We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Homey..Cozy”
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Forest Lodge
Laguna Beach
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Homey..Cozy”
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was in a great area, we could walk downtown. There was an awesome bbq restaurant across the street. The Rooms have balconies, fireplaces, nice king size bed. It was clean and comfy!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Lagoooonagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    22
    12
    33
See reviews for
33
60
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2006

Paid $60 with tax got a great deal on a saturday night in month of December. It's a pretty cozy place. My complaint is that the heater didn't even turn on and had to rely on the gas fireplace which was annoying because you can hear it while sleeping. The bath tub was fludded. Don't expect shampoo and conditioner because they only provide soap. Overall, i think it's not so bad for the price paid for. Although did noticed the sheets were old and worn out bed.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank candy722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Calif.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2005

We rented a jacuzzi suite on the recommendations of the Big Bear Lake Chamber of Commerce, ( not knowing at the time they made money on our decision).....The price was high but sounded like the special getaway my wife had asked for for her Birthday. The facility looks in need of repairs,-poor Paint, - maintenance, etc. ---Once in the room we discovered - the bed sheets, pillows, blankets...all smelled DIRTY, sort of like an unwashed sleeping bag ! - The blinds on the windows were too narrow and left a 6 inch gap from top to bottom that allowed everyone that passed by to see into the room,- Bar countertop was sticky and dirty--The gas fireplace barely had a visible flame,- the thermostat for the wall heater didnt work properly, elec. outlet in the bathroom was faulty, ((Things we could accept for a 74.00 a night room, ))--but UN-ACCEPTABLE for a 174.00 a night room, --Also could not find anyone to voice our opinion to in the morning when we checked out, Had to leave the keys un-attended and hope no one else picked them up.....We wont make this mistake again !

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
17 Thank kencan1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 21, 2005

we ended up here on a snowy night. my kids have a wonderful memory, the jacuzzi tub, the balconies, the lobby with the coffee and piano and fireplace. we plan yearly vacations here now!!!
walking distance from great eateries and even an auto parts store across the street.

san diego

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2004

We were having trouble finding a place in Big Bear that did not have a min. stay required, and also allowed pets. This was the only place we could find, so we booked it.

The location was great, as was the price of $95 per night. It's minutes from town and from the lake, but I would not recommend this motel. The sliding glass doors were difficult to opperate, and I did not feel secure sleeping at night. The room did not feel very clean. It smelled of cat, and the sheets were pilly and quite dreadful.

It's not the worst place I've seen, and in a pinch, is okay for a cheap place to stay... But, you can probably do better...

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Trippy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 12, 2004

I stayed here one night at the begining of november...this motel (it has cabins too) was much better then i expected! i stayed in a motel room, it was spacious, had an adorable cozy gas fireplace, nice bathroom with great shower. it was just blocks from both the montains. my only complaints were no shades to block out sunlight and bight light at night on windows, and there was a plastic cover over matress which made lots of noise and pillows were not the best!! i only payed $49 for the room (monday night) so i was willing to overlook some of these problems!! (it would be another story if i pay a lot...) overall, great extremely COZY motel that looked better than any other motel in town. and if you're looking for a fantastic american restaurant to eat dinner at Cowboys was exellent (steaks at potatoes). definally worth a try!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.8 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Lodge

Property: Black Forest Lodge
Address: 41121 Big Bear Blvd, P.O.Box 1726, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Forest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World Famous Black Forest Lodge has been providing memorable vacations to fit any size group or budget for over 30 years. With cabins, motels, family chalets and homes we can make your next trip to Big Bear a fantastic experience. Enjoy cozy honeymoon suites with in room spas and our exclusive micro spa for a haircut massage or a little self indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Forest Lodge And Jacuzzi Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing