We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Oldie but goodie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Captain's Anchorage Restaurant and Bar

The Captain's Anchorage Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #26 of 117 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Historic Big Bear is alive at the Captain's Anchorage----complete with a ghost named George.The restaurant has been a tradition in Big Bear since 1946. Originally called the Sportsman's Tavern, the Captain's Anchorage has enjoyed visits by Hollywood celebrities, weathered fires, and has hosted gambling and the ghost of a former employee.Today, the rustic stone and log building invites guests to enjoy a good meal in a comfortable atmosphere. Enjoy cocktails and appetizers in the Andy Devine bar, or stay for dinner in the dining room. Every meal comes with the soup and salad bar, even the under $20.00 dinners.Visit the website for the menu and for more stories about the history of Big Bear and the Captain's Anchorage Restaurant.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Oldie but goodie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had dinner here on our recent trip and it was defiantly somewhere we will return to. I had the prime rib on the under $20 menu and hubby had the highly recommended by the waiter fresh Halibut blackened. The Halibut was delicious and I almost wished I had ordered it as well but it was good to both have something different to share. Dinner come with soup and sald bar and warm bread. It's a fun place with friendly people and great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gardenmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    37
    17
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watsonville, CA
Level Contributor
210 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Old fashion service and ample meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Even their under $20 meals are more than enough. The great service takes you back to the days when restaurants spoiled the customer. Full bar, cozy atmosphere, great food. Don't miss it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank meade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Puente, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Place up the Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Highly recommend this place for romantic dinners and celebrating anything. Great salad bar with soup too. Service amazing. Food always very good. The ambience is warm and relaxing. Warning though if you are an oversized person such as myself the chairs are tight. Ask for one with open sides. They are understanding and accommodating. So many choices to eat. Listen for the ghost oooooo!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somis, CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good, Nothing to write "Home"about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been here several times, we go to Big Bear often, saw the Yelp coupon & tried again. Service is good, food is good, Not Great. Like the funky, old, charm. We love Big Bear & know this place could be it's #1 charm! Keep tryin!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Avocado-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Costa, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ok....good and so so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming here for years. It's always average as far as food, wonderful for service except the grouchy hostess. Servers and bartenders are very personable. There's a small salad bar which is nice. I get the salmon, husband the steak. Always the same ....average. This place is a favorite of one of my old friends so we do go every few months. A little over priced for the quality in my opinion, but it's convenient and very woodsy inside and dimly lit. Kind of nice like that. They do take reservations as we have made them. The parking lot is easy to access but it can get icy as it is shaded and it gets slick.

Helpful?
Thank Bethannsd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain's Anchorage Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to The Captain's Anchorage Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing