We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but pricey”
Review of Log Cabin Restaurant - CLOSED

Log Cabin Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Big Bear Lake, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Food but pricey”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A long time ago, I used to eat here all the time when visiting Big Bear. On this trip, we were the only ones there (traveled during slow period now that I'm retired) and I loved the food and the friendly service. The food server was really nice and helpful and I ordered something vegetarian and my girlfriend had somekind of Eggs Benedict. Great food as I remembered it, but a little surprised this time by the price. A typical breakfast for two may run a little over $30.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    5
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good for what it is...”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Ate breakfast here twice on a recent trip - its good for what it is - the breakfast menu is the usual short-order type - pancakes, eggs, bacon, toast, etc. Also had some German influenced menu items for breakfast - Brautwurst, German sausage, German potato pancakes etc. More or less an IHOP or Denny's type of place but with a lot more charm - no chain affiliation either. Parking lot seemed to only have 5 spaces so may not always be easy to park there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MachThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beignets, German Sausages, Apple Pie”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a gem of a place in the quieter part of town. They have the perfect menu for cold weather. The soup is worth a try, too! The atmosphere is that of an old time lake cabin restaurant, not fancy but nice, friendly service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeSoCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Not the same Log Cabin Restaurant that I remember”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I don't know if it was several large parties arriving at the same time or if it has gone down hill. Our party was 8 people. The restaurant did accommodate us pretty fast - the food wasn't a good as I've had it in previous years back. We had a few people that order a basic meal and didn't get it for at least 10 min after everyone else did. The price for breakfast was a little pricey for what you get. The service wasn't a hit and miss. I used to love to eat breakfast here...but after this last time, I will not be running back to fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darcy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and Santa to boot!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My friend from the UK and I were on a motorcycle road trip. We took 38 and then around the north side of Big Bear Lake. We decided to have a late breakfast and came upon the Log Cabin Restaurant. What a delight! The gal that was serving us, Kathy, was really warm and welcoming and the food was delicious. If you time it right, you might even get a sighting of Father Christmas while you're there... it was a wonderful and memorable meal!! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Restaurant also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Region, CA
Fawnskin, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing