We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
109
46
14
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
46
14
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski trip jacuzzi fireplace bear sink cathy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 175 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

The prices are fair, and judging from the reviews you expect a lot, however, we had cottage 18, which is right next to the office, not that it is noisy or anything, but the exterior is not really cosy.
Inside it is dark and very outdated. Instead of heat in the living room, the heat only goes upstairs. Also I was worried about the heating system that it would caught fire as it was a very old and open heating system in the attic. The Shower was terrible, you had to catch the drops to get wet. the kitchen is spartanic equippet. If you are with just two as a couple I guess its ok, or just for one night (as we did) however with kids it is a bit challanging.
I think, unlike they say that 201 is the only outdated one, a lot of them are. I would certainly recommend they update al outdated ones. looking at the management pictures this was not like ours looked at all. If they would like to have everyone that great experience they better update all of them

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank DoRina212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017

My wife and I visited on a Monday and stayed two nights. It was very quiet and peaceful. Our cottage was clean and comfortable with rock gas fireplace, jet tub, flat screen tv, stand-up shower and kitchen area with fridge, coffee maker and micro wave. Location is approx. one mile east of the village and the property is located a very short walk behind the McDonald's Restaurant which is on the main drag. There are a number of other eating places that are convenient as well such as the Grizzly Manor, very small, locals and huge breakfast that we split between us. The Grizzly Manor is also open for lunch but not dinner. We also had dinner at Casa Sonora which was adequate for Mexican food and about a three block walk from the property. The lake and good sized park are located a short walk from the cottages. Only cons were that the bed was okay but somewhat "flimsy frame motel like", the refrigerator did not have a temperature control knob that we could find and our items froze, if using the jet-tub you need to start filling it about 30 minutes prior to wanting to bathe as the water pressure is very adequate, the tub itself is huge. The first night there was obvious problems with the cable tv and the majority of the channels would pixelate however that did not happen the second night. Overall it was very relaxing and we would book this property again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017

Wifey and I stayed this past weekend in the #1 Sleepy Cottage. Wood burning fireplace, Jacuzzi, full clean kitchen and two T.V.'s. The 3 day / 2 night weekend began long before we arrived, the kind and friendly staff member "Mark" was happy to answer any and all questions over several phone calls and emails to ensure our trip was perfect for us. The office lady Cathy greeted us with a bottle of champagne because they knew it was my wife's birthday. The cottage was close to all the best restaurants and shopping area in the Village. I recommend taking the Riverboat tour on the Liberty boat. We didn't want to leave, and we will be back for sure.

Room tip: Our room was nice, so Sleepy Cottage #1 should do the trick
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017 via mobile

One night at the cottage was amazing. The jet was great. It is quiet and convenient to everything. Moreover, they have basic cooking ware in the cottage! Makes things so much easier. Want to come back again!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank itsmeying
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

We planned for this vacay for weeks... by the time we decided on the actual dates it was almost a 4-day weekend so lodging was sky-rocketing in all the resorts we wanted to stay. Then, the weather forecast says something about storm coming to SoCal??? Perhaps it was all these that prompted our decision. Needless to say, we booked Cottage #5 - Old Farmer Cottage at Sleepy Forest Resorts in Big Bear Lake, CA. It was a very a good choice, both for the timing and the accommodations.

First, Sleepy Forest Resorts location was awesome!!! It is surrounded by Pine trees, and the cabins or cottages were arranged as if you are in a community yet maintains the singularity of it. I like the little pathways between cabins and the parking was very good - we actually parked right in front of our cottage! It is near everything - restaurants, shopping, parks, ski slopes and driving in & out to the main thoroughfare was a breeze. The resort was beyond our expectation. There were only the 3 of us, yet our cottage #5, was very comfortable - too homey, it was almost impossible to leave it. We had a kitchenette which was very nice since we like to prepare breakfast and quick-snacks. The stove/oven we used for our soups & bread-baking. There was a microwave, bread toaster and small refrigerator for our drinks. It also came with pots & pans and china & silver wares. The bath had 3 shower heads which was very much liked by us and clean and roomy for our space. We love the fireplace! We can say it was the focal point of our stay since we had a storm during our stay ... and it was just wonderful to watch the snow coming down from our patio!!! We also had wifi which made my son happy as it kept him connected with his world in spite of being in the forest. Yes, we definitely felt we were inside a forest with all the Pine trees and the snow!

Second, the snow storm. This was the bonus! Sleepy Forest Resorts definitely is the best place to be when it snows in Big Bear Lake. The scenery was just splendid! Pine trees were dressed in white powder ... so were the roofs of the cabins! The ground was sparkling white and the staff should be commended with a very good job maintain the pathway clear! In the evening, the resort was illuminated with the lights from every pathway between cabins/cottages that it was just a sight to behold.

We would definitely come back and bring family & friends.

Thank you so much for a wonderful, relaxing vacation.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnj-bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews