We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Cabin”
Review of Hillcrest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillcrest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hillcrest Lodge and booked their Meadow View Cabin. It was spacious and very clean. My kids loved the bunk beds and backyard. It is close to the inner tubing hill and town. Management was very friendly and easy to reach. We will be staying there again this summer for our next trip to Big Bear.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you. We are in the slow season now so we will take advantage of the opportunity to make more improvements. We hope to make changes (for the better) to rooms # 1, # 2, # 8 and # 11. During the next two months, there will be dates when these rooms and maybe the room next to it will not be available. We really like adding our touch so our customers can enjoy their stay all the more.

If there are any suggestions for Lori as the operations manager or for improvements you would like to see, please let us know.

Thanks for staying with us. And thank you very much for taking the time to report your experience on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 144 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I visited Big Bear for the first time and found Hillcrest Lodge. The room was small and cozy. It had a free wi-fi which was a bit slow but worked. Location is less than 10 minutes drive to Snow Summit and across the road is a beer brewery cafe. The Big Bear Village is a good place to have a stroll/breakfast/dinner.
The room was small but was really comfortable. The bathroom was clean with the only improvement required is the flooring in the shower area. There are some parts which didn't feel solid. The water took a little while before it warmed-up but this didn't bother us. The walls were thin but we had a good rest.
Overall experience was really good.
We would definitely be back here with our kids but will book a bigger room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thanks for the input. We want all our guest to be happy and as comfortable as possible.

The shower floor is safe but feels spongy for sure. We will be taking that shower apart and rebuilding it within the next month or so. We wanted to wait for our slow season to shut down the room.

Please let us know if you noticed other things that need attention. Next time you stay with us, we hope to earn a perfect score.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hillcrest Lodge in Big Bear. Our kids loved that they had their own room, the entire family loved the fireplace (in the unit we were in), kitchen amenities and the Uniqueness of each room. We went up for Oktoberfest, which I highly recommend. We plan to head up there again soon and Highly recommend this Lodge, anytime of the year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you so much! This is our busiest time of year so we are not working on the lodge right now. When it slows down in the Spring we will tackle unit number 11 which is the one you stayed in (right?). We hope to add a half bath in the second bedroom, widen the existing bathroom door, re-decorate and replace the flooring. Susie makes the window treatments, hangs the wallpaper and does most of the painting. Rusty installs tile and does most of the carpentry work. The electrical and plumbing are left in the hands of the licensed professionals.

Spring is a great time to visit Big Bear. It's beautiful up here when there's little sun to be found anywhere else in southern California. Since unit 11 will be under construction in the Spring, maybe another unit will be a new found favorite. Hope you have a chance to enjoy unit 11 when it's finished.

As always, we owe our success to our on-site manager, Lori (& her assistant, Curtis).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I found this cozy place when we didn't like our other accommodations. It was a place that makes you want to cuddle and be romantic. A perfect size, clean and well decorated. It has a fireplace. a great kitchen and is big enough for a family. There are great places to eat, shop and play close by. We will be going back.

Room Tip: We had the cabin which is a little bigger for the family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

The on- site manager, Lori, passed on your suggestions for another night stand and additional shelving in the bathroom for toiletries. Excellent! We are very happy to hear from our guests how to make the stay better. The next guest will find both your suggestions filled. If there is anything else that comes to mind, please let us know. Thanks for staying with us. We are so glad it was cuddly and romantic.

Big Bear is beautiful in the Spring when much of southern California is suffering from the coastal gloom. Hope you will come back to enjoy our blue skies when Corona is not so sunny.

Thank you again for staying with us and for posting on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Santee, CA
1/4/2013
My Family and I have been staying in Big Bear for Summer & Fall Vacations since my Kids were born. My wife, Son-13, Duaghter-11 and myself Love Big Bear!
This year we were finally able to take a Winter Vacation and after searching on line and checking all the usual places we stay...we could not believe the prices and how un-affordable everything is that we normally do....Private House or Cabin Rentals.
We found the HillCrest Lodge on line and their rates were much more to what we were accostumed to.
We honestly were not expecting much due to surrounding rates but when we arrived, we were immediately surprised! Great Staff and a really cool little lodge.
We stayed in cabin #4 and were really pleasantly happy with our Cabin....Way Bigger and cleaner than we expected! This lodge is located about a block from the Alpine Slide Park and the Lodge sits about 100 yards from privately owned property with tons of snow slides at no cost!
Mostly, we loved the staff...The Manager and Handy Man along with an assistant never seemed to stop working! They are sooooo nice and accomedating.
Our Cabin had a full kitchen with all the basic ammenities and was very clean and just about perfect!
Wood burning fireplace, big screen TV with DVD, kitchen, dinette and bathroom all perfect!
I almost never give great reviews on anything but the HillCrest Lodge DESERVES the BEST!

WE WILL BE BACK....................SOOOOOOOOON!!!!!

Room Tip: We were able to look in several rooms while there and really...all seemed to be great for different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thanks for staying at Hillcrest Lodge and taking the time to report on TripAdvisor. The on site manager, Lori, is in deed a real gem! She is appreciated as much by the owners as by our guests. And you're right, she never seems to stop working.

As much as we try, there are things overlooked from time to time. During the busy winter season it is easy to miss a detail here and there. If there are suggestions you have, please share them. We want to make your future visits as good as, if not better, than your last one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I came back to the Hillcrest Lodge over the Thanksgiving Holiday just to spend a romantic evening sitting in front of a warm fireplace and drinking hot chocolate in a secluded cozy cabin.

It was our second time at the Lodge and again we were very satisfied with the accommodations.

The cabin had a full kitchen, breakfast nook, living room (with working fireplace), bedroom, and a wood and marble bathroom. All of which was very clean, quiet, and comfortable.

The staff was again friendly and accommodating.

The only complaint I have is that the wireless was spotty and weak. But we did come to the cabin to get away from it all, so not having wireless was OK.

I highly recommend the Hillcrest Lodge, and the next time we are in Big Bear we will again stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WearyPhotoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

We had a problem with our WiFi system but have taken steps to upgrade. For those that don't want to completely "escape", now you should not have a problem staying connected. Things are in constant need of attention at a lodge. We try to stay on top of the little and big problems but your feed-back is invaluable. Thanks for giving us the heads-up.

For the next few weeks, the lodge will be VERY busy with Holiday visitors thanks to fresh snow and great weather. We hope to keep the place running smooth. If you have any other suggestions for us, we're hopeful you'll share them.

Our goal is perfection. Knowing that's a little tough to accomplish, we want to hear from every guest how we might get closer to that goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from our weekend trip to Big Bear. Stayed at the Hillcrest Lodge and the place is great. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. I checked out a few of the rooms and all look great. Very cozy, the bed was very comfortable. I do have to say there is no hair dryer in the rooms, so bring your own. We sayed in one of the cabins for one night and the single the other. I would recomend both rooms. Very spacious. Located close to town. I would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svlorijt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty B, General Manager at Hillcrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Just returned from a little vacation myself and was reminded how significant it can be to have a warm and friendly staff greet a guest. It is great to hear Hillcrest Lodge is meeting expectations and maybe a little more. We are about to add another cabin to the mix we offer our guests. The latest will be a separate 2-bedroom cabin next door to the lodge. It is set up to sleep 6 or 7 when you include the sofa-bed. Now the lodge will have anything from a small "hotel room" to 1-bedroom with kitchenette to a full on country cabin with a neat old rock fireplace.

Next time you're back, more decking and landscaping will be in place, as well. And as for the hair-dryer? We'll have to get a few to have in the front office from those that wise to borrow ours. Thanks for the suggestion.

See ya on the slopes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
423 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Sleepy Forest Cottages
Sleepy Forest Cottages
#2 of 45 in Big Bear Region
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#8 of 19 in Big Bear Region
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Lodge

Address: 40241 Big Bear Boulevard, PO Box 1872, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $109 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh paint, new wallpaper, hardwood flooring, flat-screen TVs, new linens and so much more has transformed Hillcrest Lodge into a charming and cozy get-a-way. Hillcrest is within a block of the Alpine Slide & snow play area and only a half mile from The Village and Big Bear Marina. There are restaurants, bakery and a Brewery half a block away. And the new tent venue for weddings and small concerts is just across the street. We know you'll want to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hillcrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing