We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, nothing too special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Overall I'd say this place is fine. The facilities are okay. Everything is a bit run down. Some minor maintenance issues and game room and spa are outdated. Front desk was friendly and I didn't have the breakfast but actually looked pretty good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 700 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a really good stay at this hotel with the family March 8-9, 2013. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. Eggs cooked to order were included, which was awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA1time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

First, I'm a very clean person so my standards are high about certain things (bathrooms especially).

PROS: Very kind and prompt service during breakfast.
Location is very good for skiing in Snow Summit and Bear Mountain and most restaurants is a 10-15 minute drive.
Love the balcony. Since the room doesn't have a mini fridge I could put my drinks and water on the balcony in the snow to keep it cool.
Very quiet and peaceful for the most part.
Love the fireplace. It gave a nice cozy feel.
Was there during the weekdays so felt like we had the whole hotel to ourselves for the most part.

CONS: Kid running around in room upstairs (not hotel's fault). But during the night he was asleep so no big deal.
Towels were very old and abrasive on the skin
Furniture was old and drawers were difficult to open and close
Bathroom is old and outdated... could use some sprucing up. But fairly clean which is VERY important.
Carpet felt wet and icky. Had to wear socks or shoes at all times.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank orch1ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is solid. Not worth $230+. One of the few hotels in town with a restaurant and bar. It’s basic, clean, and close to the slopes. I like the bar its basic but after a long day of hitting the slopes its nice to sit by the fireplace and sip a martini. There's only a few local channels in the TV. All in all it’s good just over price for the town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had millions of ants crawling around the bathroom sink for our entire stay. The front desk told me that "ants are normal here". Really? Normal? Then maybe they should advertise that ants are in the rooms. I'm sure more guests will book rooms in the future. I'll look for another hotel next time I'm in Big Bear.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very nice accomodations. Nice touch free hot coffee and tea in lobby in cold climate! Friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast included in price. Spa was a good temp. with towels outside. Great for families! Only complaint: room was too warm and there was no way to control temp except open window and that was way too cold (interfered with sleep quality).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
429 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#8 of 19 in Big Bear Region
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Big Bear Chateau

Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $110 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Big Bear Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing