We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here~!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Loved our stay here~!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our friends loved our stay here. Awesome poolside BBQ, Clean spacious rooms with fireplace, Beautiful scenic area, and last but not least a hearty complimentary breakfast for everyone that was lodging~!!! Recommend Best Western Plus~!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDLEE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    173
    93
    49
    33
See reviews for
255
223
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton Aston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very nice hotel in a good location. The rooms were spacious and thoughtfully decorated. The staff were friendly and knowledgable about the area.
Breakfasts were excellent. Whilst there is no restaurant on the premises for dinner small meals are available in the bar area and they are nice. The bar is a relaxed place with a good ambiance.
There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldwingbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This motel is ideal if you are in town and looking for a night stay at a quality, well attended motel. Prices here are excellent for what you get in return. Rooms are French style modern. All have balconies. The staff is helpful , attentive and friendly.Lobby is nicely decorated. One of the few hotels left in Big Bear that does not charge per person. So if there is more than one in your group you may want to consider this one. We enjoyed our stay. Full Cook to order Breakfast in a semi formal dining room. We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level are easiest to access. Highly recomend first floor. Elevator is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scenic4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, nice staff, great breakfast. good beds. situated next to couple of good restaurants. in the middle of the trees. coffee and tea available during the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

First I want to say I work at a Time Share, I was a Travel Agent for 15 years, I'm very well traveled even with over a 100 cruises in the last 40 years...This morning is the first time in as long as I can remember that my back does not hurt...and I am definatly going to find out what kind of laudry Detergent they use for their sheets...I sniffed them several times they smelled so good and baby fresh..
For this stay in Big Bear I booked with Expedia and made a mistake by booking 2 hotels for the same night..Stephanie at the front desk went out of her way helping me change my reservation with Expedia..She did not have to do this and Penny when we checked in was definatly on top of the situation and very helpfull.....Were looking forward to the full breakfast this morning and planing another night at this Hotel....and probally won't stay anywhere else the next time were in Big Bear.

Room Tip: My Partner has a hard time walking and parking is far from entrance of Hotel, luckily he had me to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymccluskey1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a great hotel in for the area. My first experience was great, the staff was cordial and always willing to answer any questions. Penny at the front desk was exceptional helpful and we loved chatting with her and hearing her English accent. When we initially called to book the room, Sherry was also wonderful in telling us about the property and taking our reservation. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were due to stay for two nights at this hotel but as the hotel pool was closed and there was very little else to do around the hotel, we only stayed for one night. Also the hotel restaurant was closed, so we had to drive into the village to get something to eat.


The rooms were adequate, not great, but on the plus side, the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
67 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#6 of 19 in Big Bear Region
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Big Bear Chateau

Property: Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Big Bear Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing