We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a restaurant in BigBear”
Review of Sweet Basil Bistro

Sweet Basil Bistro
Ranked #11 of 123 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant in BigBear”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I had another great dinner at SBB last Sunday night. We shared a light dinner of Garlic Fritters (a unique variation on garlic bread), Portabello Mushroom & Artichoke Salad and the night's Pizza Special. This is a gem destination for fine food in Big Bear! Our 2nd visit and will be coming back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    35
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gourmet Excellence”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We didn't expect much when we pulled over to get a quick bite before our drive back to LA, so you can imagine our delight when our meals arrived and we took our first bites of heaven. The soup was so flavorful and my curry chicken sandwich was the best I ever had and my friend said the portobello mushroom sandwich was beyond delicious. It was supposed to be a quick stop, but the food was so good we took our time and savored every bite. The prices were also good and we felt we'd found a hidden treasure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelSecrets78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little Bistro in Big Bear”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We found Sweet Basil Bistro on the iWant iPhone app. Read the yelp reviews, called, made reservations and were very pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent, the service was wonderful and the atmosphere cozy. We had the specialty filet and lobster which was done to perfection with great flavor. Filet was very tender, the lobster succulent and the vegetables cooked just right. The caesar salad was also good. For dessert we had the molten lava cake which is one of my wife's favorites and this place does it like it should be done with lots of oozy warm chocolate in the center and light and fluffy cake with a dark chocolate topping. Their specialty dessert is a basket of warm mini doughnuts lightly sugared presented with 3 dipping sauces of chocolate, caramel and raspberry. We were there with our adult daughter and her husband and we all went back the next night, after our mediocre dinner elsewhere, just to have the desserts...they were that good. Next time we visit Big Bear for the weekend we will definitely eat here twice. We have recommended this place to all our friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is kind of hidden if you are not familiar with the area. Small restaurant with delicious food! We went with the kids so it got a bit expensive but it's a great place for couples!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clippers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were staying at the Inn at Fawnskin and inquired about a place for dinner. Sweet Basil was one of the Innkeepers favorites and it did not disappoint. It is hidden under the bowling alley and yet once you open the door your in a quaint bistro. We did not have reservations and if you go on a weekend you may want to call and make a reservation. They are a cozy resturant so you otherwise may have to wait a bit. We were lucky and were able to get a very nice table with out a reservation the night we went. The waiter was very friendly and the food was very very good. I had the beouf bougionne and my husband had the Gorgonzola stuffed Filet. Both were delicious and we would certainly go again given the chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardenmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil Bistro also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Sweet Basil Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing