We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Staff!”
Review of Hillcrest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillcrest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
“Incredible Staff!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I cannot begin to express how awesome the staff at Hillcrest is! My toddler got car sick on the way up to the lodge and made a mess on her blanket (which she cannot live without)... The staff was kind enough to wash it for us while we walked around and had it ready on the bed when we returned. They were SO sweet! We stayed in room 8 which was pretty nice. Having a full kitchen was great to have considering there are not a lot of vegan places to eat around there. I recommend this place to anyone! It's not the Ritz but the family atmosphere is priceless. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
You are so right! The staff, Lori and Curtis, are the key. They are the best we could ever hope for. They care about every detail of our operation; cleanliness being at the very top of their priorities followed immediately by guest relations.

Your review is greatly appreciated. If there are any suggestions for us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Managing Member
Hillcrest Inn, LLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
53
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room #9 last weekend with our dogs. We weren't looking for anything special -- just happy that we could find any place at all for the July 4th holiday weekend. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. The staff was pleasant and accommodating from the beginning. As dog lovers, we were thrilled with the room. It was decorated with dog photos, had a pet dish, pet gate, and really made us feel welcome. It's pretty comfortable for people, too. There is a full kitchen, spotlessly clean and stocked with everything we needed. We love to hike and found out after we arrived that we were walking distance from a great national park and hiking trail. It's also an easy walk to the Village and the Lake. The price was reasonable for a holiday. The managers live on premises, so if they're not in the office, there is a phone number where they can be reached at any time. There's a great deck with BBQ, sand box for the kids, romantic swing, and ping pong table. The whole place was quaint and very well-kept. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your next visit we hope to earn Five-Stars across the board. Please let us know how we can do that. Any suggestions to improve are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights just this past weekend. The place looks exactly like its online pictures. The staff is very nice and the unit is VERY clean. The decor is of an old furniture feel but with current time necessities and more. We stayed in cabin 1 and it was great. All kitchen needs are there. The flat screen over the fireplace is great and had lots of channels. This was nice to have during the morning's when we would make breakfast and relax before we went out for a drive or stroll through the town. The shower is small and the shower head is small but again, it's older so unless they have a full remodel, some things are to be expected. Overall it's clean, staff is nice and the cabin is exactly what you want for staying at a little place by the lake. And definitely worth the room rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you. We really appreciate your kind words. We will see if we can install a nicer shower head but as you said, the shower size is a lot harder to change. We had a idea of cutting an opening between the dining area and the main room. What do you think? was it nice to have the privacy between the two areas or would it be better to have a more open feeling?

We want suggestions! We are striving to improve in little ways and big ways. Some one suggested there was to little greenery around the parking areas. We are working on enlarging the planting areas to add more flowers, bushes and trees.

Please let our on site manager, Lori, know when you'll be back to stay with us again. If it's available, she will be happy to upgrade your accommodations to one of our three cabins. She can't do that until the day of arrival, of course.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had the opportunity to get up for only one night, but once again, even though there are lots of options, I booked in at the Hillcrest Lodge. Quite nights sleep, comfortable, great decorating in the "horses in the barn" motif cabin plus as always, a great value. Keep up the good work. See you soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you! The"Bunk house" continues to be one of our most requested.

Number 2 has been renovated with the replacement of the old plastic (not even fiberglass) shower pan and sides. Now it's a sturdy and clean tile shower. The old vinyl flooring was replaced with tile as well. We moved the sink out of the bathroom into the bedroom area to provide more room around the shower and more convenience when 2 are using the room. The entry door has been changed so it no longer opens directly into the driveway area. Come back to see the improvements.

We have also added a kids sand box, shade canopy over the BBQ area and we have taken out several areas of asphalt in preparation for planting greenery and floors.

Any suggestions you have, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Lets start out by pointing out the obvious. This is not the Ritz Carlton. However; if you are not looking for all the bells and whistles, this is the place to stay. Very economical, super friendly and helpful staff, and not too far from the village. We have stayed here 6 times and will continue to do so. We travel to Big Bear every October and don't bother to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and taking the time to review the Hillcrest Lodge. We would love to know how we can earn a FIVE rating next visit. How can we raise the rating in the "Rooms" and "Sleep Quality" categories? If there are specific needs or suggestions, we will do our best to follow through.

Of course we can't do anything about "Location" to earn a FIVE but we are disappointed we didn't deserve a FIVE in "Cleanliness" . Please let us know if there was anything specific not quit up to snuff so we can make sure it is not overlooked in the future for any of our guests.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We wanted to have a quick stay in Big Bear and decided to stay at the Hillcrest Lodge. After our wonderful stay, we wished we had planned more time! We stayed in cabin 6 and the place was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, it was fully stocked with everything you would need, And the décor is awesome and the staff was great and very accommodating. I can usually find faults with any place I stay - but the only suggestion (not even a fault) is to install a soap dish/holder somewhere within the shower. This mountain get-a-way is really great and we will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Cabin 6 is very quiet, very clean, great décor. Nice fireplace. And the bed was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Wow! Thanks for such a great review. We are so grateful you took the time. The soap dish is definitely a good idea and will be installed along with a grab bar in the shower. If there is anything else you can think of, please share.

As far as cleanliness and friendly staff, Lori is the best manger ever and Curt lends a hand whenever a need arises. All of us appreciate knowing we are doing things right for our guests.

We hope your experience in Big Bear in general was pleasurable and relaxing. There is so much going on these days, it's worth staying a few days to take it in. As long, long time residents, we know it's the whole package that makes a vacation great. We're so glad Hillcrest Lodge was part of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hillcrest Lodge came highly recommended by a trusted friend. And we were not disappointed. We rented two cabins while on a quick trip to Big Bear with friends. This place is so cute. There is a great peaceful feeling. It is central to all that Big Bear has to offer. All the staff here were extremely polite and accommodating! The cabins are fully equipped with a large bedroom, living room area and kitchen, with the all important coffee maker! Each room and cabin is uniquely decorated with the mountain feel. Had a wonderful nights rest. We will pass this recommendation on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELODY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful remarks.

We've torn into our latest project, room number 2. The old vinyl flooring and plastic shower enclosure are gone; soon to be replaced by a real tile shower and tile flooring. We are moving the bathroom sink to make it a better set-up, replacing the carpet and repositioning the front door. Come back soon to see what we've done.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks for staying with us and sharing your review with the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#6 of 19 in Big Bear Region
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Lodge

Property: Hillcrest Lodge
Address: 40241 Big Bear Boulevard, PO Box 1872, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh paint, new wallpaper, hardwood flooring, flat-screen TVs, new linens and so much more has transformed Hillcrest Lodge into a charming and cozy get-a-way. Hillcrest is within a block of the Alpine Slide & snow play area and only a half mile from The Village and Big Bear Marina. There are restaurants, bakery and a Brewery half a block away. And the new tent venue for weddings and small concerts is just across the street. We know you'll want to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hillcrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing