We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE! Worst sleep ever. Too many spiders.”
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Forest Lodge
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I think my title sums it up. We arrived at night in the summer to find that our cabin was freezing cold. Not too bad of a thing. The bathroom had a ton of spiderwebs everywhere. The bed was rock hard and super thin. When i complained, they added a very thin padding, and it didnt help at all. When we went and bought drinks to bring back, we noticed the mini fridge was unplugged and had sopping wet towels in it from defrosting it. The place was unclean and the blinds were horrible. Every morning being woke up from a horribly uncomfortable sleep to the blinding sun in my eyes, is not my idea of a relaxing birthday weekend. Boo on this place. I will not be reccommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGandEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Black Forest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

Walked upstairs and found a bannister broken in half but wrapped with a plastic shopping bag; pushed a little and it would create a hole large enough for one of my kids to fall through resulting in a 12 foot drop. Kept a good eye on kids.
- Coffee maker had not been cleaned; just poured out. Dried coffee in bottom still.
-Cleaned coffee maker and couldn't find filters (?!) Was told later that people in Big Bear didn't expect the providing of filters. I know this is a big expense....
-The temperature inside was low 60's and dropping. We have two small kids and tried to turn up temp. Pilot light was out. Room rules stated "Do Not attempt to light pilot in heater...call front desk for assistance." Wife dials 0 and waits....and waits...no one picks up. I light pilot light and get heater operating. Told lady at front desk during check out and she kept repeating that my wife didn't know how to use the phone correctly. Seeing that my wife is a real estate agent w/ Blackberry, following correct phone directions is not an issue. But this lady was adamant that my wife didn't dial correctly and that someone was there to answer the phone.
-No paper towels, inadequate plate ware, no hand towels nor bath mat.
I will never recommend this place to anyone and will advise against it. The lady at the front desk remained unapologetic and passed blame. You paid your money..so what attitude.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fyrecherdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Worst place ever!!!....even though it's cheap don't stay there, not worth it....motel 6 would b better....this place is very out dated and has NO A/C!!! .....if ur friends recommended this place to u, they're not a good friend....BUT if u insist on staying there ask to check the room first....we ended up in a room next to the blvd. And it was soooo noisy it was ridiculous....we couldn't even sleep with the fan on cuz it made soooo much noise, again NO A/C!!!.....all these bad reviews can't b wrong....

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

It sounds much better then it really is, the staff is very nice but that's it. If you have a fetish for spiders - go there!! Otherwise --- stay away. The beds are terrible along with everything else!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonjonjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Its not the Belagio but its clean and very friendly! i had a wonderful experience! I stayed for 3 weeks in 2 different rooms and both were cozy and clean. i have recommended it to all my friends and family and will be returning in July. Thank you Black Forest Lodge!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

A friend recommended this hotel to me. It looked decent from the pictures online. When I got there, I felt like I was going to throw up. The soap was already opened and the toilets have human waste and was obviously not cleaned. In the bathroom, there was a black widow. There was old food in the fridge. The beds felt like wires that were stained with fluids. There was a drive-through check-in. It was so bad, I had to say my father was in the hospital to get out of staying another night. I went to the Northwoods Hotel, which is the same price, but is very luxurious. DO NOT STAY AT THE BLACK FORREST LODGE.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ericmoney905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

we stayed at kleine house, black forest lodge and it was perfect.
clean,warm, great location, very helpful staff.......

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debyasdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.2 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Wood Cottages
Castle Wood Cottages
#5 of 13 in Big Bear Lake
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embers Lodge and Cabins
Embers Lodge and Cabins
#3 of 13 in Big Bear Lake
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
#35 of 45 in Big Bear Region
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
#7 of 45 in Big Bear Region
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Lodge

Address: 41121 Big Bear Blvd, P.O.Box 1726, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $56 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Forest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World Famous Black Forest Lodge has been providing memorable vacations to fit any size group or budget for over 30 years. With cabins, motels, family chalets and homes we can make your next trip to Big Bear a fantastic experience. Enjoy cozy honeymoon suites with in room spas and our exclusive micro spa for a haircut massage or a little self indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Forest Lodge And Jacuzzi Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing