We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Itsa room at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2009

The place is really run down. The bathroom door would not lock. The outside window was off its track, so we could not open it. The air conditioner did not work and they kept the hallway temperture so hot that the room was about 80 degrees all night. Next time I'll try another hotel. The hotel's resturant even got a "B" rating for hygiene from the County, which is really bad.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anaheimhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 666 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed at the Best Western Chateau over the Presidents Day weekend. The hotel was completely booked. Knowing that it was a holiday weekend, and a Best Western, I had fairly low expectations. I'm quite happy to admit I was wrong. The hotel was lovely. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The service was wonderful. I absolutely loved the jacuzzi tub and in room fireplace. The hotel was close and convenient to Bear Mountain ski resort.

I agree with other reviewers that this is a noisy hotel. Not sure if the walls are extraordinarily thin, but you can hear the TV and radio in adjacent rooms and all of the hallway traffic. If you're a light sleeper be sure to bring earplugs.

All in all it was a very nice stay and I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Fiona805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

I had been looking forward to going up to Big Bear sometime in the winter to play in the snow, having never had the opportunity when I was younger (I was raised in Charleston, SC -- no snow AND no hills!). DH and I decided to take the opportunity in early February. We really only needed one night. I searched for rates for Friday night, and they were very high all throuhout the town, even for low budget places. However, I got a king size bed and jacuzzi suite for only $90 at this place just by switching our reservation to Thursday night.
Based on a previous review, I called a few days after I made a reservation through orbitz, just to confirm the reservations. No problems there.
Upon arrival, we found the facility to be quite charming. It's an older building, and very nice, and its location was convenient to everything in the town. Check-in was easy and the clerk was pleasant. We were pleased to find out the the penalty for smoking in a non-smoking room was $500. Not being smokers ourselves, we are always disappointed to find that someone has smoked in a room. The clerk said that the high fine has cut down on such incidents.
The weather was nasty, so we decided to just eat at the hotel restaurant for dinner. Service there was absolutely less than stellar. The waiter had a sloppy attitude, and service was VERY slow. The food was okay, but not terrific. Prices were similar.
The room itself was good. The jacuzzi was adequate. A tiny bit small for two, but we made it work. The fireplace was nice and cozy, but, like a previous reviewer said, was not warm.
When it came time for bed, I found the bed to be too hard, but DH likes harder mattresses, so he was okay. Unfortunately (and possibly because the building is older), I heard noise from the hallway and other rooms a lot of the night -- people coming and going, slamming doors, etc., so it was not a restful night for me.
A note: Our room was not accessible completely by elevator -- a few stairs were required. If you have a handicap that would make that an issue, you may want to note it when you make your reservation.
Overall, it was a good deal for the price we got, but I would have been upset if we had paid more.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrsRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were quoted a price when we made our reservation, then when we checked out, we were very surprised to find, the price per night was about $80 more. The people at the front desk couldn't help us, so we are in talks with corporate office.

This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. We called down to the front desk to ask how to turn on the towel warmer. We were told to "just look at it, you'll figure it out" " I don't know how to turn it on , the maid has gone home for the night. " . We later found out that it had been broken for some time.


We will be staying somewhere else the next time we go skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

The "Good", is price and great location. A "Great" entertainer in the Lounge with a cozy fire place ( I believe his name was Bob Baker who had a great selection of music) . The rooms were okay with some stains on the carpets which looked like red wine. When we went out on our "private" patio to take a breath of "mountain air" we found the screen door had been knocked off the runners and was blocking our exit. The tiolet seat lacked screws and I had to balance myself or risk sliding off. I did bring this to the attention of the front desk who sent someone to fix the problems. Did not have enough time to eat in the Bistro/Coffee shop, however the menu had a diverse selection and the environment seemed pleasant. Hotel Staff could use some awareness in customer service. I missed "Your Welcome" or "Enjoy You Stay" with a smile and feeling that someone actually took ownership. My wife said "it was okay for our needs" and that I've been spending too much time in the "Westin and Marriott Circuit". My fourteen year old daughter agrees with me.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtle054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

I'm the one everyone turns to when it's time to plan a trip because I'm thorough and can find great deals anywhere. That said, i looked up dozens of places to stay but decided on this place. I saw there were a few unhappy reviews but that's always going to be the case. The pictures seemed like the place was nice and clean (which it was!) so I booked this one through Orbitz - I googled "orbitz coupon codes" and got 20% off our stay, try it! So i got our room with 2 double beds for one night for around $80 - last minute I may add. I booked the room about a day and a half in advance. I called the day we were leaving to make sure our reservation went through and Penny answered the phone, she confirmed that my reservation was there.
It was pretty easy to find thanks to my GPS. But check in was easy, the girl at the desk was reading a book and I joked when i said "sorry to interrupt" and she said "oh no! not a problem, im sorry! how can i help you?" she was very nice, but i didnt catch her name. The hotel room was clean and enough for us to use for one night. The tv was okay size, but the quality wasn't that great. We were trying to watch a tv show that the 3 of us like and it looked like the entire episode was shot in the dark. (After we got home, my friend checked her tivo of it and the episode wasn't even CLOSE to being dark).. oh well.
The fireplace was one of those where you flip a switch and its supposed to turn on.. ours didnt. And when we clicked it off it made a non stop hissing sound, and it did it all through the night too, but we made do with it and ignored it. The heater worked fine, but the fan made an annoying noise and we couldn't stand it so we turned it off. It was late and we were tired, so we just went to sleep so we didn't bother telling management about it. It was pretty minor.
There are NO appliances in the room, other than a small coffee maker. So make sure you dont bring food that needs to be heated or refrigerated. By our room was the ice machine so we were able to get some scoops to keep drinks cold - but it's winter, im sure we could've left them in the car and not had to worry about them warming up! :)
Check out was just as easy, and I wish we could have stayed another day or two because of how nice the place was!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jettachef86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

All we wanted to do was change the date one day on a two day stay. What an incredible hassle. Countless phone calls back and forth between the hotel and Expedia. They essentially had to cancel and rebook for a one-day change. What idiots!!! And then, of course, it cost more. I would never book with this place again...

Stayed: January 2009
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#8 of 19 in Big Bear Region
395 reviews
1.8 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Big Bear Chateau

Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $109 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Big Bear Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing