We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable and courteous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We recently spent 7 days at this lovely hotel and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Big Bear Lake. The staff was helpful and courteous and would always inquire if they could be of help. Our room was exceptionally clean. Prior to our visit, we had read some negative reviews, and, almost changed our reservation. I am so glad that we did not change because we did not find any of the negativity or complaints to be justified. This hotel is convenient to snowboarding and skiing sites, as well as, the lake; however, not within walking distance. The complimentary breakfast was very adequate, well prepared, and nicely presented. Pricing was appropriate and reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 683 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

Coming in welcome by friendly staff, cosy settings. I said to myself, this looks like a great location. Checked in and finally went to the room, I was suddenly less impressed.
Anyway, the problem with the hotel is there is noise coming from water flow in the pipe/plumbing system. The noise comes on and off with peak and valleys. Me and my wife pretty much could not sleep at all. The next morning, we checked with our friends and they told us they heard similar noise although it seems their room was not as bad as ours.
Either bring you earplug or Bose headset but for $165/night, I am sure they are better value in Big Bear.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Best Western Big Bear Chateau and Frat House. No kidding! I've written drafts of this post several times but had to start over as I was still so ticked off. What can I say? I should have paid closer attention to previous reviews from my Tripadvisor brothers and sisters before I went, as this problem was previously noted.

OKAY, BIG WARNING......this hotel books fraternity events at this site and then also books poor, unsuspecting families, like mine (and others). Two nights of no sleep listening to the music, barfing, arguing, from these frat boyz and their less than classy girlfriends. Police called second night, fire department here after fire alarm was pulled twice (hilarious frat joke, if you're 5 YO, I'm sure), and people passed out in the hallways, public make outs, nudity. Hot tub was uninhabitable by sober humans. I could go on and on. Staff was useless the first night, just joined in complaining to me about how bad these people were. and pointed out a girl, passed out in the lobby corner, stating she fell down the stairs and then passed out. (Uh, hello, 911?)

My 13 YO was too tired to snow board the next day and we had to leave the slopes. We returned to the hotel to take a nap, but, guess what? Frat parties go ALL DAY!

Second night there was an actual party for the frat in the meeting rooms. Unfortunately for us, our room balcony was directly across from the meeting room. After listening to loud screaming and the DJ's base until 11:18 p.m., the party moved into the hallways and, again unfortunately for us, the two rooms immediately across from us. At least the staff called the Sheriff, but it did not do much good. (Neither did the earplugs I bought). The frat boys were trashing the hotel, smoking in the halls, putting out their cigarettes on the carpet and furniture, beer bottles everywhere. Not one of them that I saw was polite or gave any regard to anyone else. I hope their mothers are really proud.

At 0200 when I was up anyway I went to the local 7-11 for some hot chocolate for the kids, who were also up. 7-11 clerk informed me that the "cops are always at that hotel" and went on to say that the week before it was for a drunk, naked frat boy in the parking lot. Nice.

I am writing an e-mail (at the request of the front desk supervisor) to the person that booked this group, and apparently the ones before it, but likely the money they bring in will override any suggestions from me. The hotel clerk took care of our room charges upon checkout; small consolation for a ruined ski weekend. Be warned, DON'T stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLC&N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternChateau, Sales Coordinator at Best Western Big Bear Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

We have learned our lesson. We apologize that it was at your families expense. This was the first and only time this fraternal organization stayed at our hotel and they are not welcome to return. ALL of our guests are very important to us and we will not be booking these types of groups again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We liked the fireplace, balcony, convenient location, and nearby open space. We were lucky to be staying here vs. a cabin during an unexpected major snow storm. They were quick to plow out and it was near shopping and outside restaurants. We liked the bar / lounge area as well.

One of the reasons I picked the hotel was because they had a restaurant. After one poor meal, we were forced to eat there again since we were snowed in. It was seriously the slowest service I've ever had and staff was not apologetic and did not comp anything. My kids had a very difficult time waiting that long and the food was not great.

The room was a little tight and some small items were not functioning. There was also a mistake on the room charges, but the front desk staff was very nice and professional about it.

Overall, I would skip this one if going to Big Bear again and advise you to eat elsewhere if you are staying there, especially if you are travelling with small kids.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeckoMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

My wife and I came here once before when this hotel in Big Bear was a Holiday Inn. At that time we loved the architecture, the room, the neat fireplace in the lobby, and the service.
This time it was Valentines Day (Sunday). We got here near noon to be reminded that we could not possibly check in prior to 4 pm as a Fraternity that checked out at 12 had created quite the mess. When I asked about dinner, the lady said that prices in their restaurant ranged from the holiday "special" of $35 for a meal to the real deal of $99 for their "champagne" dinner. However, the lady at the front desk told me that she was looking for dinner reservations for another couple and would be happy to do the same for us. She assured me that when we got back at 4, she would have something for us.

So, we came back at 3:45 to find the lobby and parking lot packed and that most everyone had already checked in. The lady who promised to find dinner reservations was no longer there and the young buck who was there didn't know anything about any note or anything that might have been left for us.

When we got to the room, there was only one towel, not too. We had hoped to watch the Olympics on the TV station, but the remote didn't work and when we did get it on by pushing buttons on the TV, the reception was very fuzzy. The room service guy fixed the remote and told us the there was nothing he could do about channel 4 (ABC). He assured us however that the other stations worked fabulously and to prove the point, left it on one of those channels.

The "coup de grace" however, was when we got back from dinner and decided to have a bit of dessert in the restaurant at the hotel. After waiting awhile to be seated, we were told that one had to buy the whole dinner to qualify for dessert. If you come here on Valentines Day, or probably any other day, you might one to consider another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We only stayed one night. The hotel was in a good location close to Bear Mountain, grocery stores, and the snow play park. The restaurant for dinner was a bit expensive for us, so we went else where. The breakfast was good, except they ran out of food and it took a while to replenish. Probably because there was only one waiter, taking care of tables and the food. The rooms were comfortable and clean, beds clean pillows fluffed. The tv was small and old, but could deal w/for 1 night. We had a balcony, it was small but it was ok. Yes, I would stay here again. But probably not more then 2 nights. Would stay longer with no kids.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimiValley_CAMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

The lobby looked elegant so we decided to try the restaurant as we were told there was a new award winning chef. It was the worst meal we have ever eaten! We couldn't wait to get our bill just to get out! The pumpkin soup was returned, it tasted like mashed pumpkin pie that was left out for two days, very sweet and heavy, and the shrimp was hard and fishy. Made me feel ill afterwards. We now know why we were the only people in the restaurant on a Friday night! It made Sizzler look gourmet.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
Thank vikkitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
426 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
89 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#8 of 19 in Big Bear Region
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Big Bear Chateau

Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $115 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Big Bear Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing