We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Tired”
Review of Fireside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fireside Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Big Bear Region B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here two nights in a room which was clean enough but two of the three light bulbs were out...we twiddled a bit and they came back on! The TV was old, the bathroom was in need of an update, the balcony table and chairs were dirty (too cold to sit out anyway) and the coffee mugs were chipped....however, we found the staff friendly and helpful and thought the video library was a good idea (yes, they still have them). We even got a complimentary pack of popcorn which we thought was a nice touch. Very good location for The Village which has a good choice of eating places and quaint shops. We would stay again despite the negatives.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at this great little place, and we loved it!
The guy at the front desk comped us tickets to a really fun concert at the new venue in Big Bear called The Cave. We stayed in one of the jacuzzi suites and I have to say that the amenities were impressive as well as quaintly rustic. It was large enough for a 4 person family to stay in the one room with the futon as well as the bedroom.
We loved the jacuzzi and the lake view from our balcony.
We are totally planning on bringing a group of our friends to stay there again!

Room Tip: Definitely go fo a jacuzzi room with a lake view... its totally worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My GF and I stayed here from 8-23 through 8-25. We wanted a little weekend getaway and there was a small air show in town which is something that I enjoy a lot.

We were put in room #14 which had a fireplace, 2 bath, small kitchen with stove, small refrigerator, miscellaneous kitchen wares, microwave, 32"ish LCD TV in the main room, and a smaller 20"ish tube TV/VCR combo in the bedroom. The room itself was quite nice. Sizable living/kitchen area and nice size separate bedroom, fitting 4 people in the room would be quite easy.

Two sliding glass doors, one in each room lead to a balcony that overlooked the lake. Not a direct view, there was a small back road, then a row of lakeside homes, then the lake itself. It wasn't postcard picturesque, but very pleasant. Some rather bright lights on the back road obscured any possible view of the stars.

Small privacy issues on the balcony in that the only thing separating your balcony from the next is a small 3 foot high wooden railing. Not a huge concern for us, buy one could easily hop the railings and go to any balcony across the entire row for that building. We just made sure to not keep any windows open when we left the room.

It was nice being able to go to the grocery store and get some odds and ends and not have to eat out all the time, which isn't super cheap in the area. Bathrooms were clean and showers had great water pressure (small thing, but I hate low water pressure). Kitchen was sufficient for our needs.

Fireplace was very nice but not used as it was quite warm during our stay. In the main living room there was a wooden futon that folded flat with some effort to become a bed, it was very rustic looking but new and made TV at night nice and comfortable for us. Bedroom bed was a queen size I believe, mattress was ok, not bad but not great.

Everything was quite clean, except the tile floor. Not sure if they just vacuum it or what but it needed a thorough mopping. Its not that there were stains or anything sticky on the floor, it was just dusty and made our feet black. There were a few scout ants here and there, but they never came out in full force.

Location was great, all the best restaurants in the area were within a 5-10 minute walk. There is a bowling alley and a small family fun center right across the street. A 10+ minute walk and you are smack dab in the middle of the "village". Shops, food, small theater, the heart of all the non outdoor activities in town.

Overall it was a nice hotel stay. It was on the pricey side to me, our room was normally $199 a night but we were able to get a 20% discount due to my girlfriends work. For that price you can score a great room in Vegas. To each his own though.

Room Tip: I was in room #14, had a nice view of the lake, albeit between some homes that are behind the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icedomin8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Purchased deal through Groupon. Arrived early and they allowed me to check in. My room was cozy, clean and comfortable. I was in Room 31 and everything was in good working order. Staff was very pleasant and were quick to get me what I needed. No bath soap or shampoo was in the room. This hotel is located close to the Village, Concert center "The Cave". Coming from the desert not having A/C was an issue but two fans were in the room that helped immensely with the windows opened.

Room Tip: The Groupon rooms are quite small, with a King Size bed and only for two people. For a little coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treehead2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Through Groupon we got a great deal for a 2-night stay at this hotel . Walking distance to the Village and the lake. Even enjoyed the pool one day. Staff was friendly and very helpful, room clean and comfortable. Only complaint was our room was a little stuffy, but with the help of a fan we were fine.

Room Tip: Get Room #27 if you can---nice view and a deck attached
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Although well located, these lodgings were less than adequate. First off, the toilet didn't flush and a maintenance man did respond in good time. The very small room needed a facelift. Everything was old and in need of fresh paint, cleaner carpeting, and window treatments. Bed linens had holes and were ill-fitting. Bathroom/dressing area was tiny and kleenex was missing! Housekeeping never washed in-room coffee maker after morning use and never cleaned coffee mugs left in the sink.
We went there on a Groupon Offer for 2 nights and trusted it would have been nicer. Would NOT recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kraznana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights due to a Groupon deal. Got the king bed, fireplace, basic room. Really, really rundown place. Only one employee works there at a time. If they aren't in the office, good luck. They were nice after we talked to them for a bit though. No a/c and the room was hot because they have to leave the pilot light on for the heater and it puts out heat. We had to leave the windows open and the fans in them to try to keep the room cool. Bathroom was barely there.. no place to put your stuff by the sink so they include a little tv like stand that is odd. Tub chipped and old. Towels were thin and holey. Walls thin as well. Pool outside was yucky, didn't want to swim in it. If you are looking for a cheap no frills place, this will do. Just don't expect any kind of luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.3 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#8 of 19 in Big Bear Region
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge

Address: 40660 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $69 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fireside Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Big Bear. We are in walking distance to the Village and also to a number of family activity centers. We offer a variety of accommodations from motels, private cabins and suites with indoor or outdoor jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Fireside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing