We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleepy Forest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Farmhouse family cabin and not only was it clean and comfortable - it had all the little extras that other places don't seem to care about anymore! There were matching dishes, and mugs along with a drawer-full of silverware and cooking utensils. And there were plenty of pots and pans. They even have a jacuzzi tub. They thought of everything and you didn't feel "nickeled and dimed". The people are really nice and make you feel welcome. The office sells logs for the fireplace if you are interested. They even have free movie rentals, Wi-Fi, and parking. What more could you ask for? You really feel like the owners care and you are getting your money's worth. Don't miss this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimt333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    35
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west of england
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent 13 nights at Sleepy Forest, the room was big enough for that amount of time and, let's face it, if you are spending a lot of time in your room in this area, then you are definitely in the wrong place!
The whole property is very well looked after and generally very peaceful. It was a novelty for us to witness a raccoon "domestic" outside our window one evening, with a large raccoon walking right past us after his altercation in our yard.
Everyone was so helpful and we had lots of recommendations for things to do and places to go. Sadly, we didn't have an SUV so our trips were limited somewhat but next time there'll be no stopping us - Butler Peak is first on the list for next year! As promised, Josh, the cookies will be on their way this week!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luxuryaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fircrest, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our family went to Big Bear for the holiday weekend and really enjoyed ourselves in the farmhouse at Sleepy Forest. Josh was kind enough to bring over a BBQ grill for us to grill out on our porch. The farmhouse was super cute and best of all, we were able to bring our dog with us.
Thanks for a wonderful stay. We eyed a couple of cabins of theirs for me and my husband to come back to. :).
The lake is a super short walk and everyone is so friendly. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmberLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

there are alot of places in big bear that have cabins, so its kinda hard to choose, but we picked sleepy forest cottages because they looked really cute, so we reserved the family cabin, because of the full kitchen, even though it was only my husband and I, we got there about 12:30, checked right in, and the cabin was actually around the corner in a residential area, so it didnt even feel like you were at a hotel, we walked in and it was great! full living room , 2 bedrooms, great hot tub in the backyard, it felt as if we were at our home , but in the woods, the owners live right across the street, and its a short way from the lake, and close to town, so if your looking for a romantic getaway, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: the family cabins are on a separate street from the smaller cabins,, so if you want more of a feel l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Found Sleepy Forest Cottages by looking on Tripadvisor after unsucessfully searching the Big Bear website. Sure, there are things that could be improved but for the price this was a great place. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive and interested in what you'd done and where you'd been.

We stayed in a family cabin, not with an open fire, but a log effect gas fire and gas hot air heating. No jacuzzi either, but it mattered not to us. Ate in 2 nights and out at Teddy Bear's once.

A magical few days, walked loads of trails; Champion Lodgepole (difficult to find along dirt roads) and Bluff Mesa, Castle Rock (absolutely superb) as was Cougar Crest and Bertha Peak and the Woodland Trail near the Discovery Centre. Information about trails and how to get them could have been better, perhaps Sleepy Forest could stock and sell trail maps and provide information about the Recreation Pass that is needed when parking.

This is our first time in Big Bear, we're here from the UK (Kent) having a few days away from staying with our son and his fiancee in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepyforestcottages, Manager at Sleepy Forest Cottages, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello, thanks for the review, we are glad you had an overall good time. We are always reading reviews and asking guests to let us know while here what they think. We get many requests for information on hiking, trails, and many other activities, which is why we have our free area maps here in the office, and our concierge book that includes trail maps and hiking/activity info. We hope to see you again! Thanks, Josh P., Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family stayed in a 2-bedroom cabin and had a great time. The cabin was clean an the staff was great! There was a bsck yard area that was full of snow and the kids enjoyed making a snowman. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desert_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with a family of 4 in a cabin called southern comfort for 2 nights and it was the perfect getaway. There was snow on the ground outside and a hot tub in the back. The whole thing was very nicely decorated and was great to come back to after a day hunting for snow to play and sled in. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneyfreak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#7 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Forest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Forest Cottages

Property: Sleepy Forest Cottages
Address: 400 S Eureka, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepy Forest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 30 years in Big Bear, since 1/22/80. Our family pioneered the popular Jacuzzi Bath in front of the Fireplace in 1985, asking, "Romance, when was the last time?" The Pool Family invites you to stay in the nicest family lodges around. Sleepy Forest Cottages - the original Studios, Suites, Jacuzzi Rooms and Family Cabins, Cathy's Cottages - Our most romantic Jacuzzi Bath-Tub Honeymoon Suites, or our New Vacation Home Rentals - Walking distance from the ski slopes, on the lake, or backed-up to the woods, featuring Full-Size Spa's, pool tables, foosball tables, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleepy Forest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Forest Cottages Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing