We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite getaway!!”
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Forest Lodge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite getaway!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Black forest lodge is amazing. I've now stayed in seven different rooms and I'm always impressed. The Jacuzzi cabins are great if you want to have a relaxing romantic getaway with your loved one. One big plus for me is every room has a fireplace. Perfect for snowy weather. This is now my favorite escape from reality.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarlinNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    22
    12
    32
See reviews for
32
60
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stumbled upon this place by chance last week. And I was actually pleasantly surprised. This place is perfect for the winter, the rooms are so cozy. We lit up the fireplace and made smores.My kids loved it, and I didn't have to spend much; which is a miracle unto itself.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Perfect atmosphere, quiet, amazing staff. The hot tub was clean, and loved the views from the balcony. Was surprised someone was there to check me in at 2am! No one else was.

Room Tip: Pick the hot tub, worth it ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We will be back in the winter and next summer and we will stay here again (if they have any openings). Loved the cabin we stayed in "Kozy". Nice big bed, spa in the room, and the front desk people were always so friendly and helpful. I had read some of the other reviews (about spiders and bugs) BUT BELIEVE ME THERE WERE NONE the whole three days we were there. Keep in mind there are beautiful trees all around you...which make the setting so much more prettier and woodsy feeling.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug-Vickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

this was a blessing. We shall never forget it. Just to be clear, this was a fall back place, and saved our vacation. Thank God for the place! We are actually coming back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy-camper851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diago
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

we were bumped from our planned hotel and thought this place looked fabulous. we got an upstairs room that faced the street. Walking up the stairs to the room there was trash in the bushes. t was a hot week in big bear and this place was just as hot due to no ac. no problem - we thought - we will keep the balcony doors open - wrong! it was so noisy that we could not get to sleep till almost midnight. at about two am a couple drunks decided to fight it out on the sidewalk below our room!... we finally got to sleek and were awakened at 6am by a guy with a leave blower. we tried the pool, but it was not heated and it was FREEZING. the room was dirty and both couches had broken legs. the carpet was old and worn and the only unbroken chair had a cigaret burn on the seat. I can see this place must have been nice in the past,but what a dump. if there are Germans that own this place you should be ashamed!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

Fawnskin, California
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

What a horrible experience… this place may have some good prices, but that is all it really has going for it… let’s start with the lobby, not only did it take 20 minutes to be assisted while I was stuck waiting you have the wonderful smell of cat pee and old nasty puke that fills the room…After my wait, I finally received some assistant to help me … that was not too pleased to do so… very rude and crabby… (I don’t care if you are having a bad day or not, you do not take it out on a customer giving you some business) once I had my room paid and key in hand I got terrible directions to find my room and was stuck walking around looking for the correct room… I walk in to my room excited to get settled in to get ready for a dip in the pool…. Oh boy my hopes dropped down immediately, to start when entering that room, it was very cramped. It was hard for two people to walk around and get settled in, the walls and everything in the room was disgustingly dirty like it was never cleaned up. Are you enjoying your stay yet? Cause I wasn’t. I came back to rinse off from the pool and the shower doors were broken. They would not close well…. Looking around while in the shower I noticed bugs were everywhere … its summer small amount is no big deal but I soon realized later there are more bugs in this room than there were outside …. I showed up with not one bug bite on me. When I left I had about 20 and a horrible rash on my neck… the service desk was the cherry on the cake to a horrible stay. I even the blankets and pillows were dirty with an odd smell. It’s late at night, sometime after midnight I’m exhausted and just would like to go to sleep but can’t because of the people below are blasting their music and partying being very disrespectful to others at this hotel. Calling to have the problem fixed is worthless nothing gets taken care of… I had to just deal with it….

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.8 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
636 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Lodge

Property: Black Forest Lodge
Address: 41121 Big Bear Blvd, P.O.Box 1726, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Forest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World Famous Black Forest Lodge has been providing memorable vacations to fit any size group or budget for over 30 years. With cabins, motels, family chalets and homes we can make your next trip to Big Bear a fantastic experience. Enjoy cozy honeymoon suites with in room spas and our exclusive micro spa for a haircut massage or a little self indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Forest Lodge And Jacuzzi Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing