We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly Winter Wonderland!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cienaga Creek Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I've visited Cienega Creek Ranch three times now with my doggers and I can't say enough great things about this little piece of heaven. I look forward to this winter retreat every year. It's very secluded, which is what I want. I can unplug (no cell reception or cable) and live with nature. Lots of daily hikes with the dogs, sledding with my niece, and cozy fires. I'm sure there are plenty of options in Big Bear to leave and visit. I prefer to pack enough food and books to stay and entertain for a long weekend. The owners are fantastic and want nothing more than to share their beautiful property! Oh... and the yummy fresh baked goods delivered to your cabin will give you life! Those cinnamon rolls!! Love!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktschiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie W, Owner at Cienaga Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for your review! It is very rewarding to know that you enjoy your winter retreats at Cienaga Creek Ranch and look forward to returning. We strive to create a setting that will allow our guests to relax and enjoy Cienaga Creek Ranch with their friends and family, creating treasured memories. Thank you for returning each year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 157 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

OH MY!!!!! Did we have a fantastic stay in the Wild Rose Cabin!!!! Upon arriving in the evening we entered our cabin, the music was playing and the light was on….how sweet. On the table was 2 of the best looking cinnamon rolls I have ever seen! By the way they were sooooo good! It was so welcoming. We explored our cabin and found it to be a delight. Jetted tub for 2 along with a fireplace. Watching a crackling fire in the evening and the peace and quiet was sooo nice. We loved it! The place was so cute and the attention to detail amazing. We learned that along side the property was an animal compound called "Predators in Action." We could hear the Lion roaring. It was awesome! On our hike we could see the bears, tigers and lions. Don't worry, they are in cages and can't get out. Our host's, Scott and Vicki, are a delight!! Thank you so much for your hosptality!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie W, Owner at Cienaga Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Cienaga Creek Ranch. It was such pleasure having you as our guests! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Wild Rose Garden Cottage and hope you will be able to visit us again soon - Warm regards, Vickie Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at Hunters lodge and it was by far our favorite place ! We go camping every year and have never stayed in a place so detailed to perfection. The view, the cleanliness, the soothing music was just what we needed. Highly recommend this place and our 12 month old son and our dog loved it as much as we did ! Child proof safe !!!! We will be back !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohtutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie W, Owner at Cienaga Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Cienaga Creek Ranch! We’re so happy to have had the pleasure of having you and your family as our guests. It sounds as though you experienced exactly what we strive to deliver to our guests. Please come back and see us again! It would be our pleasure to host you. Warm regards, Vickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We loved this very comfortable, off the grid cabin. We stayed in Hunter's Lodge and it was wonderful. The owners, Scott and Vicky, saw to many details to make our stay very fun and interesting. We arrived to find martinellis and chocolate dipped strawberries, and some snacks and juice in the fridge. The place has a queen bed, and a large side by side double jacuzzi tub that was awesome and I am not a bather. There is also a large double shower in this unit, with two sinks. There are two skylights - one above the bed and the other above the bathtub. Our first night, we passed out early, but the second night, I perused the stars and spied the big dipper! It also snowed while we were there - a very fun coincidence. The bed was comfy overall. There is a futon couch in the living room, and a little kitchenette. There was a large assortment of hot drinks in a little basket and Vicky made cinnamon rolls, and banana muffins. They also are dog friendly. THey left two bowls for our doggies, and a little doggie treat, too, for each dog.
There is absolutely no cell service for us - T-Mobile. We had to go into town for that, but we wanted to be off the grid, anyway. Town is 15 minutes away. It was very nice, and anything I asked for I got, like more towels, since it snowed, and everything was such a mess. They have everything for you, and if you don't see it, you should ask, because they probably have it. The water tasted great from the tap. Our dogs roamed around, but we kept an eye on them at all times. Went to the Predators in action place, and there wasn't much action. There were two sleepy bears and a bengal tiger that I couldn't really see all that well, and a three legged German shephard watch dog that ran the perimeter as we walked the trail. We did hear the lion roaring, though, even though we did not see it. The trails are nice, and we plan to come back and do some dirt bike riding nearby. Next time, we might try a different cabin, but maybe not. It was pretty great. There were robes in the closet, they weren't large enough for us, and I am sure if I had asked, they probably would have had other sizes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagleeyeskt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie W, Owner at Cienaga Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend in Hunter's Lodge! It was great to meet you both - we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was the perfect getaway from the city. My husband and our two dogs loved the peace and serenity that Kopitch Cottage had to offer. We all four enjoyed hiking and tobogganing through the snowy hillside. Upon arrival to our cabin we found dog bowls and treats for our pups and cinnamon rolls for us! What a welcome! This was our second trip to Cienaga Creek Ranch and we plan to make it back at least once a year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie W, Owner at Cienaga Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am so glad that you enjoyed a perfect snowy weekend! There is nothing more peaceful than watching the snow drift down and blanket the forest! We look forward to having you and your sweet dogs visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I am fortunate to say that this has been my second time coming to Cienega Creek Ranch. My husband, our dog and I enjoyed it so much the first time, we decided to bring friends.

Coming from LA, this is exactly what we needed. We were looking to escape the hustle and bustle... With our dog.

Expect little to no phone service. If you have decided to come here, you're not looking for any!

Expect to constantly look up at the beautiful night sky.
I have never seen stars so bright. You will definitely leave with a greater appreciation for nature.

Expect delicious home baked goods.

Expect your dog(s) to love you even more.
They will enjoy hiking on the trails!

Overall,
We absolutely love it here. The cabins are quaint and charming. We appreciate all the small details. The owners are just the sweetest people.

We will definitely be back next year!

Thanks Aimee, Vicki, and Scott.

- Dave, Jeni and Spencer

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boberjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie W, Owner at Cienaga Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

It was so good to have you visit us again! Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We so appreciate that you brought your friends along to enjoy Cienaga Creek Ranch. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed here in late February in celebration of my wife and daughter's birthday! Unfortunately, due to a drought, there was no snow this year. However, this gave us an opportunity to see how relaxing and beautiful the property would be during the dry months. We stayed in the same cozy cabin, which is nice enough to relax if you choose to bring your own groceries and not leave the property for the entire weekend. If not, it's a short 20-30 minute drive to the main city. The cabins are "dog friendly," so we were able to bring our best behaved canine, which was very important to our 3 year old daughter. My wife and our dog looked forward to the morning hike, while I was perfectly fine staying behind, with my daughter, and cooking breakfast in the little kithchinette. We plan to vist as often as possible!

Room Tip: Road to property is not paved, but is fairly well maintained. If planning to visit during the wet m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie W, Owner at Cienaga Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your weekend. It was a pleasure talking with you and your wife and we look forward to seeing you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
12.8 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
136 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
678 reviews
12.8 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
#1 of 16 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Inn at Fawnskin
The Inn at Fawnskin
#1 of 2 in Fawnskin
111 reviews
11.4 mi away
Eagle's Nest Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cienaga Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cienaga Creek Ranch

Address: 43630 Rainbow Ln., CA 92314
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range: $199 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cienaga Creek Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cienaga Creek Ranch is a 55 acre private solar-powered guest retreat near Big Bear Lake, CA. Five private cottages and one larger family home offer guests luxury and seclusion not found elsewhere in Southern California. Perfect for a couple's romantic weekend or a family vacation, Cienaga Creek Ranch offers an amazing escape from city life. Hike, mountain bike, snowshoe, snow play right from your door on 55 acres and miles of trails on and around the ranch, including the Pacific Crest Trail. Cienaga Creek Ranch is an ideal pet friendly vacation for you and your dogs - hike leash free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Cienaga Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cienaga Creek Ranch Hotel Angelus Oaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing