We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Cozy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timber Haven Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Timber Haven Lodge
Imperial,Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

We absolutly loved Timber Heaven Lodge!!! It was our first time there, but I'm are sure we'll come back soon.

The Owners and staff were so friendly. They really make you feel at home. My husband and I were so impressed at the cleanliness and my god!!!!......the pressed and starched sheets???!!! Not even in the most luxurious hotels!

The spa was nice and toasty, the expanded continental breakfast they offer is more than the usual 'continental breakfast' at other places, the cabin was very clean, in the kitchen we found everything we needed and more....it was spotless!.

Location was great because The National Forest is practiclly across the street so we went walking and hiking, smelling the fresh air and enjoying the scenery. It is also very convenient because nearby you have The Village and all the shopping and Restaurants.

We were sad to leave Timber Haven...it was a super mini-vacation and like I said at the beginning of my review...I'm sure we'll come back soon!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and warmth.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbvv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

I feel the urge of posting a review on this place, as I selected it
based on the great reviews I had read on this site but ended up
being disappointed with our trip.

Overall, I agree with the positive comments about the hosts
kindness and the quiet location away from the busy street.
It is located steps away from a nice forest where we walked and
played in the snow with our toddler.

However, I have the same complaint as another review
posted here, so beware if you are considering this place
during the winter time: there is a draftiness in the room and
the heater has 2 problems: it is not central so it only warms up
the one room it is in, other rooms (bathrooms especially)
were freezing cold, and its other problem is it makes the air
super dry to the point that it woke us up at night (super
dry sinuses). I remember dreaming about an air humidifier.
Plus there are no curtains in some bedrooms, so it was
too bright overnight.
In short: we really did not sleep well in this place and ended
up going home 1 day early (slept 3 nights out of 4 reserved).
Side note: Breakfast is just average.
Would not return.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — comfort (room was cold and dry, and too bright at night)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sibenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

We went on a Spring skiing trip in March and we really enjoyed our stay at the Timber Haven Lodge. Our children loved the cabin atmosphere and the activies that were available. They also have good movies that you can check out. I picked up a book to read in their small book selection. The cabins are fully equiped with a kitchen and they served a nice continental breakfast in the morning. I also liked being able to park right outside our cabin. The hosts were quite friendly and helpful . I would highly recommend a stay there, I know that we are going to return.

  • Liked — Atmosphere and value
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lucilaandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Descanso, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

We stayed at Timber Haven Lodge for two weekends last August and were very impressed with both the hospitality of the hosts and the accommodations. The cottage had every detail planned out to be both useful and homelike. There is a full size refrigerator, 4 burner stove and oven, besides the usual kitchen items. There is even a chair by the fridge to set groceries down to put them away. We were very comfortable and had everything we needed. We were touched by the immediate friendliness to us. The location is off the busy road and quiet.

  • Liked — friendliness of hosts and practicality and appeal of the cottage
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrscalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

We originally reserved the lodge in October, but it was during the dates when Lake Arrowhead was on fire. The closest fire was 8 miles away from Big Bear, so we decided to change the dates. Called the owner the night before and was able to change the stay to November with a $50 fee. He did say that the fire did not affect them at all since the wind was blowing away from Big Bear. My wife and I just don't want to take the chance with nature.

The lodge front sign was hidden by a small bush/tree coming from Old Mill road. We passed by it the first time. The grounds are very nice just like the pictures on their website. The cabin is very very clean with a well stocked kitchen. I do not really care for the pink colored wall in the bathroom, but again it is extremely clean. There is a TV with DVD player and VCR combo. We were offered a free DVD on the house, but we saw most of the movies already.

The owners are very nice. We had a little chat and they recommend to us some restaurants. Cowboy Express is a very nice Steak and Seafood restaurant by the way. We had fun with the ping pong table even though it was a little broken at the time. At night it was extremely quiet.

We took advantages of their website Fall special and it was a steal if you can stay there on the weekdays.

  • Liked — Everything is very clean.
  • Disliked — Pink bathroom wall.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Need
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

My family and I were looking for a fairly inexpensive, quiet get away and boy did we find it! We felt welcome the minute we set foot on the property. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained and our cabin was clean and inviting. If you have children, this is a GREAT place to stay. There was a small playground right outside our door, an open courtyard, a ping pong table, and a jacuzzi. Our five year old and two year old loved spending time outside in the evenings. The owners were warm and friendly. We chatted with them every night. They came to see how our stay was, warmed the jacuzzi for us, and offered up their best barbeque. They felt just like family. The Timber Haven Lodge is relaxing, comfortable, quiet, and kid friendly. The owners obviously take pride in their property and enjoy making their guests feel right at home. We will DEFINITELY return next year.

  • Liked — The customer service.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

Timber Haven is the perfect cabin lodge. Next to biking and hiking trails. Very quiet since it's off the main street, no car noise. The landscaping was imacculate. Our cabin #3 was perfect and very clean. Reservations were easy to make and the owners are a very thoughtful couple calling us immediately that we had forgotten some items in the room. Can't wait to go back to beautiful BB.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBearTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.8 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Hillcrest Lodge
Hillcrest Lodge
#1 of 45 in Big Bear Region
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Haven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Haven Lodge

Property: Timber Haven Lodge
Address: 877 Tulip Lane, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Haven Lodge, in Big Bear Lake, CA is a four season destination for leisure and relaxation. Offering you the finest lodging within steps of the San Bernardino National Forest, away from noise and traffic it is located within minutes of shopping, restaurants, theaters, ski areas and Big Bear Lake. We treat our guests as family and tend to their every need from 24 hour room service and in-room massage to wireless internet connection and cable TV. Enjoy the fresh mountain air and seclusion of our cabins on your next getaway. At Timber Haven Lodge experience comfort and charm of a bed & breakfast with service and amenities of a first class hotel. Romantic cabins, seclusion, long list of amenities, and unparalleled service make Timber Haven Lodge an ideal year-round vacation destination for singles, couples and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Timber Haven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Haven Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing