We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST last minute snow getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST last minute snow getaway”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here with my two children, and we had such a wonderful time. We arrived late into this cozy little getaway, with all it's cabin "Alpine" charm. We nibbled on chocolates as we drifted off into a lovely sleep. The beds were super comfy. Everything was clean, and Linda and her staff were delightful. Breakfast was yummy.

She really went the extra step to make us feel comfortable; given that I was travelling with two children, I felt very welcomed and supported. We made friends with one of the other families there, and Linda even brought out supplies to make gingerbread houses. Such a nice pre- holiday treat for the kids. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    10
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
88
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san Diego
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We love the Alpenhorn B&B!
We have stayed there in the fall, the winter with snow, and this past Nov/Dec....no snow...but COLD! Always warm and cozy inside our room! Plus...we loved that the whole place was decorated very Christmasy!
Have gotten to know the innkeeper, Linda, and always enjoy her. *** Her breakfasts are wonderful!!*** I think the breakfasts are what I love the most about the Alpenhorn!
Thanks Linda for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently had my wedding and reception at the Alpenhorn. The Alpenhorn provides amazingly picturesque grounds for both your ceremony and receptions. All my guests raved about how beautiful it was! You have you ceremony in the private “back garden” and your reception in the beautiful front garden by a man made stream. The lighting was beautiful. Every little detail was taken care of. The inn owner, Linda, was gracious, accommodating, and extremely helpful. The inn itself if beautiful and was great for getting ready. We stayed the night before and Linda’s breakfast was delicious! The quiche she makes is to die for! I would highly recommended the Alpenhorn as a ceremony and reception venue!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Alpenhorn for a mini getaway on his days off.
The bed and breakfast is really beautiful and well taken care of. When you first arrive
you feel as if you are staying in someones house, it has a warm and comfortable feeling to it.
We have only stayed at one other bed and breakfast in the past so this was only our second experience at one it definately is a different feel then a hotel. Linda the owner and inkeeper was very nice and made us a great breakfast which we really enjoyed. I loved the fireplace in the room as well as the huge jacuzzi tub. I was expecting just a bathtub with jets but this was the largest bath/jacuzzi indoor tub I have seen indoors. If you are thinking about visiting Big Bear and want a nice, clean comfortable room this would be a great choice. Will definately visit again someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heysweetiehey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had a amazing weekend at my sister's wedding staying at the Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast. Linda (the owner) is a wonderful lady. She made everything so lovely. The food was awesome. I can't wait to go stay again with all our family. Thanks Linda for everything :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnDerBach, Owner at Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I love hosting weddings here and your sister's was especially lovely. I look forward to having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We've stayed at a lot of B&B's before and the best by far is Alpenhorn. There are many great things about this place, our room, the amazing food, and of course our generous and delightful hosts. They made us feel like family and we look forward to our next trip back to Big Bear!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Alpenhorn B&B. They are generous and really care, and we appreciated their hard work and the breakfasts were wonderful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.9 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#7 of 19 in Big Bear Region
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 601 Knight Ave., PO Box 2912 (US Mail), CA 92315-2912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evelyn and I became the new Innkeepers on 6/22/2016. We welcome you to the Alpenhorn Bed & Breakfast Inn located in spectacular Big Bear Lake just blocks from Snow Summit, the lake and the village. Elegant, but informal this B&B has private decks, fireplaces, and seven-jet spa tubs for two and a tranquil garden. Gourmet breakfast, evening hors d'oeuvres, after dinner snacks and chocolates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhorn b&b
Alpenhorn Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing