We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snowboarding trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    159
    84
    46
    33
See reviews for
238
197
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This Best Western is in a great location. They stand up to Best Western's cleanliness standards. Our room had a gas fireplace, which was very nice. The breakfast is a standard B/W plus omlettes, if desired, for guests. We had a large group and everyone at the restaurant was very pleasant and made sure we were well taken care of. We'll definitely consider this location for our next Big Bear trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were supposed to be staying at a cabin in Big Bear, but when we arrived at night, a pipe had burst and we had to find a hotel to stay in until the plumbers arrived in the morning. This hotel wasn't too far away and had a room available (they were very accommodating considering we called at 10pm). We got a great rate on a King room (ask for AAA rate if you've got it). The room itself was pleasant - a little better than the standard Best Western fare - large, with a fireplace, balcony, and free WIFI. The bed was comfortable. The staff was courteous and quick. The bathroom had a large "rain" shower head, which normally I don't really like, but this one was nice. The best part of the stay was the breakfast they offered included with the room - they have the usual dry cereal and baked goods, beverages, etc. - but they also had a chef who cooked your choice of either scrambled eggs or an omelet with either sausage or bacon with homefries. The portions were generous and surprisingly delicious! They also had a do-it-yourself waffle maker, which was fun, and the seating area has lots of tables and is a welcoming space. Granted, we were there when the hotel wasn't very full, so maybe in the busy ski season they wouldn't have a chef taking individual orders. The only con to this place is the gym - at first glance it looks okay, but about half the machines don't work (meaning they have no power), and the room itself is a little scuffed up . Some are still useable, but they are very used and rickety. They also have an awesome game room (pool, air hockey, ping pong, and some ancient video games that were either non-working or unplugged) that would be more awesome if it didn't look a little abandoned. Overall a good experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Overall, the hotel was very clean and very well managed. The room was very clean and the temperature was hot enough, don't need to turn on the fireplace.The breakfast was as I expected but the atmosphere was romantic. Cons, there were several steps to deal with but not a big problem to us, but if you have a big carrier better ask them help...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahnyasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I brought all of my families after I visited 2 years last time. At this time, the property was much better and it reminds of the European chateau overall. The new management team took care of my family with their warm cares. My children were excited with them and the property. It is nice to have this hotel with the franchise in Big Bear area. I have stayed in other hotels but this facility provides much more comfortable place like I stay at home. One more tips, as long as you keep the secrete password of " Your property and management is great" to the management team, it would be good treat to you and your family .,. ^^

Room Tip: " Your property is great like a castle" is a proud to the owner and management team. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I just spent two nights and days in Big Bear at the Best Western Chateau. What a terrific place to stay! The hotel has an "old world" appearance, which I appreciated. The rooms are well appointed and VERY CLEAN! Bed was comfy, which has always been a rarity in my experiences. They offer complimentary breakfast and they cook the entrees to order which is also unusual.Also have a bar and a cafe on site. The staff was polite, friendly and attentive. The grounds, beautiful and well groomed. The location is convenient for many local attractions; with two excellent and affordable places to dine within EASY walking distance. Our daughter is a snowboarder and we intend to go to Big Bear as a family this winter; we wouldn't think of going anywhere else! GREAT PLACE!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

First time at the hotel and expected way more for the price.

When I arrived in my room that evening I found that the fireplace didn't work and had to wait for maintenance who in broken english was trying to tell me it worked after he fixed it. Well it only worked if you left it on.

Minutes later I was thrilled about taking a jacuzzi before bed but when I went to turn the water on the entire handle came off. Had to wait for maintenance again who then told me he'd be right back. Well they'd have to move me to a different room at 10:00 pm but would discount my fair. When I got to the new room it wasn't the same grade of room I had booked so there was no discount.

The new room had so much noise from a church event during the day and kids running up and down the halls, it was never relaxing. There was a bench outside my door in which people from the church would sit and talk. I eventually asked everyone to move.

If you stay upstairs, be ready to bring your luggage either down or up stairs!!! Yes, they have 1 elevator but you still have about 8 stairs to deal with.

Sure, they have lavish decor in lobby and dining hall but that's about it. The breakfast was just the typical breakfast you get at best western's.....bagels, waffles, diet yogurt and fruit. Not worth $160 in my opinion.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here check to make sure everything is working and ask to be put in a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kricket_1022BigBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Worldmark at Big Bear
Worldmark at Big Bear
#5 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#13 of 19 in Big Bear Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau

Property: BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing