We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something For The Entire Family”

Big Bear Discovery Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located on the north shore of Big Bear Lake, this learning center features educational exhibits and hands-on activities regarding the natural environment and wildlife in the region.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Sugarloaf, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Something For The Entire Family”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A small museum type building that contains information about the mountain wild life. On weekends there are presentations by staff, both inside on outside. The center has a fairly large parking lot (no charge for parking) so after visiting the center use one of several hiking trails. One of them leads up the mountain where you get a great view of the lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    56
    26
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, Ca.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids...”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was interesting and fun. We especially liked the outdoor interactive area! The lunch that we had at the diner was blah and overpriced, but what else is new???

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank fallbrookgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
278 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Cute area to begin your Big Bear adventure”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Partially hidden away from the main road and bordering one of the walking trails, it’s easy to jumpstart your outdoor-sy self just from walking in here (with one of two photos of the bear display at the entrance of course). Besides talking to the staff, there’s enough little rooms with displays and photos to spark your interest in something you’d like to try. The staff was very friendly and informative and (although I didn’t ask for it) I left their desk with a small pile of maps and brochures to get me to the hiking areas I wanted to go

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pyra-Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good starting point”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Good starting point for activities in Big Bear. Good place to get info on hikes and the adventure pass, which is basically a parking permit so that you can leave your car in the designated parking spots w/out worrying about a ticket.

Don't know how strictly they enforce the parking, but $5 is a small amount to pay and it goes to fund taking care of the forest, or at least I think it does.

The discovery has a lot of activities going on. We were able to pan for "gold". Wouldn't spend more than 45 minutes there unless you want to go on the half mile hike. Lots of stuffed animals. I prefer living animals like at the Big Bear Zoo.

But like I said, a good starting point to get info.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janettwopoint0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Information and more”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stopped here on our recent trip to Big Bear. They have some great hand on things especially for kids as well as a cafe and gift shop. They also have some very nice and ready to help volunteers ready to answer any and all your questions. I would definitely stop here first and get all the information you need to enjoy your adventures in Big Bear and surrounding areas.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gardenmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Discovery Center also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Region, CA
 

Been to Big Bear Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing