evelyn are so welcoming and with their extensive travels, they are extremely fun to talk to. Johanne is a very gifted chef, which makes this place a food lovers paradise!
Alpenhorn is located right off the Main Street and you're fairly close to any attractions in town. However, once you arrive, you may find it very hard to leave!
We simply fell in love with this place and consequently decided to get married here in the fall. We know that Johanne and Evelyn are going to make it a magical event at a picturesque location!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rlieber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdevilliers8828, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Great having you as guests! Come back soon and we so appreciate the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews