We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very reasonably priced, clean, and well appointed. Many places in Big Bear are marginal. This worked well for us, and included a rather good breakfast. The next time we go hiking for the weekend, we will stay here as well. It is in the Moonridge area so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 678 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel whenever we visit relatives in Big Bear. Although we have stayed in other hotels in the region, none of them can come close to Best Western in terms of price, comforts, and amenities. The staff at the front desk is extremely friendly, the housekeeping staff do a wonderful job of keeping the room clean, and the breakfast is far better than you will find in most other hotels.

Room Tip: The hotel has a central heating unit located in the basement; which means that guests cannot control...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longstreet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

great hotel - will come back for sure. Did not know what to expect, but the lobby was something else. Some displays of antiques and great decorations. Breakfast was included with the price, and it was also very good - eggs and toast or cereal and muffins types of stuff. Very close to the lake and everything else too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Logan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I'm admitting up front that I'm writing this review - furious. My wife was bathing alone in our room when a male housekeeper (on a Thursday evening) walked into her bathroom without knocking because he "heard the water running a long time." Nothing the hotel management said or did could console a husband's anger over this - so while it appears to have just been a mistake- there is no excuse for opening a bathtroom door of an occupied hotel room without KNOCKING on that door. It embarrassed my wife and we left after one night although we were booked for two - they did comp our night and refunded our second, but there needs to be some SERIOUS changes in staffing at this hotel before I'd ever recommend this to a friend. Everything about this hotel is beautiful - but the STAFFING, training, and handling of conflict - is TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
6  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This Best Western serves a cook-to-order breakfast! You have a choice of eggs, omelet, meat, and potatoes in addition to the normal breakfast far. Staff was very friendly. We had a room with an easy to use gas fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. This is not a sleek, modern hotel. It is French motif, so expect some antiquity.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristmasSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here over thanksgiving and decided to pay a little more for a nicer hotel. Unfortunately, it wasn't as nice as we had hoped. It was clean, but very dated. It was hard to sleep, because unfortunately you cannot control the temperature in your room...it's controlled downstairs. We ended up being so hot in our room, that we left the sliding glass door open a bit (and it was in the 20s) and woke up frozen. It is alright, better than a few other hotels in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventureandthrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great place to stay with kids and groups. There's a game room and jacuzzi and breakfast is included. It's close to the slopes. The staff is friendly and there is always hot tea or coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank 439kathleenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
425 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
88 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#8 of 19 in Big Bear Region
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Big Bear Chateau

Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $109 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Big Bear Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing